View Full Version : What u guys think about this lil gadget

12-15-2006, 11:13 AM
I have beed searching the net daily to find a reader <--- something that reads all times of data...the closest thing to this is a micro pc or laptops however these all have OS on them and u can write or edit your data on them

i am looking for a read only laptop so to speak but very small..i guess u can call it a PDA if u like...but a PDA is still not what i am looking for

i came across this lil gadget from SONY check it out and tell me what u guys think

http://www.sonystyle.com/is-bin/INTERSHOP.enfinity/eCS/Store/en/-/USD/SY_DisplayProductInformation-Start?CategoryName=&ProductSKU=PRS500U2&TabName=feature&var2=

12-15-2006, 01:52 PM
honestly,it looks as if you should just buy a PDA and call it george. That looks like a stripped down PDA at the same price

12-15-2006, 02:21 PM
for real eh... all u gettin is readability... u payin same price, is the same size... and THATS ALL u can do with it... get a pda ftw... i didnt even know there was a market for this... if the price becomes ridiculously low then yea...

12-15-2006, 02:31 PM
need a quick response on thsi one

is this processor good for a laptop with 1gb ram: Intel(R) Core(TM) 2 Duo processor T5500 (1.66 GHz)

edit:
thanks, did not want to start a new thread for just this so i inserted it here

12-15-2006, 02:38 PM
Yes!!!!!!!!!

12-15-2006, 02:41 PM
hmmm at PDA...leme go do meh research on the PDA..cause i really was thinking along the same lines as andro..it is indeed a stripped down PDA but this kinda different in its own way even though a PDA has same functionality and lots more...hmmm

12-15-2006, 08:49 PM
nokia has something better for the same price IMO. Has support for 802.11B/G networking, plays all types of video files, and has a full speed usb 2.0 port and SD card reader. OS is a Debian based linux variant, and web browser is Opera version 8 i believe.

Tom recommends it as a mobility junky Christmas present. check link:
http://www.mobilityguru.com/2006/12/14/holiday_buyers_guide_2006/page6.html