View Full Version : Flow internet packages
12-12-2006, 11:25 AM
Most Flow customers currently receive analog cable services. However, within the next few years, all analog and new cable customers would receive only digital cable services.
Flow has already begun its TT $1 Billion re-build project, which will see the entire analog network being re-built to accommodate a state of the art broadband network. The ongoing re-build project will result in the complete upgrade of the current analog system to a digital broadband platform, which will facilitate the provision of triple play digital services- cable TV, high speed Internet and landline telephone services.
Our new digital cable TV product will be rolled out on a phased basis, area by area across Trinidad, over the next four years.
Digital service availability:
Customers residing in the following areas in Trinidad will be converted from the analog to the digital platform between July to September 2006:
St Augustine North
St Augustine South
Valsayn North
Valsayn South
Rio Claro
Cumuto
Caroni
Pleasantville
Roystonia
Toruba
Orange Grove
Tacarigua
El Dorado
Tunapuna
Trincityhttp://img.photobucket.com/albums/v625/snakeEater/scan-1.jpg
Choose the residential package that best suits you! All Prices are VAT Inclusive.
INTERNET PACKAGE PACKAGE ENTITLEMENT SPEED PRICE RECOMMENDED USE Click 20* 20 hours per month
1 e-mail address 128kbps(upload)
512kbps (download) $91.99 Internet used for light browsing and checking e-mail only Click 50* 50 hours per month
1 e-mail address 128kbps(upload)
512kbps (download) $164.44 Internet used regular browsing, checking e-mail, research and online shopping Click Unlimited 1 Unlimited access
1 Static IP address**
3 e-mail addresses 128kbps(upload)
512kbps (download) $390.99 Internet used regularly for browsing, but not used frequently for uploading and downloading files Click Unlimited 2 Unlimited access
1 Static IP address**
5 e-mail addresses 128kbps (upload)
1Mbps (download) $689.99 Internet used regularly for browsing, and used occasionally for uploading and downloading large files Click Unlimited 3 Unlimited access
1 Static IP address**
5 e-mail addresses 512kbps (upload)
2Mbps (download) $1,149.99 Internet used regularly for browsing, for uploading and downloading large files Internet Only Customer- Installation & Modem Fee
Installation $158.70 Modem $689.99
Existing FLOW Customer – Installation & Modem Fee
Installation- $114.99 Modem $459.99
* Over the Limit Fee
A rate of one dollar per minute will be charged for exceeding the hourly limit.
** A Static IP address
A number assigned to your computer by the Internet Service Provider. This allows other Internet users to communicate with you. It also allows you to host a website, e-mail server and many other types of server connections.
*** Modem Insurance
(Optional) Covers the replacement of a damaged modem.
I got my new digital boxes just last week. According to the techs the internet is available but it's still in the testing phase, some bugs needs to be worked out. I should be able to sign up for that in January :D
12-12-2006, 12:58 PM
please review as soon as u get it (or asap) scar
12-12-2006, 01:58 PM
Thanks sniggies, just last night I mentioned to sniggies that these packages seem rather awesome for downloading but sadly not for gaming. Snigs agreed to do a 'WoW' test on a FLOW connection to see for himself how bad the latency really is.
Lets hope its below 400ms for those wow guys
12-12-2006, 07:09 PM
Here is an idea of the ping times with flow.
On 21/11/06, Shivan Jaikaran <shivanj@gmail.com <shivanj%40gmail.com>>
> wrote:
> >
> > not necessarily true....this is my ping stats with a TSTT residential
> > DSL:
> >
> > C:\>ping www.l.google.com (http://www.l.google.com/)
> >
> > Pinging google.com [64.233.187.99] with 32 bytes of data:
> >
> > Reply from 64.233.187.99: bytes=32 time=97ms TTL=241
> > Reply from 64.233.187.99: bytes=32 time=96ms TTL=241
> > Reply from 64.233.187.99: bytes=32 time=95ms TTL=241
> >
> > Ping statistics for 64.233.187.99:
> > Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
> > Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
> > Minimum = 95ms, Maximum = 97ms, Average = 96ms
> >
> > Shivan
> >
> >
> > On 11/21/06, Lawrence Sinanan <lawrence.sinanan@yahoo.com<lawrence.sinanan%40yahoo.com>
> <lawrence.sinanan%40yahoo.com>>
> > wrote:
> > >
> > > Seems a little faster than TSTT's DSL
> > >
> > > Pinging www.yahoo-ht2.akadns.net (http://www.yahoo-ht2.akadns.net/) [209.73.186.238] with 32 bytes of
> data:
> > >
> > > Reply from 209.73.186.238: bytes=32 time=116ms TTL=48
> > > Reply from 209.73.186.238: bytes=32 time=117ms TTL=48
> > >
> > > Ping statistics for 209.73.186.238:
> > > Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
> > > Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
> > > Minimum = 116ms, Maximum = 117ms, Average = 116ms
> > >
> > > Pinging www.l.google.com (http://www.l.google.com/) [64.233.161.147] with 32 bytes of data:
> > >
> > > Reply from 64.233.161.147: bytes=32 time=111ms TTL=241
> > > Reply from 64.233.161.147: bytes=32 time=110ms TTL=241
> > >
> > > Ping statistics for 64.233.161.147:
> > > Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
> > > Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
> > > Minimum = 110ms, Maximum = 111ms, Average = 110ms
> > >
> > > Dev Anand Teelucksingh wrote:
> > > > Eveidently Flow internet service is using a fiber connection for
> > > > connectivity instead of satellite as the ping times to websites are
> > > > around 100ms instead of the typical 500ms.
> > > >
> > > > Pinging www.l.google.com (http://www.l.google.com/) [64.233.187.104] with 32 bytes of data:
> > > >
> > > > Reply from 64.233.187.104: bytes=32 time=98ms TTL=242
> > > > Reply from 64.233.187.104: bytes=32 time=93ms TTL=242
> > > > Reply from 64.233.187.104: bytes=32 time=88ms TTL=241
> > > > Reply from 64.233.187.104: bytes=32 time=88ms TTL=243
> > > >
> > > > Pinging www.yahoo-ht2.akadns.net (http://www.yahoo-ht2.akadns.net/) [209.73.186.238] with 32 bytes of
> > data:
> > > >
> > > > Reply from 209.73.186.238: bytes=32 time=108ms TTL=48
> > > > Reply from 209.73.186.238: bytes=32 time=116ms TTL=48
> > > >
> > > >
> > > > Dev T
> > > > > > >
> > >
> > > > >
> > --
12-12-2006, 07:26 PM
You sure there ecktt? the guy says '' This is my ping stats with a TSTT residential DSL modem '' And i would think if Flow was on fiber , it would be alot better than TSTT... I'v seen TSTT pings go down to 60ms from the same sites that do 120ms normally.. at midnight .. i'm guessing TSTT has alot of congestion .
From what i hear , dedicated fiber links from TSTT ping in the 40s too.. Flow should be comparable .
and i heard some other guy testing flow complained of latency already.. not too sure about it.
12-12-2006, 10:32 PM
That was an initial cut from a TTCS letter. I don't think the people have reason to lie, though they are full of opinionated crap most of the time.
ping "insert ural/ip here"
doesn't really lie all that much unless they have one of those Killer NICs.
12-13-2006, 07:36 AM
i watichin the cables outside meh house...still not good enuff for gaming? worse for gamin than dialup? nahhhhhhh :(
12-13-2006, 11:48 AM
i dont know bout u guys but those prices kinda steep
12-13-2006, 12:15 PM
Atleast we have the option of getting more bandwidth!
12-13-2006, 01:04 PM
7 are u nuts? Those price are good compared TSTT. Static IP and higher bandwidth. An if yuh 133t enuff, yuh could hack yuh cable modem and uncap the modem for full bandwidth.
12-13-2006, 01:11 PM
sull bandwidth? ... nuts? ... ammmm dsl is independent btw....cable modems not good for gaming especially if u have a neighboor or neighboors around yuh area with the cable modems also...more bandwidth yes but if u want it for gaming good luck
P.S. i distinctly remember cable being shared
sull bandwidth? ... nuts? ... ammmm dsl is independent btw....cable modems not good for gaming especially if u have a neighboor or neighboors around yuh area with the cable modems also...more bandwidth yes but if u want it for gaming good luck
For a man who's always complaining about TSTT's dsl keeping him down, he is awfully evangelical here when faced with a better option. Wassupwitdat?! Must be his evil twin brother post that...
12-13-2006, 03:00 PM
well the pings seem to be in order but I'll give it some time and if possible organize a hands on test.
12-13-2006, 03:07 PM
bullsheit in it's rawest form oui.
cable in trinidad with fiberline had a wireless backbone,so obviously it would suck. try thinking before posting,aye? :rolleyes:
12-13-2006, 03:31 PM
andro this is my opinion on the matter...i not looking for any quarrels...and i dont know what u are talking about but my main thing for bandwidth is games...i was jus saying that from my knowledge cable modems bring u a lot more bandwidth indeed for the price but it is shared (as in shared bandwidth)...it will always be shared...before u try to bite off my head..understand what i am saying...u see more bandwidth for less price but we trinigamers like to play our online wc
sighs at this...please dont be so harsh to men posts jed when they jus expressing their opinions...i eh understand some trinis nah...
btw scar...yea they shittin me up with my upload speed but say wah i trying to get someone to fix it for meh
as for andro i do hope u loosen up a bit...u seem pretty tense jed
I think he talking about the cable offered before the comming flow. It was fiberline ?. And it had a wireless backbone. The flow on the other hand, coming from some fiber optic form some isp on the region ?
BUt in all this is exciting stuff, I would definately take flow's service.
12-13-2006, 04:22 PM
andro this is my opinion on the matter...i not looking for any quarrels...and i dont know what u are talking about but my main thing for bandwidth is games...i was jus saying that from my knowledge cable modems bring u a lot more bandwidth indeed for the price but it is shared (as in shared bandwidth)...it will always be shared...before u try to bite off my head..understand what i am saying...u see more bandwidth for less price but we trinigamers like to play our online wc
sighs at this...please dont be so harsh to men posts jed when they jus expressing their opinions...i eh understand some trinis nah...
btw scar...yea they shittin me up with my upload speed but say wah i trying to get someone to fix it for meh
as for andro i do hope u loosen up a bit...u seem pretty tense jed
i was being harsh because someone shot down an exact same post like what u typed earlier on in the thread. more bw for wc? wc doesnt need a lot of bw. and i wasnt referring to the other parts of ur post,only the part highlighted in bold. relax and read the thing properly before u start off on a rant that i attacking u personally
I think he talking about the cable offered before the comming flow. It was fiberline ?
CORRECT ^
12-13-2006, 07:29 PM
cable networks DO have the problem that if alot of people in your area have it , bandwidth will drop . But this is trinidad, not as many pcs as the states, plus we won't be pulling torrents as much , no worries. An optic fiber cable system can give up to 100mbps to everyone even if its part copper to your house, so the paltry bandwidth they giving us now won't stress it.
12-13-2006, 07:48 PM
wait nah, those pings looking fibre optic (out of tnt) like jed,
I hadda test this thing hands, if it is indeed <100ms to google then cable all the way!
andro: bandwidth is important for warcraft. You are right that it does not require a lot, however, tstt's specs for residential adsl falls short on the upload required for hosting a dota. EVERY PERSON who used 64k upload dsl to host a dota resulted in a laggy game. Obviously bandwidth was the problem.
seven: if they say u gonna get 512k down and 128k up, anything less would be a breach of contract, so I think they playing it safe and offering what they can provide constantly. And just to clarify, to the best of my knowledge, coaxial is better than twisted pair for both latency and bandwidth.
para: I understand your skepticism. We were all led to believe that FLOW was going to initially implement the cable internet service with their existing satellite uplink. Judging from the results of the tests done by the TTCS/TTLUG guys, it seems that FLOW has some other connection to the rest of the World, as satellite latencies theoritically should be higher than what these guys (who are a reliable source btw) are getting on their cable connections.
12-14-2006, 08:13 AM
cable modem indeed has higher bandwidths and dsl no doubt about that
from the research i did...they both have their advantages...cable obviously making it an easier adv in terms of bandwidth but from my post before...i currently paying less than 300 for internet..i payed for no set up...the prices i saw their was kinda steep..thats what i said
cable modem cons would be that u are not sure to get the bandwidth u payed for cause it is shared (if many persons in neighborhood online simutaneously)..security may play an issue...from my research this is what it said...if surfing the net is important and download speeds by all means go cable but i jus saying that dsl is dedicated one line per user (cable 1 line for everyone fibre optics hopefully) so u are sure to get yuh desired speeds..thats all i was tryign to say
i agree with u mojo...in fact that is what i was thinking exaclty but i waiting for para to give the pings...i too ignorant of this topic cause i never used cable but i was jus goin on my research from what US citizens said
12-14-2006, 10:55 AM
Ah el importanto question
what is the ping from FLOW to TSTT
12-15-2006, 12:18 AM
Folks, 7 is right when it comes to the possible ping issues on cable when plenty people jump on the bandwagon. Apparantly he didn't sleep in his networking classes. Cable is comparable to a 1Gb hub (if there is such a thing) while ADSL is comparable to a 10Mb switch. Cable packs a hell of a lot more bandwidth but suffers under load while with ADSL u get a more predictable service. This will be an issue when cable really start to push Hi-def video, voip and internet. Pings going to skyrocket but for early adopters it's going to be sweet. Remember para when u were one of the first to get dsl and things were happy like pappie and now it boil down?
12-15-2006, 11:09 AM
agrees with ektt on the fact that in the earlies things will be nice...no doubt about that..u would get excellent pings...when dial up men really start to convert though there is when they will get all happy skippy about their new found speed for a lesser price but when more men start to jump on the lil cable line to access the internet while u on it too...ammm...well only time will tell
as for what mojo said about the breaking contract thing...u will indeed get your speed mojo but it is not guaranteed with cable modem..what u want them do?..have physic abilities and judge how many ppl in your neighborhood would get cable modems?...and then partition the bandwidth?...i think not?
DSL has fallen a long way down and now everyone get nerfed. Now DSL may be more stable theoretically but what TSTT provides is not. I more than willing to give Flow a chance. Sure there'll be a hit but I doubt it will be a "TSTT quality" hit. They have raised the stakes in Jamaica where there is active competition between the two companies. Lets hope they do the same here.
Bandwidth is limited on cable connections already.
12-16-2006, 02:33 AM
Power to the people. Make the dive and give us feed back. We should be glade there is a possible broadband low ping alternate to TSTT.
piglet
01-18-2007, 01:16 AM
I had the modem for a month but it only started to work today.
here are some pings..
google.com -> 85ms
bbc.com -> 105ms
tstt.co.tt -> 10ms
rapidshare.de -> 227ms
google.co.uk -> 189ms
google.cn -> 140ms
Downloads at 60KB/s
Rates..
http://img215.imageshack.us/my.php?image=flowboradbandinternetbrwy4.jpg
Finally i can host games... now to cancel dialup
How long did you have to wait for them to hook you up? I don't forsee myself having time to sign up for this until next week :S
tstt.co.tt -> 10ms
now thas de shit we wanna see!!! go pig go!!!
Do they have any uwi student packages? XD
01-18-2007, 10:01 AM
Both Flow and Green dot have recently bought bandwidth from TSTT. So by extension they have at least 1 local route to TSTT and so pings to TSTT IPs will be very low.
01-18-2007, 02:25 PM
ok this seems to be great news..i wonder if the net gonna be worth it now
piglet
01-18-2007, 02:34 PM
How long did you have to wait for them to hook you up? I don't forsee myself having time to sign up for this until next week :S
It took a 2 weeks for them to install it. Another 4 weeks to get it to work...i anticipated problems but 4 weeks tsktsk.
01-18-2007, 07:49 PM
Sweet ! damn sweet , hopefully TSTT will boost their service soon . What i'm afraid of is every MC will uncap his modem to 30 mbps and suck up all the island bandwidth...
01-19-2007, 12:38 PM
Sweet ! damn sweet , hopefully TSTT will boost their service soon . What i'm afraid of is every MC will uncap his modem to 30 mbps and suck up all the island bandwidth...
That is a very REAL concern but then again, how many people l33t euff todo that.
villa
01-19-2007, 07:32 PM
When it had Tstt all the time people had there Bmobile, Then Digicel come and everybody run for a digicel, now people have both phones... Here is an idea rich kids! Get Flow and Tstt!!... Dam sure i not doing it, tell me how that turn out for u all
Sighs .... Im really confused on my decision makin to either go wit FLOW or TSTT ... Some of you know my situation wit my dsl , for those of u who dont , i hav green dot connection ( 128 package) ... WASTE AH TIME !!!
This is by far worse dan Dialup , lol , majority of the time it doesnt work n when it finally works , bandwidth is shitty and fluctuates frequently ,lol . What pissed me off the most is d fact that there HQ is rite there in St. James and I live Fed park ( fu d country men is close to long circular mall ) and still shitty results .
Nehow im movin valsaynand havin read earlier n thread valsayn is offered flow packages and im interested but at same time worried if i will be disappointed wit d same results caus like yall said is a matter oftime wen bandwidth will start gettin suked up badly. help?
01-22-2007, 01:58 AM
Once Flow does not overload the line (more users than bandwidth capacity) it will work okay but a DSL ping will almost always be lower.
01-22-2007, 07:54 AM
Thing is bird we have no evidence of low pings between tstt/flow, you may take flow and your latency toTSTT hosts (on local server) still be very high. My advice is to give each a try and if possibly test with games, Im sure you could find someone with the flow dsl.
01-22-2007, 11:41 AM
When it had Tstt all the time people had there Bmobile, Then Digicel come and everybody run for a digicel, now people have both phones... Here is an idea rich kids! Get Flow and Tstt!!... Dam sure i not doing it, tell me how that turn out for u all
man i feel something wrong wit you u know...what cell phones hadda do with dsl or flow?
and again u comin with the rich kid thing... there is no need for that stuff here man everybody basically on the same page
Thing is bird we have no evidence of low pings between tstt/flow, you may take flow and your latency toTSTT hosts (on local server) still be very high. My advice is to give each a try and if possibly test with games, Im sure you could find someone with the flow dsl.
actually we do have evidence... the new gosu dota host.... piglet ftw!!! Of course we do need to see more success stories before we can conclude that it will always be like this.
Hmm @ para ... if ne ting ill try the flow fuss , soundin decent and headin strat fu dat 512 ... if ne news bout the flow services givin problems , plz giv a shout out to all .
01-24-2007, 12:07 PM
Oho piglet is on the Flow?
I'll give him a try, would be real good if it is indeed better than TSTT. Might be available to scaR!
Digital ftw.
Like most of you know I got flow a few days ago, still on the weak PC though :( I've got it connected through USB 1.0 which I'm told should have made it take a hit but I really have not seen it.
Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.
C:\Documents and Settings\scaR>ping tstt.net.tt
Pinging tstt.net.tt [196.3.132.8] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 196.3.132.8: bytes=32 time=11ms TTL=123
Reply from 196.3.132.8: bytes=32 time=14ms TTL=123
Reply from 196.3.132.8: bytes=32 time=13ms TTL=123
Reply from 196.3.132.8: bytes=32 time=15ms TTL=123
Ping statistics for 196.3.132.8:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 11ms, Maximum = 15ms, Average = 13ms
C:\Documents and Settings\scaR>ping google.com
Pinging google.com [64.233.187.99] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 64.233.187.99: bytes=32 time=88ms TTL=240
Reply from 64.233.187.99: bytes=32 time=86ms TTL=240
Reply from 64.233.187.99: bytes=32 time=87ms TTL=240
Reply from 64.233.187.99: bytes=32 time=88ms TTL=241
Ping statistics for 64.233.187.99:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 86ms, Maximum = 88ms, Average = 87ms
Just dled Q3 :D I'll try to get something up if this pc can handle it.
02-03-2007, 10:50 AM
waw.. thats some good stuff there scaR, can't wait for you to get a good pc to do the final tests.
Go Flow!
OOO
Do some tracerts to those hosts please.
On tracerts all hops time out except the second and the last one. Would post but it wouldn't make sense. Six hops to tstt.net.tt, 15 to google.com.
02-03-2007, 02:45 PM
where does it route thru? south america like most infer?
Tried bnet yet?
02-03-2007, 04:23 PM
Scar try a program called Neotrace to dig up some more info plz.
Neotracer doesn't work well sometimes. Turns out my firewall was blocking some packets, turned it off and this is what I got.
Flow > Costa Rica (Flow) > Trinidad (Flow) > Trinidad (TSTT) > Florida (Sprint)
Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.
C:\Documents and Settings\scaR>tracert useast.battle.net
Tracing route to useast.battle.net [63.240.202.120]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
1 * * * Request timed out.
2 10 ms 8 ms 8 ms 10.160.2.1
3 10 ms 10 ms 9 ms 65.182.8.194
4 80 ms 12 ms 11 ms 200.1.104.97
5 18 ms 10 ms 12 ms 201.238.75.121
6 78 ms 75 ms 73 ms sl-gw11-orl-10-1.sprintlink.net [144.228.113.29]
7 71 ms 72 ms 73 ms sl-bb21-orl-0-0.sprintlink.net [144.232.2.233]
8 103 ms 104 ms 102 ms sl-bb23-fw-6-0-0.sprintlink.net [144.232.8.124]
9 104 ms 104 ms 106 ms sl-bb21-fw-13-0.sprintlink.net [144.232.11.245]
10 101 ms 103 ms 102 ms 192.205.32.213
11 127 ms 128 ms 125 ms tbr2-p014001.dlstx.ip.att.net [12.123.16.6]
12 125 ms 127 ms 127 ms tbr1-cl6.sl9mo.ip.att.net [12.122.10.89]
13 125 ms 129 ms 134 ms tbr1-cl4.wswdc.ip.att.net [12.122.10.29]
14 127 ms 126 ms 127 ms 12.123.8.17
15 125 ms 128 ms 125 ms 12.122.255.2
16 128 ms 131 ms 127 ms 63.240.197.134
17 * * * Request timed out.
18 * * * Request timed out.
19 * * * Request timed out.
20 * * * Request timed out.
21 * * * Request timed out.
22 * * * Request timed out.
23 * * * Request timed out.
24 * * * Request timed out.
25 * * * Request timed out.
26 * * * Request timed out.
27 * * * Request timed out.
28 * * * Request timed out.
29 * * * Request timed out.
30 * * * Request timed out.
Trace complete.
C:\Documents and Settings\scaR>
02-05-2007, 12:32 AM
i know that, MC tstt blocking all de mc traffic.
tstt is de MAIN node for south america and why de ass we having hard latency??
02-05-2007, 12:52 AM
played a game with scaR hosting, I must say its quite impressive, i wanna do another when scaR gets his new PC. Hmm i have to plan out which packages to get and find out when its going to reach grande.
02-05-2007, 11:12 PM
anyone here has it, well the basic 512/128 and shares it? if so by what means, and does it affect u greatly if say the other is dldin a lot
got word that flow started changing to digital nodes in Princes Town and Rio Claro from last weekend, so anyone in that area should be happy about this.
My source said that Port of Spain and Chaguanas might be just around the last to be serviced since the population density is so high and would require many nodes to be changed.
02-06-2007, 10:10 AM
well i am from Princes Town so i was lookin to post a thread on which company to take up either flow or tstt but i guess from how this discussion is goin that flow should be the best pick
i was hopein to get a connection by the end of feb so what do you gues suggest take up flow???
02-06-2007, 12:52 PM
Mojo, since cctt never ran lines past ptown, flow has set up the optics around here, so rio claro for sure has access. since oct-nov flow vans were up and down the roads, and workers were all over the place, and recently thye have been passing around advertising. they showed up on my doorstep on sunday...while i was actually browsing their webiste. Shud tell u how the service is by the end of the week.
Kukka
02-10-2007, 10:58 AM
Well, I signed up for Flow internet service this morning. I was told by wednesday-thurday I will be setup. Will let u guys know how it goes :)
02-10-2007, 12:36 PM
Unless u call them and make sure yr application on file, them eh no comin ..yuhhadda make sure them bitches lookin like they goh give tstt service....stuups monday making it 1 week of waiting..
02-10-2007, 01:06 PM
yea from scaRs reports things look good. Might make a switch myself.
Kukka
02-10-2007, 04:57 PM
Nah well. I does get on dred with dem. If dem cah come wed-thursday. Dont come at all. I made the chick who i spoke to know this. As for TSTT. Since recent update they had on their servers I've been having real problems browsing. I fedup.
02-10-2007, 05:49 PM
porn has never been the same huh kukka?
Im looking at the packages.. maybe take a 1mbit might be better for hosting.
02-26-2007, 12:05 AM
we shall see if these ppl are reliable, and come when they say...or if its just tstt in disguise
02-26-2007, 06:35 AM
porn has never been the same huh kukka?
Im looking at the packages.. maybe take a 1mbit might be better for hosting.
muss hurt kukka collection :D
can you guys plz post any info on the connection wit flow im lookin to take internet in march month an im goin with flow so i jus need to know how it is thus far
02-26-2007, 12:11 PM
Thus far I have only heard good things however I have noticed that with broadband everyone starts off good till their customer base increases.
You SHOULD and most likely will get the bandwidth thats contracted to you, if you get more don't expect it to last.
02-26-2007, 01:35 PM
THEM MCS JUST SHOW UP AND GUESS WHAT? THEY SEN FLECKIN CABLE CREW BY ME! ...they fleckin was like..but wait is net u want? we the cable crew..not the internet crew....hoss i almost boulders dem down lol ....lawd fadda this is typical tstt behaviour...the office SCREW UP SOMETHING AGAIN!...if them eh mc hook up today eh..they goh friggin hear me
02-26-2007, 02:08 PM
Sigh.
Such is the service to use third world countries.
02-26-2007, 02:39 PM
Let me be frank...
FLOW CUSTOMER SERVICE IS ONE OF THE WORSE IVE EVER EXPERIENCED!
I get better service at your regular corner doubles man!
Basically what happened was, for about a month now I've been calling in to flow checking to see if my application was processed. For the first week i called everyday, sometimes more than once a day to try to avoid a typical trini service...futile attempts i now see. I was overjoyed last week to hear my application was on their systems, and that my install date was today! yeaa!!!! right.......
What happened was, i called this morn, confirmed it was today...
Technician called not too long after m said they would be late...
Technician showed up...then realized i wanted internet..not cable..and they were the cable guys...we realized somebody screw up...
They called the internet guys..who showed up at my house...to frigign tell me it not available yet in my area cuz there is a SHORTAGE OF CARDS...
impulse to rain boulders growing.....
I further questioned him and stated it was a FRIGGIN RETARDED SERVICE...and he just told me it'll be available soon..
I called flow...spoke to a guy this time...hoping that somebody with sense answered the fone...he was puzzled at what happened so he checked it out..
Turns out ALL THE DUMB bitches who i spoke too left my application as digital cable..and not internet...evn after i practically bombard them with calls....
I didnt get to speak to a supervisor or anything, cuz as usual trinis supervisors..ALWAYS busy..why? From my experience in field work...some padner they eh see in a while, or their cousin or somebody come to check them and u can hear the raucous laughter comin from the room...
Basically he said he would do up emails asap to send to both the retarded bitch..erm i mean the person who filed the order and the supervisor ( oh god i hope he eh mean the trini means..i goh do it when ah remember) and they they would contact me asap...
So i took a day off for nought...disappointed...still waiting for a month+...nothing was done..and is till don't know what going on..
Need i say typical tstt..or trinidadian behaviour?
02-26-2007, 02:49 PM
well that is a typical run around i see dark days ahead for me when i send in my application
well i called them up to get some more info an to see how long i will have to wait for internet....well the guy told me that it will be ready for me (i live Ptown) in the next six months...well i got disapointed an was like can i wait that long to get connected casue the hesaid that they still workin on cable connection in trincity an dont know how long that might take
well i say for sure that i dont feel i want to be waitin that long for a conncetion service...they need to speed things along here
!doomtack!
02-27-2007, 06:48 PM
i was plannin on gettin sometin better dan dial-up... but after readin dis... i startin to think dat it ha no high speed net in trinidad dat reliable?!!
wat i wanna kno is wa is my best option?
TSTT DSL, EVDO, Flow... Greendot...
wateva it have, i wa sometin by nex 2 weeks
i live in Caroni btw (not sure if flow ready by me yet)
02-27-2007, 07:16 PM
next two weeks eh... i dont think anything can be arranged for that soon... whatever path yuh choose
!doomtack!
02-27-2007, 07:32 PM
well, i kinda realise dat now...
but what would be the better decision?
03-02-2007, 10:53 AM
Well once again Flow showed up a my doorstep...and i was pretty confident that this time noting cud go wrong.....
I was contacted on Wednesday and everything was finalized, My package, the day etc...which was this morn...
Guys showed up in fact, 2 hours late...and went up on the poles...
Came down and began making calls
Apparently the area doesn't have capability for internet service...the uplink cards aren't there as far as i understand, so the area isn't on the service.
Basically i had to stay home again today...from VERY important field work...to see a man climb up a pole and tell me i cant get what they promised. He told me that as far as he personally knows, the area didnt have service and wouldnt have for at least 2 weeks to come, and when he told the ppl who ordered him to come today this, they denied that and stated that YES there as service..
Monday when they came the work order stated that cable was to be installed, and not internet...today the INTERNET van show up with a work order to install an ADDITIONAL cable box...and I DOH HAVE CABLE FROM THEM!...WTMC ??..so he tell me he doh know what they cud do about it..
I called Flow...something which has become a daily routine...and began telling sum RETARDED woman again..and she hang up on me...
So i call back and i got the guy i called monday..and then i got some answers..apparently im not the only one with this problem, other complaints came in.
Thing is if the technicians knew the service not ready...how the F$CK them eh know? They PROMISING service that NOT available...FLOW IS THE FLECKING GOVERNMENT!!!
I was told that they going to contact the respective ppl and inform me when the service is ready...and at the same time sumbody from the company call my cell...so i switch calls..
She was from the dispatch unit...well she get the complaints...i tell her basically that i have absolutely NO FAITH in the service anymore and they i consider them UNRELIABLE.. don't call me again unless u sure u cud keep your promise this time, i dont want any false claims..unless u can provide solid proff that u need me here to come and install an EXISTING service, then contact me to see if i still interested...
The say i see it is that tstt might actually run dsl here before them know their ass from their elbow...THANK GOD FLOW doesn't deal with medication or condoms....
As far as im concerned, Flow isnt tstt in disguise..its the GOVERNMENT...cuz the service too similar....
then again they does actually SHOW UP..so i doh know
What i didnt say i figure ill write a letter to the editor this evening, and let ppl know that it isnt just the cable service that is shitty, its just FLOW.
Ive seen many complaints about the cable service from customers, so i know it anit just me.
Im already late so let me see what part of my job today i can salvage....ill postup further info later if i write the letter..and also with this whole situation...
The scary part is...i think green dot available...GOD i hope that doh become an option...
I not putitng my foot in my mouth cuz of flow again,
F%CKING LAME and OVERLY WUTTLESS
03-02-2007, 11:09 AM
lol maybe your are just the off case arch... u gonna spoil some1 rep because u get bad treatment... i say ask around and see who again was treated as poorly as u... then write your letter to the editor?
03-02-2007, 11:19 AM
well arch i have to say that is a trinin run around you got there
well i have give up on flow ftw....i takin green dot
i talked to there sales rep was she was really nice an very forward on what they have an how far they have reach coverage wise
they have cover Princes Town an are ready to make the conncetion for me before the end on the month
but i will have to say that flow have a better conncetion that green dot
flow offers a 512k connection compare to 256k from green dot but it is a wireless connection
so i made a decsion to take up green dot over flow cause there serives is not ready yet and i dont know how long it will take them to reach Princes Town they clam is they should be there in 6 months but i dont believe that
an now what you have jus explained jus make me more sure that flow will see me next year when they are ready to take on customers
Greendot is weak for gaming though. If you going wireless get TSTT Evdo.
03-02-2007, 12:11 PM
Greendot is weak for gaming though. If you going wireless get TSTT Evdo.
i does get 2 sec delay on evdo... all the time...
Kukka
03-02-2007, 12:59 PM
I am also having problems getting flow service :(
i does get 2 sec delay on evdo... all the time...
And it still pwns greendot, people I know with that compare it to dialup.
I had no problems with getting flow. I waited a month after they had digital cable installed in the area to make sure they would have no trini issues.
03-02-2007, 01:32 PM
hmmm well yeah i guess evdo is the best wireless out...
but i still say try and get a land line... unless u have a laptop and always on the go like me...
/me sieze company evdo doh :D
who say free evdo immc
03-02-2007, 01:38 PM
well guys i wasnt set on takein tstt in the first place i was really hopein to try out flow since there startin speed is 512k but now they kinda sour me
so i guess i give green dot a try an if as what you say is true about its speed not beein good for game scar i guess i jus use it for what ever else an pass up gamein home :(
03-02-2007, 01:41 PM
so i guess i give green dot a try an if as what you say is true about its speed not beein good for game scar i guess i jus use it for what ever else an pass up gamein home :(
why pass up the gaming home... u can get it with evdo... whats the price difference?...
03-02-2007, 01:52 PM
im payin $318 a month wit green dot once i connect i dont know the price of evdo maybe you can fill me in wit that
03-02-2007, 02:02 PM
wait actually i think evdo is for corporate users neways... so yuo will jus have to get the green
!doomtack!
03-02-2007, 02:18 PM
so i hearin no mention of TSTT DSL... that means doh bother wit it??
cus i still lookin for an option...
ppl who have experience, gimme some advice please?
03-02-2007, 02:50 PM
wait actually i think evdo is for corporate users neways... so yuo will jus have to get the green
corporate?? do you got some kinda buiness or something...well green dot ftw casue flow STICKIN!!!
03-05-2007, 10:40 AM
TSTT DSL is still a good option but given the choice take flow over TSTT, I'll be testing the flow very soon and will give feedback.
!doomtack!
03-05-2007, 01:37 PM
jus found out dat TSTT High speed is not available in my area (Caroni)
and neither is FLOW..!
wam d Caroni ppl have no love o wat?!
neone has any idea as to whether EVDO works well in dat area?
03-05-2007, 02:58 PM
tstt dont have DSL in caroni??
1. well you cant wait for flow to come an connnect
2. take up EVDO
3. Take up Green Dot
4. Or look for another source for Internet that is fits you
Your choice.....
I have to warn people who want to game on greendot. Those I know who had the service compared pings to be worse than TSTT dialup and unstable. You may want to talk with Trinimc about his experience.
As far as I know anyone can sign up for EVDO.
03-05-2007, 06:31 PM
A while ago it was limited to corp customers and UWI students and even so during november 06.
03-05-2007, 07:55 PM
thais what i knwo corporate and uwi... didnt know they changed it... :confused:
yeah it changed a while now.
For now EV-DO is available to CORPORATE/BUSINESS CUSTOMERS ONLY!
03-06-2007, 07:19 AM
I have to warn people who want to game on greendot. Those I know who had the service compared pings to be worse than TSTT dialup and unstable. You may want to talk with Trinimc about his experience.
thx for the warnin scar i will take it in advice well i think my option are kinda limited see that EDVO is a BUSINESS connection
even if i cant game on green dot i think it should support a good dl speed for now in am jus testin the waters
i was hopein for flow to be my best choice
03-06-2007, 09:07 AM
yeah it changed a while now.
For now EV-DO is available to CORPORATE/BUSINESS CUSTOMERS ONLY!
So no UWI just CORP?
03-06-2007, 12:12 PM
As far as i know its corp customers only. But if your a member of TecU credit union, they have plan where they will take EVDO under their name and then pass it on to you. Kinda like sub leasing but without the markup.
03-06-2007, 12:17 PM
well most of the corporate people actually allow employees to get it through there name... kinda like tecu
03-07-2007, 07:28 PM
Evdo not for corporate customers only.
Fraet got it, he says u hadda go by d bmobile main branch in independence square, and go up ah side door and talk to a person called Anessa.
Unless u follow these instructions specifically u not gonna get it. cus most tstt staff doh even know u can get it for non corporate customers.
03-08-2007, 12:35 AM
my sister go evdo for some how i wont ask, i was using it in home when i was in trinidad
she got it via UTT, or might be because we "kinder" have connections in tstt and got it
03-08-2007, 10:07 AM
yeah janus in trinidad yuh could get everything through the grass roots...
we talkin about tstt policy here...
lithium
03-13-2007, 08:04 PM
please review the new flow internet please :P i wanna see how much ping i will get in counter strike hopefully about 80 thx
03-13-2007, 08:38 PM
im getting it by the end of the week will give you CSS pings :)
03-14-2007, 03:01 AM
BALLZ I SAY PARA BALLZ IT EH FAIRRRRRRRRR them mcs eh fix the area for service yet...chuups..they sayin yeaa it ready..then when they ready to hook up...but wait the service not up...where the uplink cards! chuuupssss AHHH damn u grande ppl :(
03-14-2007, 12:07 PM
lol @ grande. Keep in mind that the best grande can get is EVDO at the moment.
lithium
03-14-2007, 05:31 PM
im getting it by the end of the week will give you CSS pings :)
yea scene scene :P
i hope i get it when dem come and change ma cable and hopefully de price aint so crazy
03-14-2007, 06:26 PM
prices are pretty decent, i think their infrastructure is better than TSTT accounting for the 10ms ping difference.
03-14-2007, 06:44 PM
para i in the same situation...nothing but edvo
lithium
03-14-2007, 07:27 PM
prices are pretty decent, i think their infrastructure is better than TSTT accounting for the 10ms ping difference.
hoss u sure only 10 ms? maybe 20 cause its 512 lol btw para which u think is best for css and for de cheapest to?
I have to say pings are high on flow tonight, been getting some 100ms response times this evening. First time it's been that high.
03-14-2007, 10:50 PM
They said they are doing some work in the area ie why my service has not been enabled. SHould finish by the end of the week
03-15-2007, 02:38 AM
para is liessssss i feel is the same shit with my area..the damn net like it eh hook up yet...is LIESSS ALL LIESSSS
03-15-2007, 08:38 AM
para suckin them flow ppl stories hard....evertime is jus now or end off the week...arch right ONLY LIESSSS!!!!
03-15-2007, 10:31 AM
Muss take them on!
Right now I have the modem there with everything setup waiting for the online light to come on..
The digital cable decent although I have it hooked up to a tv that needs a lil slap in the back to show properly.
03-15-2007, 12:05 PM
para you sound like you reach to far to even consider not takin them on
well i wait to hear what you got to say about when you connect
03-15-2007, 12:21 PM
yeah boy can't wait to get on the flow train!!! It seems that TSTT's changes are affecting our hosts, I for one used to be a great host now people complain that during action they experience lag while honestly I don't.
FLow!
03-15-2007, 02:08 PM
well i see it is true then...tstt tryin to match flow so it is bunch off upgrades an other stuff....so they service is goin to suck
03-15-2007, 04:17 PM
Boy I called them yesterday to find out the reason for the delay (thaz when i got the repair line) and the guy made a mistake and said I had a 2mbit account. Hoss I phase out for a while there..
03-15-2007, 04:33 PM
hahahahhahahaa...das all i hada say yes
i rem when i went for dsl...the woman pull out she calculator to see how much we go hada pay each month ...hahahahahaha...girl asking me if das how yuh do the percentages yes...i was like mmhmmm
lithium
03-15-2007, 07:27 PM
Boy I called them yesterday to find out the reason for the delay (thaz when i got the repair line) and the guy made a mistake and said I had a 2mbit account. Hoss I phase out for a while there..
damn! me eh know why i ain't get flow cable as yet....ST AUGUSTINE @_@
is it possible to get flow internet even do u didnt get de cable? just call dem and say u wah internet ?
You must have the digital box before you get the internet.
03-15-2007, 09:32 PM
i cudda do like para and let them hook eet up..and wait for the light to come on..but then they say they eh wa hook it up and i goh keep callin askin why it eh online yet and his superior advised him otherwise..
ah well, lets hope something is done soon.
03-16-2007, 12:08 AM
well I waiting, apparently my area partially setup we have digital cable but not the net, I was told that by the end of the week (next week tuesday for the latest) I could expect to get the service.
In addition I will need a router to split the connection amongst the PCs, a switch isn't going to cut it, the device they give you is a modem flat out.
lithium
03-16-2007, 01:00 AM
well I waiting, apparently my area partially setup we have digital cable but not the net, I was told that by the end of the week (next week tuesday for the latest) I could expect to get the service.
In addition I will need a router to split the connection amongst the PCs, a switch isn't going to cut it, the device they give you is a modem flat out.
GL with that para and wasnt the 2mbps like $1000
03-16-2007, 09:15 AM
Yes the 2mbit is $1000 + $150 + modem rental, Im not going for that oui, its 2 much $$
The router thing was a bit of a drag, I kinda had an idea that I'll need to use a router from talking with scaR but was hoping that they might supply one like TSTT did. I fortunately have a router in grande being used as a switch/bridge so i'll swap my switch with that :)
03-16-2007, 11:37 AM
para gimme the info on what u gonna be using to split it etc, cuz i in almost the same situation as u
03-16-2007, 12:49 PM
Arite here I go
The device they give you (ie the modem) operates at an IP level, my switch and most cheap switches operate at the MAC level, routers operate at the IP level.
I plugged in the modem to my PC via ethernet and Http'd to the default gateway (like I would do my DSL router from tstt) and found no signs of anything to configure. What I found were a few webpages with statistical and diagnostic information.
Using some logics as I don't have access to the service.
Here is what you can do arch since you have a modem type environment already. Use the modem in USB mode plug it directly into your computer, it may create a virtual network connection. Right click on that connection and enable internet connection sharing as you would do with your dialup connection. Plug you PC into a switch via a network card, plug all other PCs into the switch via network cards.
The PC directly connected to the modem should be able to host and is directly connected to the internet, all other machines will need to use port fwding to host. Which is possible using ICS.
My Technique
I have found myself adapt to using routers rather that configuring a PC to be the router dunno names to differentiate em but I think you understand the difference.
I'll plug the modem in network mode to the WAN node on the router, this should give the router a full non firewalled connection to the internet similar to the host PC in the above situation. From there i'll need to port fwd to be able to host.
lithium
03-19-2007, 10:07 PM
Arite here I go
The device they give you (ie the modem) operates at an IP level, my switch and most cheap switches operate at the MAC level, routers operate at the IP level.
I plugged in the modem to my PC via ethernet and Http'd to the default gateway (like I would do my DSL router from tstt) and found no signs of anything to configure. What I found were a few webpages with statistical and diagnostic information.
Using some logics as I don't have access to the service.
Here is what you can do arch since you have a modem type environment already. Use the modem in USB mode plug it directly into your computer, it may create a virtual network connection. Right click on that connection and enable internet connection sharing as you would do with your dialup connection. Plug you PC into a switch via a network card, plug all other PCs into the switch via network cards.
The PC directly connected to the modem should be able to host and is directly connected to the internet, all other machines will need to use port fwding to host. Which is possible using ICS.
My Technique
I have found myself adapt to using routers rather that configuring a PC to be the router dunno names to differentiate em but I think you understand the difference.
I'll plug the modem in network mode to the WAN node on the router, this should give the router a full non firewalled connection to the internet similar to the host PC in the above situation. From there i'll need to port fwd to be able to host.
jedddddd wats the ping for css atm for ur internet?
Minesweeper_pro
03-20-2007, 08:55 PM
300 baud anyone???
03-20-2007, 10:31 PM
still waiting....
03-21-2007, 12:55 AM
muss keep u waiting para..just watch
03-21-2007, 08:22 AM
para i givein you the whole of next month for you to crack an cuss them mc for the delay....i personal know that icant wait that long....so y not jus find something on a temp basics??
03-21-2007, 09:53 AM
My pops now telling me they contacted him and told him its gonna take 2 weeks instead of 1 as the problem is a bit bigger than they expected.
Another week before I return to being a bess host
03-21-2007, 10:23 AM
i feel para goin to have some big stonez how these ppl keep draggin it around so....like you done pay down on all this then???
03-21-2007, 11:13 AM
I have not started paying the monthly fee as yet and got free installation. They claim that only when it starts working that I'll be billed.
03-21-2007, 08:59 PM
WHAT I TELL U PARA LOL...told ya they gonan stick...they real unreliable at this stage dred, promising shit that not even there lol... i just hoping they not this bad IF the service finally comes up
03-22-2007, 08:36 AM
i feel there service will be good but it jus they makin to much promises right now an there service isnt even connect up properly....that can make anybody get mad
i still givin para the month before he crack :p
03-22-2007, 11:10 AM
aye atleast I have tstt for the while... I figure out that i hadda shutdown every other machine on meh network close of the 10streaming pornsites and quit napster b4 i could host. (kidding)
Kukka
03-22-2007, 07:29 PM
Ah yes that is why I don't host so anymore. The streaming nrop sites.
03-26-2007, 03:40 PM
Well i just called flow again, and the same shit yes its available...so when i make she check it available in a FEW streets in my area, and guess what?
Kukka u cud relate, it available in the street ADJOINING MINE! like 3 houses away!...but not mine...THESE PPL WUTTLESS!
03-26-2007, 04:15 PM
me eh see ur bother nah arch... was the same thing with me and tstt dsl.. only diff it took much longer to reach me... my neighbour a few houses away had dsl 4 bout ah yeah and a half before it was avail to me
03-27-2007, 08:06 AM
about 4 years an a half?..that is a long wait...well that is really mess how they could be in your street an it like a few house away...i wounder what they did to get that serives n there home so quickly??
03-27-2007, 10:15 AM
read over dre... i said 4 a year and a half
1 1/2 years
03-27-2007, 11:14 AM
well i was told that none of the hardware was setup and they need more time. Really wanted to quit TSTT service b4 the new mth but say what i'll wait, give me more time to get my new router.
I think my hosting issues have been resolved (sorta)
03-27-2007, 01:12 PM
Ok got some info for you peoples :)
The plan is to organise a Flow package for the 3 PCs in my house and hook up a network ensuring that each PC can get online without using one of the PCs as a gateway.
Went on the 17th to organise the Flow Click Unlimited 1 package (128k up/ 512 down) and we organised for the tech to come and hook up on the 22nd between 1 and 4 pm. Paid nothing down due to some Jazz It Up promotion they were offering at the time. At 3:15 on the 22nd the tech calls to confirm address directions and arrived at 3:30 to do the full installation (run the line from the lightpole etc. since I do not have cable tv). Took about 2 hours to get everything up and running.
speedtest.net reported an average of 105k up/487k down which is just about on target.
Bought a NEXXT 8 port 10/100Mbps Fast Ethernet Switch from Kukka yesterday and hooked it up to the modem and one of the PCs. No problems so far. My PC crashed this morning so I'm currently reinstalling windows and such atm. When that's done I'll be cutting and crimping the cables and hooking up all 3 systems and run further tests etc. So a regular switch works as opposed to the reports I was getting that a router would be needed (saved about $500 which a big damn deal)
Basically I've had no problems with Flow's Customer Service, their tech or their service.
03-27-2007, 01:52 PM
/me thinks para is goin to have some strong words for flow
they are keepin you back....what is the delay again??
03-27-2007, 04:20 PM
I feelin to shoot crazy for sayin that..
:( KUKKA WE GETTIN JAM!!! PARA TOO!!
they hittin us a pappy show..
03-27-2007, 04:58 PM
Crazy has tried with only 1 PC, this should not be a problem and adheres to the information given to me by the flow reps.
The flow reps do seem to have more IT knowledge that 'the other ISP', that much I can say for the reps that I have dealt with. Keep in mind that if these reps decide to move on for a higher pay they maybe replaced with some random noobs.
I'll wait on crazy to try multiple PCs on his switch, in any event if the switch works i'll still be purchasing a router.
Crazy's situation is different from ours Arch, crazy had the digital internet available in his area and setup was quick. I had no problems with getting 'cable' installed at my place they came and fixed it up in less than a week. What we are waiting on is form them to install and configure 'nodes' as they call it on their infrastructure for us, thats a bigger task.
Thus far I am not complaining and allowing them time to get the job done, they have already told me sometime next week and I'll wait.
Crazy please give us ping information, i'll try to match that with pings from my TSTT.
03-27-2007, 05:48 PM
I think its wrong that they advertise we can get it and up to yesterday thet said yeaa its available..say its available REMOTELY and the availability is sparse...chuups..
now para since he situation here seems to be almost the same with grande, with the nodes and all that..how is the cable service over there?
The technicians who came to install the cable with the wrong work order instead of the modem the first time, told me how the cable was working but the service had some issues, pixelation or what they referred to as ' when u watchin a dvd and it stickin' Now i doh think i gonna be taking the cable service from flow, but i was just wondering.
u get that problem there?
03-27-2007, 06:04 PM
I am setting up the service in St Augustine not Grande, Grande does not have the digital service. Makes me wonder what part of St Augustine am I really staying, its not North or South.. Maybe central?
I have not experienced any picture related issues, everything is showing good cept a scan line type thingy, which i think maybe TV related.
03-28-2007, 04:52 PM
I plan to take advantage of this free installation offer and take a 20-hour package for a month to see how the speed is in my area.
Gonna read through this thread again and see what to expect.
I doh know if it's my fault, but my TSTT connection has been underperforming badly for a while now. Torrents barely hittin over 20K, and even pullin from Rampage FTP (where I used to get max speed right through) fluctuatin between 5K and 25K constantly.
Last time I get true full download speed on this connection was pullin some comics off eDonkey a few weeks ago.
Anyone else similarly affected?
03-28-2007, 05:26 PM
They have limited the number of connections you can establish on the whole.
Dunno why this will affect a pull from rampage ftp.
04-02-2007, 09:37 PM
got it about 1hr ago, bandwidth tests seem to be accurate. Experiencing some drops, hoping the setup isn't final as they didn't call me to tell me its ready I called them :)
04-03-2007, 12:02 PM
Update:
Had an issue with all PCs being connected and networked via the switch but only one can be online at one given time.
Did some research on the modems and I believe that some modems do not support ICS which is why I got this problem. My cousin went and bought a Linksys router before I could find the time to really play around with more configs and settings so I haven't been able to do all the testing that I wanted to do. So GG really. Everything is up and running via the router so I won't be messing with the setup to further test the switch.
04-03-2007, 01:30 PM
As i mentioned Crazy, The modem is just that a modem, it has no features that bring it close to a router and will only be able to reference 1 PC on the switch at a time.
You NEED a router whether it be hardware or using a PC configured to distribute the connection.
--------------------------
As of this morning @ 5am I was able to stay online till the present time (using vlad for info). No more drops!!! Bandwidth is as promised!!
Latency is a bit high!!!
I have both TSTT and FLOW i did some tests on bnet as well as CSS and experienced a significant increase in ping in both cases.
Bnet FLOW 141ms, TSTT 97ms
CSS FLOW 187ms TSTT 130ms
Very interesting stuff
04-03-2007, 05:04 PM
Following up on the claims that flow is getting their own fiber out of TnT.
http://www.caribbeanpressreleases.com/articles/1229/1/New-World-Network-to-Build-New-Undersea-Fiber-Network-for-Trinidad/Project-Underscores-Columbus-Communications-Commitment-in-the-Caribbean.html
So late this year lower-lat !!!
local sweat till then.
Kukka
04-16-2007, 06:27 PM
Well I finally got my flow internet connection running. Very impressed with the service. Currently running on a 1mbit download 256k up connection. However I am disappointed in the customer service.Since February I've been trying to get the service. Only got it Sunday. Thats one problem. Another problem is getting them on the phone. I am talking bout internet department not cable csr.To sum it up, Flow got better product than TSTT but worse customer support. Yes! worse than tstt lol
04-17-2007, 08:22 AM
worst than tstt...lawd if i deal with them next year...are there any other problem with the service??
ultimatewarrior
04-18-2007, 03:21 AM
i see a price there $165 unlimited ? if so could it be better than my free dail up ? hmmm ?
05-02-2007, 09:43 AM
hmm @ 690.
Is their any way to get out of your TSTT contract?
When the 2007 one over...flow iymc!