View Full Version : I'm so glad I've finally found you guys (and gals)

Prospero
01-25-2007, 12:33 PM
Hi all,

I'm new to Trinidad from the UK, about 4 weeks, over here for a year or two working.

I've been looking for the gaming community and concluded that there just wasn't one judging from the equipment that's for sale in PoS.

I'm so glad to have finally found this forum.

So who's playing BF2, GRAW, CS:Source and where?

Look forward to fragging you all soon ;)

Prospero

01-25-2007, 12:52 PM
Hey man nice to see you, do you have a broadband connection or will you be participating in LAN parties? (what we call sweats).

I'll tell you that we once had a thriving CSS community, WoW destroyed it, now Burning Crusade has come and revived the lust for this addictive MMO.

ATM we are addicted to a RTS map off Warcraft III called Dota and play on a local server (no need for legit keys) 24/7. If you are interested, I work in the POS area and can link you with the material.

There are 2 gaming cafes in the POS area, 1 named DEST and the other Tech Source. I'll get directions to them so you can scope out a bit of the local scene.

01-25-2007, 01:34 PM
welcome... which area in the ~UK are you from?

I hope that you will enjoy your stay here. I am so glad to see that you dont seem to be a WOWhore. I myself am up in the Uk at the moment but when i come down(in march) i hope to attend some sweats. and maybe take a eadshot r 6 in CS:Source or 1.6...whichever one prefers

01-25-2007, 02:47 PM
hey welcome to TG i hope that you find your stay here enjoyable for it has alot of gamein to go around and new ppl to meet

so post your views on wat you would like to see an what are some off the diffrence between gamin in UK an T&T i would like to know:rolleyes:

an also hope to see you in some sweat some where :D

Prospero
01-25-2007, 05:27 PM
Sounds excellent, I'll definately make some sweats, I'm far more into FPS than anything else although I do play anything really. Currently working my way through Rainbow Six:Vegas, Dreamfall, Night Watch and awaiting Armed Assault (Operation Flashpoint 2) depserately.

I've literally just signed a rental agree for a place in West Moorings and need to get Broadband (I'm currently relying on unsecured/poorly secured WLANs and work), I understand TSTT provide a measly 128k for $400TT a month, and the EV-DO option which has too much latency for gaming, is there any other options?

Also where can I get decent hardware, I haven't seen a graphics card that would play anything better than Tomb Raider (the very first one with 3DFX)! Fortunately I brought the guts of my main gaming system which I now have up and running, but want together put a Media Centre PC (although that's not going to work very well with cable TV).

Ooh so many questions, now that I have a technical audience!

*takes deep breath*

Prospero

01-25-2007, 05:54 PM
welcome man.
i like you avatar erm thats bob from day of the dead right?

01-25-2007, 06:06 PM
Broadband.

TSTT offers a 256k package for $400.00 (maybe you got some old news) and although the EVDO is latency is good enough for playing Dota online with us but not good enough for doing anything else.

The cable company (flow) has a few other broadband packages which maybe more appealing to you. We are still investigating its latency although we have good indications that its as low as TSTT or slightly better. (i'll provide links to the threads when I can). They offer up to 2mbit connection for $1,150 per month.

Most of us use TSTT as our broadband provider because they (at the time) had the lowest latency. Flow may change this and we are looking at it closely.

Games

We play many Strat games that don't require much bandwidth because of the lack of bandwidth. If this flow things works out we will be able to host small FPS servers using the larger bandwidth offered by FLOW. Personally I can't wait for this, if it is indeed low latency and low to TSTT as well.

Hardware
Its very sad but you will not get good gaming hardware in TnT at a reasonable price. Most of us import our own hardware from etailers like newegg.com. We buy using CC and send it to a 'skybox' who send it to us.

I would really like to get you into the Dota (Warcraft III map) as its quite common in Trinidad at the moment. It will allow you to meet some of the local gaming community and introduce you to our culture(hope you don't get a bad impression).

From there I will try to arrange CSS online games with the gang, mind you we can't have many ppl playing as bandwidth is an issue.

When you get your broadband make sure you to get a nice headset, we use ventrilo often.

01-26-2007, 03:00 PM
Lol @ equipment for sale in pos....

all the gamers does order the parts from the US... who say newegg ftw?

01-26-2007, 03:19 PM
I get my parts @ stores.......i a gamer...a think....

01-26-2007, 03:23 PM
what you got bill?

01-26-2007, 03:40 PM
when my pc was built a get meh friend old case,meh brother speakers,his dvd burner (which no longer buners dvds) so i buy one and my mother board and everything else from some store...oh and a take one of my brother's other 40 gigs and a 80 a buy from vijay XD.Oh a chain up meh padner head for he video card and this my 2nd monitor :)

Oh and meh keyboard is meh brother own a trade him cause he liked my black one a meh good mouse mash up..some small yellow insect liven in it and they mess it up.So right now a jus have one like what java have those black benq ones...THEY SUCK

01-26-2007, 04:30 PM
ok that doesn't sound like a gosu gaming machine.

01-26-2007, 04:45 PM
Sounds lower than my stock Dell.

Welcome to TT Prospero, hopefully some new frag-bait.. i mean players will encourage more FPS sweats.

01-26-2007, 04:54 PM
PFFT my pc runs battlefield..it jus can't run..part 2 and nfS carbon it told me my vid card out dated...but i can run ut 2k4 ,hl2 these are the games that count!!!!

Phats
01-26-2007, 08:21 PM
lol stop invadin the man thread lol ... welcome bro gl hf

Sky
01-27-2007, 11:22 PM
Yeah, hi and welcome Prospero. I'm sure you'll enjoy it here...you might just have to get accustomed to some of our more eccentric TG residents. And get into the DOTA soon :-)

And anybody else find Bill pc sound like something the spranger man on the block might put together....small, yellow insect living in the man mouse?!?

01-27-2007, 11:27 PM
lol waggy make my pc dont bad talk his baby...

01-28-2007, 10:37 AM
i dont tink of myself as eccentric( did i spell it rite :( )
ne how..AH BIG WELCOME FROM AH MAN THAT LIVES IN D BUSH AND HAS NO CHOICE FOR TSTT EVDO (since no land lines ah available ) dam copper thievs. it works good for gaming i find and for downloading. i get really decent speed when downloading and the lag is minimal when gaming. just have to adjust my reaction time lol

Crixx_Creww
01-28-2007, 12:47 PM
Hey welcome from part of the tech source crew.

If your in POS and want some rainbow 6 vegas yu can come tech sorce

01-28-2007, 01:51 PM
funny thing boy Bill, waggy does use the nick 'sky' as well hmm.

but long story short, welcome prospero

01-28-2007, 04:17 PM
acctually no matter what waggy say he took the name cause we padner favorite porn star name is sky lopez.

01-28-2007, 08:33 PM
wags took his name after "Sky" in the movie Hero.

01-28-2007, 08:35 PM
that is what danny does allwayz say u taken he on ,he take it cause cosmo fav porn star is sky come on the same man cut he hair when busta rhymes cut he hair.....

achillies
05-20-2007, 12:38 PM
welcome man, i'm new here also
i'm looking to get into the online gaming but my "high speed" internet connection from tstt is to inconsistent.
recently did a speed test and this is what i got

http://www.speedtest.net/result/-1.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

7.1 kB download and 5.6 kB upload

thats crappy

05-20-2007, 12:49 PM
Flow is pretty good.

These nights are a bit laggy though but I get full bandwidth.