View Full Version : In need of a digital camera.

01-10-2007, 04:58 PM
Well Scummie manage to return meh family camera in a state that requires some assemble! So in in need of a Digital camera asap for under 200 usd? This eh my field of expertise (then again I eh an expert of anything) so I could use some help picking out one to order by Friday. My budget is under 200USD.

This look like meh best bet so far :
FUJIFILM FinePix F20 Silver 6.3 MP Digital Camera (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16830122089)

01-10-2007, 08:32 PM
looks good go for it

01-10-2007, 11:43 PM
All reviews are good, excellent price. The one thing you should always check no matter what are sample photos. I find them to be a bit on the grainy side especially in low light conditions, but you get what you pay for. If you're resizing for the web you should be fine.

Now why don't all camera reviewers take pictures of models for samples?

http://www.photographyblog.com/reviews_fujifilm_finepix_f20_4.php

01-11-2007, 07:18 AM
how you bringing it in? normal trini method (cousin coming in from the states), or having it shipped? because from experience, shippingo n digital Cameras is really costly

01-11-2007, 11:52 AM
A friend CC works with "www.newegg.com" so i was going to ship it. I think the combo deal looks impressive.

OLYMPUS TYPE H 1GB xD-Picture Flash Card Model 202032 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820196006)
FUJIFILM FinePix F20 Silver 6.3 MP Digital Camera 3X Optical Zoom DIGITAL FOX DT-140D Digital Camera Tripod (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16830994018)
SEDEC NP-70A 3.7V. 1000mAh Li-Ion DC Battery (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16830994086)
SEDEC BG Series BG-188 Digital Camera Case (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16830994005)
DNJ DJC-003 Cleaning kit for photo and video (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16830994076)

Original price: $251.94
Discount: -$22.00
Combo Price: $229.94

01-11-2007, 12:43 PM
U should also look into the canon digital elph series... for ur budget the sd600 sounds good...

01-11-2007, 03:21 PM
sd600 should be an excellent choice....but thats more like 230 usd...and has no manual focus...plus it comes with a 16/32 meg card u need more than that so it may be like 270 usd. i bought the canon a540 for my girl and she loves it...the resolution is only 85000 pixels but still shows great

it costs 170 usd at bhphoto...i threw in a ultra high speed 512 meg card with it for 40 usd :) ... but dont ship this product...let someone bring it down for u...u would be paying tax and duty which is a whole lot extra money

01-11-2007, 04:39 PM
The cannon was out side of my budget so i had to pass on that. I also hada agree with scar on the the I.Q. of the camera but it go work for my parents.
Thanks for the advice all. Anyone know a good electrician to reassemble my old camera?

01-11-2007, 05:21 PM
haha @ good electrician...

dont forget about the sd500 to eh... :D... sorry but i've seen the sd's in action and the pack a punch... despite there small stature

01-11-2007, 08:41 PM
I've always found Canon image quality to be overall the best of any brand, however they have this generic E18 error that was claimed to be fixed. From the looks of how much the E18 community has grown since I first found it, I am lead to believe that it's still present.

My Pentax Optio S4 take some real beating and still works. By that I mean a crack to the lens extension while it was extended. I've been checking out the S7, that does some impressive 640x480 DivX video. I'm addicted to the super compact size.

01-12-2007, 10:20 AM
E18 error... ok well i never got that error... is it a camera error... been using the sd600 for awhile now and never seen anything of the sort... and yea @ picture qual=sweetest....

1 thing when shopping for cams ppl... pixel count doesnt mean better quality eh... plenty people being misled by that... oh i have a 10mp so my pictures would inherently show better than a 6 mp

01-12-2007, 01:23 PM
My old fuji took a lickin' and kept on ticking up until meh gf put her hand on it. :S
After 6 years, it was time to retire it anyway.

Phats
01-19-2007, 07:55 PM
:S 6 yrs hoss that shit should be framed that it still alive ... hadda be a woman to shit it up sigh :S doh let she touch the car :D

01-19-2007, 08:02 PM
Aye, aye! Watch how allyuh talking about the queen.

01-19-2007, 11:20 PM
Well as timing had it, i get the camera in time for some family that came down. I will take some sample shots soon and post them.

as mention berfore:

OLYMPUS TYPE H 1GB xD-Picture Flash Card Model 202032 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820196006)
FUJIFILM FinePix F20 Silver 6.3 MP Digital Camera 3X Optical Zoom DIGITAL FOX DT-140D Digital Camera Tripod (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16830994018)
SEDEC NP-70A 3.7V. 1000mAh Li-Ion DC Battery (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16830994086)
SEDEC BG Series BG-188 Digital Camera Case (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16830994005)
DNJ DJC-003 Cleaning kit for photo and video (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16830994076)

Original price: $251.94
Discount: -$22.00
Combo Price: $229.94S+H+tax = 460tt
Initial shoots look pretty good. We'll see how rugged it is once it passes the GF test.
I

01-20-2007, 08:03 AM
lol @ gf messing up the camera...

MY old D-460Z was working fine until my mom decided to keep her hand cream bottle in the same bag as the camera to go to the beach, with the cover not completely closed...so you can guess what happened then.

I had it from 2000 till a couple of weeks back, when we finally declared it dead.

So now I looking for a new camera, check the thread i put up for more info.

villa
01-20-2007, 10:48 AM
To tell you the truth i looking for a camera for almost 3 years , and i have the money for any camera the thing is i don't really know anything about cameras, they like my last cellphone.. When i read about the thing it seem hot and sexy, when i get the thing i swear to god somebody had the rest of my phone in some foreign country!...
So i does usually wait till somebody i know buy a camera and then wait to see the functions and picture quality and so on and then buy the same camera if i like it...
So ecktt if and when you get your camera post sum pics and stuff tell me how it workin and the model and stuff, i might just have to get the same thing... just to be safe

01-20-2007, 11:30 AM
http://www.amazon.com/Sony-Cybershot-DSCW50-Digital-Optical/ (http://www.amazon.com/Sony-Cybershot-DSCW50-Digital-Optical/dp/B000EGLXTW/sr=1-1/qid=1169306994/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1/102-6167818-4742556?ie=UTF8&s=photo%27)

Love the cybershots, kickass pics.

01-20-2007, 05:25 PM
Sony is OK, but it's not worth their proprietary memory cards. Now that is level BS.

Phats
01-20-2007, 07:15 PM
if u lookin for some professional stuff talk to chinee if not and jus lookin to take some limin pics listen to dinesh cybershots are cool i have one
:D :D :D

TCC
01-20-2007, 07:31 PM
LOL@professional photographer..chinee does take some rel good pics..and his camera heavy no mc >.<
i have a fuji atm..old ting..but..does take some decent shots
kodak cams eh that bad u know..just kinda bulky

01-21-2007, 01:13 AM
Gotta get myself a small camera:) Got a Canon S3 IS

01-27-2007, 11:06 AM
As promised here is some sample shot with the new cam.
Would have posted more but Image shack timing out.

http://img201.imageshack.us/img201/5435/sampleshots005zh9.jpg

01-27-2007, 03:05 PM
Thas some serious chromatic aberations there, not meant for outside that's for sure. There is purple fringe on anything remotely shiny/reflecting light. You have any indoor shots?

Quality looks similar to the sample pics.

01-27-2007, 03:27 PM
I totally agree scar. This camera does not like sunlight at all other photos show similar characteristics but I is possible to manually adjust the camera setting to minimize those effects. Here is an indoor shot.

http://img244.imageshack.us/img244/6766/sampleshots009fk3.jpg
Here is another out door shot.
http://img77.imageshack.us/img77/3765/sampleshots014je9.jpg

Phats
01-28-2007, 09:26 AM
u sure u can't adjust it to fix the purple when u take a pic ?

01-28-2007, 11:38 AM
that parrot is effin scarry.

01-29-2007, 10:34 AM
it prolly is adjustable but might degrade the other parts of the photo...
thais why canon ftw... beautiful qual.. :D

01-29-2007, 11:37 AM
the best way to get rid of that pruple fringe stuff is to use a quoted lense, but since this is not the DSLR thread, I guess u could probably try increasing exposure time and decreasing aparture until u get a satisfactory exposure quality.

Back when I used to play with cameras a lot, I used a black and white checkered disk chart to get the right exposure parameters in uncontrolable light.

01-29-2007, 11:54 AM
arite that settles it, mojo is a camera guru.

Dinesh post some shots with your IS3, im a fan of the IS series.

02-09-2007, 09:34 PM
that parrot is effin scarry.

My Fluffy not no effin scary!
:mad:

camrachI
04-13-2007, 10:08 AM
My Fluffy not no effin scary!
:mad:

Damn, that fowl got some ugly ass feet! :(

ever heard of lubiderm? :rolleyes: http://i23.photobucket.com/albums/b398/rewris1/e413e27a-b1a0-4f81-917a-97618aa9393.gif

04-13-2007, 11:29 AM
Lubriderm i have a bottle a that..i eh know that what u does use it for...