View Full Version : To buy vista now or not.

01-30-2007, 03:55 PM
Well is only a matter of time before i buy the OS but i was hoping to buy new hardware one time. Seeing as Intel pimping the new 45u processors, AMD making some bold statments about the K8L and i eh see aGDDR4 version of NV8800, I holding out till meh PC dead.
The question is should i buy Vista now and start meh software migration early or wait till i buy/build a new computer.

MG
01-30-2007, 04:53 PM
gaming on vista sucks.
no opengl support? wtf
xp ftw

01-30-2007, 04:57 PM
nah hold outon vista dont know wat the buggs, errors or even some virus that could make it crash

xp ftw...an bulid your new system an let some of the happy fools take it an see wat the reviews are

01-30-2007, 05:01 PM
i go hold to next 3 months when sp1 release

01-30-2007, 05:04 PM
ecktt man... dont u know? is microsoft... rule of thumb... never buy a microsoft product within intial weaks/mths of release.... mus wait for patches etc...

02-11-2007, 11:11 PM
up to now there is not official drivers for nvidia, this vista war is hell

btw for ppl like us we have to shell out $230 usd to get a retail copy of home premium cause the oem and upgrade dont allow reinstallations or worst yet upgrades

02-12-2007, 09:27 AM
they already announcing the next windows release.
"windows vienna" in summer 2009.
lol.
I goh sitck to Mac OsX 10.4.8. Mashes in Vista all how.

02-12-2007, 09:49 AM
cept gaming!

BTW do you use the MAC for Dota?

02-12-2007, 12:30 PM
so far i tested warcraft TFT on vista ultimate 64 bit edition and it works quite well, no hiccups.

Unfortunately, creative driver incomplete for my audigy 2 ZS and i had to chill with miles emulated 3D sound (which sux arse btw).

02-12-2007, 12:37 PM
The KX driver work on vista for the older live/audigy,2,4 cards but i only used it in the 32bit ultimate edition.
vista ultimate 64 bit edition @ 200 usd looking like a real good buy.
/me checks piggie bank

02-12-2007, 03:32 PM
Did we just loose ecktt to vista?

02-12-2007, 03:35 PM
well seeing that i realised my laptop/hard drive doesnt like beer, i am faced with buying new HDD/OS.

well not really buying but lending from the open license at the university. you think i should go for vista?
i mean if it free and legit why not rite???

02-12-2007, 03:43 PM
wait nah explain how that 'free license university thing' works.

02-12-2007, 03:53 PM
uwi also has a license agreement with microsoft
they pay 800 dollars a year and that can download ALL mocrosoft products legit for use by the students. thas how i got xpsp2 and visual studio 2005.

but since feisal leave i doh knw what the situation is.

02-12-2007, 04:57 PM
bwda, they pay 800 a year? or 800 per student from our fees?

Wda jed, so many hidden jutsus on campus oui.

02-12-2007, 05:10 PM
i doh kno if its 800 a year lol. but from march 1st i can get the vista premium for free from the uni.....

02-12-2007, 05:21 PM
imbalanced.

02-12-2007, 05:54 PM
Doh think of it as loosing me to vista..
Think of it as me doing the ground work for you all when when you all make the shift.

02-12-2007, 08:09 PM
i did my work, the licence xec going to get will only allow him to use it on pcs that doh upgrade say a laptop which is good. other than that u need to buy the fricking software

02-12-2007, 08:19 PM
well u can still get the service packs etc from the university.

02-13-2007, 10:34 AM
right now i downloading the retail version of vista at work
I will hav a dual boot n use it for evaluation purposes only.
can't really say if/when i will make the switch.