View Full Version : Animation Worth Watching (Avatar)

12-18-2006, 03:47 PM
I was introduced to an animated series titled "Avatar - The last airbender" by some of the guys here at CCN IT. It is not often that I find an animated series that I like beyond DC but I must say I really like avatar.

Avatar is a story based on a world in which there are 4 major nations named after elements FIRE, WIND, WATER, EARTH. Each nation has special individuals that can use a talent called 'bending' to manipulate their element.

Fire Elementals - throw fire, move it around, use lightening and other gosuish fire things

Wind - whirlwind, glide, speed

Water - Ice, water, sometimes healing

Earth - Gaara-ish moves

The Avatar is a special being that can use all 4 elements where as normal benders are limited to their national element, not by law but by genetics. (thus far I havn't seen anyone that can use more than 1 cept avatar). The avatar also has some gosu power moves, can communicate with the spirit world and is a nature lover kinda guy. The avatar is more of a soul than a person, as 1 avatar dies his soul is transfered to the next and through this he is somewhat immortal. The avatars job is the maintain order between the tribes, nations, and worlds. Oh and he has a big flying bison! Mooooo

Things go bad when the fire nation attacks the other nations and the avatar goes missing! The avatar was apparently frozen for 100yrs and found by 2 kids who later become his friends. He is very young (12yrs) and did not master water, earth, fire elements as yet. His quest is to master the arts, defeat the firelord and thus bring order to the world.

BORING!

The firelords son (Zuko) was banished (for reason revealed later) and can only redeem himself by returning with the avatar to his father. He is accompanied by his uncle a wize funny gosu general, a very kewl character. Everyone is trying to get a piece of the avatar for various reasons and this provides the 'chase' in the story.

STILL BORING!

The story starts off very noobish but as the story unfolds things get a bit deep.

The evil prince has a sad story, real struggles and alot of surprises. ALOT. You expect a badguy to be a badguy but Zuko is an interesting character esp when you learn his past.

The animation aint that bad as well, I see they use the newer styles with some of the models and give the fight scenes a really nice finish.

All the episodes are available on youtube in the following format
book 1 chapter 1

Where book is the season and chapter is the episode. 2 books with 22 eps each thus far.

Nick does it again!

12-18-2006, 04:13 PM
yea it has a nice story...btw...para u should take in some japanimation...there are some really nice series comin out lately..have a look

www.anime-eden.com

EmpireKing
12-18-2006, 06:33 PM
avatar iz a cool show.....i used to watch it wen my lil cuz came by me but im stuck on bleach for now.....chek bleach out its really addictive

12-18-2006, 07:11 PM
Totally agree with avatar , real decent ... too bad season dun ... my fav bendin = earth .

Bleach real boss but i reach fillers and i eh start yet , normally i doesnt watch fillers buh i hope it eh too bad .

12-18-2006, 07:12 PM
stopped watching bleach when fillers began same goes for naruto. Filler suck

12-18-2006, 08:32 PM
same with me, but yeah Avatar is a pretty good show, would you believe the target age group for it was kids 8-12?

12-18-2006, 08:41 PM
Yea wen i fuss started watchin it , i had dat impression it was fu around dat age , but afta spongebob ( which real bad too ) i find mehself watchin like ah lil piece n daz how i got hooked .

Believe it or not, it is a hit and my expectations for it to be even known was very little until i hear real men does be talkin bout each new episode dat pass , lol , kinda sickenin wen dey ready.

09-21-2007, 12:38 PM
Avatar season 3 (http://http://www.tv.com/avatar-the-last-airbender/show/28841/episode_guide.html?season=3&tag=season_dropdown;dropdown;2)

so it seems season 3 has begun... and the wait is over...

well @ least until i find a torrent.

ps the trailer lookin bad too

09-21-2007, 11:48 PM
i have to say that the target age group of avatar seemed very obvious to me. The themes and life lessons which are introduced from the very beginning of the series to the most recent episodes are those which should be learned between the ages of 8 and 12.

The people at nickelodeon usually target a certain age group with their animated series. The important life lessons vary to appeal to the target age group. Another good example of a series like this is rugrats. Of course the entertainment aspect of any series can appeal to all persons, and that is what we are discussing in this thread.

09-22-2007, 02:27 AM
i loved rugrats...

still haven't gotten into the avatar as yet. -.-

09-22-2007, 03:11 PM
This may be the last season lokes, i advise you wait till it finishes and then take the entire series in as a whole.

09-22-2007, 05:35 PM
ent... sometimes i wish i had done that... they made us wait so long for s3

09-23-2007, 01:47 PM
i got a torrent....the season 3 has begum for meeeee...
www.torrentz.com

09-23-2007, 10:27 PM
cool @ last season.

I got book 1 and 2 in work.. might take it in some time.

09-30-2007, 10:57 PM
The new season has begun.

09-30-2007, 11:36 PM
i tink para kinda late....2 weeks now brodda. and as usual all episodes are available on ur fav torrent sites. i doh have time on ah friday tuh watch dem, so i hadda download. lol

09-30-2007, 11:48 PM
I was just updating the thread, doh bite!

10-01-2007, 10:57 AM
Woof!!