View Full Version : The SanDisk e280...

01-28-2007, 04:47 PM
Just an update to my quest for a good mp3 player that I spoke about in the iPod thread.

I eventually settled on the Sandisk e280 (http://www.amazon.com/SanDisk-SDMX4-8192-Sansa-Player-Black/dp/B000HZ9CCA/sr=8-1/qid=1167226170/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1/102-0803536-5644952?ie=UTF8&s=electronics).

http://www.musicamp3.com/images/imagesreproductores/b586.jpg

It's 8 gigs, great quality audio, video, FM radio, radio recording, voice recording, and (proprietary) USB mass storage.

Everything I wanted in a player (except e-book reader) and more, for $175 US at the time.

Not much of a techie, but from my two weeks of use so far, here are my personal pros and cons.

PROS
- Packed with features: audio, video, FM radio, radio recording, voice recording, and (proprietary) USB mass storage.
- Expansion slot for a micro SD card, which can increase storage by up to 2 gigs.
- Very small. In fact, a lot smaller than it looks in the small hands of those reviewers.
- Bright, colourful, large display.
- Intuitive GUI.
- Long battery life.
- Replaceable internal battery.
- About $50-$75 less than a similar iPod with less features.

CONS
- A lil too small for my hands at times.
- Scroll wheel feels a bit cheap, and can't be treated too rough. It won't be damaged, but it can jam if you press down too hard. I've read that this was fixed in later batches.
- You have to convert video before loading it onto harddrive. Conversion software is included, and the process is simple, but slowish.
- That's about it.

Para, this is a good bet. Also available in 2, 4, and 6 gig models.

01-28-2007, 06:47 PM
And kayo posts this on the day that I order my 8gb nano:(

Phats
01-28-2007, 06:57 PM
who say cancel order ftw ?

01-28-2007, 06:58 PM
Weak Hidden.

01-28-2007, 07:18 PM
wish you luck with your recharge cycles Dinesh, lol.

I'm hoping to order this one by mid february, cheap and no video playback, but it's all i really need http://www.amazon.com/2GB-Hydra-MP3-Player-Black/dp/B000K7MM72/sr=8-2/qid=1170026241/ref=pd_bbs_sr_2/105-8719277-9398046?ie=UTF8&s=electronics

01-28-2007, 09:55 PM
Ordered car FM transmitter thingy w/charger :)

01-28-2007, 10:22 PM
THis player comes highly recommended even over the iPod, definately don't pass this up because of brand. Im considering getting something 'gym' able, will do a bit looking for accessories that might add durability to this item.

MG
01-29-2007, 10:02 AM
yup. had my eyes on this one as well. what's the video like? good quality for the size of screen?

was very highly reviewed by tomshardware (think it got top ten in 2006 portable gadgets) and is reviewed by most as an ipod killer.

did hear a lot bout the scroll wheel. and they had a similar impression as urself, 'feels cheap but not exactly'. some say it's jus a different feel to what they were accustomed to.

anyway, those reviewers who had both the ipod and the sansa claimed they preferred the sansa. so good its gotta be a good buy.

was thinking of ordering one for a present this xmas past here but ended up getting an mp3 stereo instead :p. so maybe i can still use this later down the line as a good present :).

01-29-2007, 10:16 AM
sweet... if i was still looking for a mp3 player that would be my best bet... video not really a priority doh so that would be perfect... the addon sd cards is a very nice touch too...

but for right now... se k750i with a 2gb mem card ftw :D

01-29-2007, 10:25 AM
The video looks great, but the screen is small. I haven't watched anything except movie trailers on it yet.

The radio is here and there, depending on your location and position. Some stations work great all the time, others will have you shifting.

05-18-2007, 07:57 AM
I was gettin the 2g one for about $125US and it has video.....shoulda read this post earlier and got the 8g cuz for some reason that price not too far off....:(

06-02-2007, 11:31 PM
wish you luck with your recharge cycles Dinesh, lol.

I'm hoping to order this one by mid february, cheap and no video playback, but it's all i really need http://www.amazon.com/2GB-Hydra-MP3-Player-Black/dp/B000K7MM72/sr=8-2/qid=1170026241/ref=pd_bbs_sr_2/105-8719277-9398046?ie=UTF8&s=electronics

I may be a bit late but you should watch the reviews on that, apparently it has alot of problems.

08-26-2008, 03:32 PM
Update.

18 months later, and the update has arrived.

Sansa Fuze.

Basically the same device and features, but smaller and slicker design. The 8gig is $110 thereabouts (also available in black), which depresses me a bit. I also believe this new device plays video more easily.

I actually bought 2 Sansa Clips as presents to family and wifey over the last 2 months.

My Sansa is still going strong. The major problem that I must mention is the scroll wheel, which has gone from cheapy to plain buggy. Sometimes it scrolls up when I scroll it down. Otherwise, I'm still very happy with my purchase.