View Full Version : Postponed: GATT - E SPORTS SHOWDOWN (DotA|CodUO|T5|Halo2)

Crixx_Creww
12-04-2006, 04:56 PM
The Caribbean Game Freaks along with GATT

Presents E-Sport Showdown 2006

A 3 day tournament starting December 15-17 at the National Stadium.

Events:

Dota 3v3
1st: $3000.00
2nd:$1500.00
3rd: $750.00

Tekken 5
1st: $1500.00
2nd: $500.00
3rd: $250.00

Halo 2 (2v2)
1st: $3000.00
2nd: $1000.00
3rd: $500.00

Call of Duty United Offensive (5v5)
1st: $5000.00
2nd $2500.00
3rd: $1250.00

Damage will be $60 per person per game

All finals will be played on the last day.

Registration starts now:

Register online at www.carigamers.com (http://www.carigamers.com/) and enrol for the event(s) of your choice.

Shizz is working on the COD rules, and I am working on the dota rules.

For most of the gatt dota tourneys in the past, we have used WCG rules, BUT those rules were created for like dota 5.84 and havent been updated since. So iam looking into CAL rules and ECL rules.

I know yall have thrown tourneys in the past, and id like to know which rules seem fairest to yall and which ones give the least problems in tourney settings.

12-04-2006, 09:37 PM
Now it may seem that I'm prying into you guys a bit too much but the size of those prizes and the somewhat high expected number of gamers per game begs the question. Also the past track record of similar events brings this into question.

If a game has lower than expected registration, will the prize money be directly affected by this?

As far as the DotA rules are concerned I'll message you.

12-05-2006, 07:53 AM
wow big money for this torunment...are ther a limit to how many team can regeister??

Crixx_Creww
12-05-2006, 09:44 AM
slick, you can check the carigamers link and see the team caps.
But the short answer is that basically we can accept all the teams that arrive.

MG
12-05-2006, 12:12 PM
hey crixx, thanks for the info, the sooner these things seem to get rolling the more likely it would actually get pulled off. ;)

nevertheless, one major question i have. u said in the 5v5 thread:
" Dota is carded for one day, that is saturday the 16th, while cod and tekken and halo are to take place on seperate days."

and then in this thread:
"All finals will be played on the last day."

does this mean that the 2 finalists will have to make it down the sunday as well? or is dota going to be an exception and have the finals on the saturday? this is important to players who are neck high in exams right now.... :eek:

DaemonX
12-05-2006, 12:15 PM
Right so like, as for how we getting all dat money..NONE YUH DAMN BUSINESS..stueps

But we will have it, our main priority is to make sure we receive the money money if we dont we wont be holding the tourny, and since we sure we will be recieving the money the prize will not be affected by # of entries.

Personally i'd rather all yall java men stay home cuz i poor :)

Um, some more details, Xen SPartan is taking care of the Halo2 rules

Oh yeah and the Dota tournment will be taking place on day2 and 3 of the tourny cod will run on day 1 probably. SO dota player need only be there on the saturday and sunday (wheee, but ent school done, oh yeh men have work)

Not much else, we hope to get every damn person intereted in dota tekken halo w/e in this thing nationwide. And it will be alot more organized than arena was i ASSURE yall

One last dialemma is men wanting to participate is console games and PC at the same time.......That should be worked out soon though but atm it seem like people shouldnt be entering more than 2 tournaments, if they wish to enter more they should confer with us first

Oh and the dota is double elim eh, so every man get a second chance

DaemonX
12-05-2006, 12:18 PM
hey crixx, thanks for the info, the sooner these things seem to get rolling the more likely it would actually get pulled off. ;)

nevertheless, one major question i have. u said in the 5v5 thread:
" Dota is carded for one day, that is saturday the 16th, while cod and tekken and halo are to take place on seperate days."

and then in this thread:
"All finals will be played on the last day."

does this mean that the 2 finalists will have to make it down the sunday as well? or is dota going to be an exception and have the finals on the saturday? this is important to players who are neck high in exams right now.... :eek:

hoss well yeah finals are on suday too, no exceptions, we looking to do it up on a big screen like they did in arena....we not sure how we doin dota on a big screen but we figurin it out, and wtf is de 16th and 17th das way next week, wtf kinda school u goin to dat have exams goin on then even roytec exams cut off by the 15th

12-05-2006, 12:30 PM
Gamefreaks are the same guys that did the big FIFA thing last year and are funding the tourney.

I'll rally the troops and hopefully we can take all 4 prizes. I think that COD is already won :)

MG
12-05-2006, 12:54 PM
Daemon, if you know UWI at all, u will know they doh care one ass bout carnival, xmas or any other supposed 'relaxing' period of the year. i think the cut off date for the last exam is usually on the 23rd of dec :cool:

the big screen for dota should not be to bad if u do an 'obs' host. once the actual players nowhere close to thah screen ofcourse :p

oh, another question. if a team wants to send up more than 1 side. is there by chance any mechanism in place to keep them from playing each other in the earlies? have them in play each other in the later rounds (if they make it that far lol)..worth asking. :confused:

12-05-2006, 02:59 PM
Right so like, as for how we getting all dat money..NONE YUH DAMN BUSINESS..stueps

But we will have it, our main priority is to make sure we receive the money money if we dont we wont be holding the tourny, and since we sure we will be recieving the money the prize will not be affected by # of entries.

Personally i'd rather all yall java men stay home cuz i poor :)

Um, some more details, Xen SPartan is taking care of the Halo2 rules

Oh yeah and the Dota tournment will be taking place on day2 and 3 of the tourny cod will run on day 1 probably. SO dota player need only be there on the saturday and sunday (wheee, but ent school done, oh yeh men have work)

Not much else, we hope to get every damn person intereted in dota tekken halo w/e in this thing nationwide. And it will be alot more organized than arena was i ASSURE yall

One last dialemma is men wanting to participate is console games and PC at the same time.......That should be worked out soon though but atm it seem like people shouldnt be entering more than 2 tournaments, if they wish to enter more they should confer with us first

Oh and the dota is double elim eh, so every man get a second chance
haha yuh serious?? remember the last tournament allyuh help host??? people eh get they full prize up tuh frickin now and yuh go say none a we bizness?

lets just hope that yall have an idea how to run a tournament this time. glad to see that you are asking about rules and are listening this time tho.

if yuh listen then maybe things cud run smooth..i like that im not seeing one name in the handling of games issue...because in arena that person really messed stuff up.

but over all of the criticism which in my opinion is not unfounded the tournament sounds attractive. ill be in the country for the last day so ill check it out. if you pull it off kudos to you

Crixx_Creww
12-05-2006, 04:43 PM
While i dont have any details on who didnt receive their prize money from arena, since the people that i know that won events got their money, including me who won the naruto tourney.
This tourney is different, as we will not be hosting it if the prize money is not given to us up front and the sponsors know this, so they are making sure all money is handled up front.

The game freaks guys did the big fifa tourney thing in the malls and all that, so things should run smoothly.

An important question was asked about the possiblity of teams having to go up against their in house breathren.

Officially, we have discussed this and we all agreed that because of the randomisation that is going to take place, we are not going to tamper with any random team match ups that occur.

We are also going to make the randomisation fully viewable to the public for transperancy. So the admin machine that is running the tourney software is going to be in an area that one and all can see the team match ups.

12-05-2006, 06:52 PM
Crixx please understand that our concern is with just reasoning.

Should an event (lets say the cod) have few participants would the event still take place?

Would teams be refunded their money should an event fail?

MG
12-06-2006, 09:37 AM
hmm@ randomization and not placing anything to prevent same team clashes in the earlies. it is understandable though. as a solution, since it is double elimination, could u run a loser bracket? that way if the same clan clashes and one side takes a loss, they are still in the tourney and would only play a rematch in the later stages? ;)

see it kinda sucks to send up 2 sides (since we have 5 men and we would draft a 6th to make 2 teams) and have the possibility of knocking out yuh own team within the first few matches of the tourney ($180 down the drain)... :o

12-06-2006, 09:48 AM
Crixx please understand that our concern is with just reasoning.

Should an event (lets say the cod) have few participants would the event still take place?

Would teams be refunded their money should an event fail?

i saw that if they dont have 8 teams on the day,the prize money will drop significantly. they should get a refund..there were refunds at arena,so i assume yes

Mr Shooter
12-11-2006, 10:05 PM
So wats up wit this no more info, cuz on the Carigamers it aint have nuttin bout de rules or nuttin. Can Crixx_Creww and Co. plz keep this thread updated so intrested parties can be informed.

wildchild
12-13-2006, 10:13 PM
so at what time does this shin-dig start?? i see no time... i'm all goosebumps @ the cod :)
so what time does this start...

12-14-2006, 12:26 PM
d man say the dates r being pushed back

DGF
12-14-2006, 02:09 PM
anyone knows the time this is commencing? preferably the cod uo .:confused:

12-14-2006, 06:38 PM
Read the thread topic Frost, it is postponed.

Mr Shooter
12-15-2006, 07:32 PM
Honestly, why did we even take dese fellas serious? I wasted a lot of time organising for the big day and wat? STUEEPSSSSSSSS

I'm gonna say it again "dey need to stay far from me"........I jus love dat song Dr Evil kno wat he was sayin

Come Para start up de fire.........de Shooters want to come over and play.....:eek:

DGF
12-19-2006, 01:17 AM
Sunday 30th December... 2007

:confused:

coduo tourny......

im guessing subject to change?

MG
12-19-2006, 10:10 AM
bleh@ that date change on the website. :mad:

don't think i would be making that one. hopefully the rest of the team would be able to manage that date...though i kinda doubt it. :(

12-19-2006, 10:24 AM
any tourney i think that is scheduled this month will buss...good luck yes...i say january ftw but is not up to me...especially for JAVA tourney i doh think men up to playing any tourneys this month again..too mant things to do

is either it too close to christmas or it too close to new years