View Full Version : Vista its already leaked, Do you think piracy Significantly affect software developer

11-11-2006, 03:47 PM
this morning news from the inquierer leaked that a leaked copy of vista is out

not a few hours after a fricking crack is out

piracy pwns yes

11-11-2006, 05:56 PM
this morning news from the inquierer leaked that a leaked copy of vista is out

not a few hours after a fricking crack is out

piracy pwns yes

take from this thread i was wondering... most of the pirates are end users who already have personal computers. i personally think the real money comes from corporate buys... and also buying personal computers from authorized deals.. say for instance dell etc since you always need to purchase a operating system

11-11-2006, 06:48 PM
Nope.
I think it helps them out alot.
Gets the software out there faster and to a wider population.

11-12-2006, 12:26 PM
Not too significantly , in the 1st world where you'd get locked up for piracy they end up buying it anyway... In 3rd world countries where they can't afford the software, piracy is rampant , but they wasn't making sales anyhow.

11-12-2006, 04:11 PM
piracy is a crime u cant stop, like petty theft almost everyone did their crime.

reguarding to vista, ppl will indeed pirate this os even more,

1. vista is too expensive to buy, and spending this load of money to upgrade a system to use vista leave alot of ppl broke
2. upgrade to a system just to run specific apps, and to pay that load of cash is not cheap
3.ppl are too ignorant to look for other alternative os such as linux and bsd

11-12-2006, 04:54 PM
Of course it will! For starters, the cost of software would be lower if it was not pirated software(common sense will tell u why). Software devs will getmore money and so be inspired to write better code. Piracy is especially shameful in the gamin community. Men does be spending crazy money on hard ware and cah buy a legit copy of windows? Sometimes i wish them same men get stick with fake ASUS boards.
Now look at what microsoft do. jack up the cost of windows to offset the piracy impact. Larg OEMs will just pass on the cost to the consumer and so the majority of people will suffer. IF yuh cah afford it, there is plenty Opensourse software out there to to help u out.

11-12-2006, 08:24 PM
I think it does, but when it comes to developer, i lke the draw a line and seperate that title into two. The actual developer, and the business process. Why raise the price? A price increase only drives more people to pirate the thing. If things were a bit more affordable, more people would be willing to shell out for it. And from what i hearing, i don't think i wanna buy or use Vista, cuz i heard something about it draining graphics capability? What's meant by this? :confused:

11-12-2006, 10:53 PM
Windows Vista is a whole new operating system and a big part was a reworked graphic sub system. Basically, Vista has gone beyon the old days of treating the video card as just a frame buffer and began to use it more proactively. That said, the desktop now uses the GPU to free CPU cycles and so games that use the graphics card will take a hit "IF" the desktop and game are being rendered at the same time. This isn't a bad trade off since most people who can afford a multimonitor solution should also be able to afford better hardware to compensate.
Inflation has a inpact on OS prices as well. Windows prices have been realtively stagnante for the longes while so it time for a price hike. If poeple don't like it, well there is Linux which is free (along with all the problems that come with it). For those hard core men there is Free/Open BSD. And finally for the truely l33t, there is Minix ver3. Windows is a well supoorted, highly advanced, morden OS and thats what you pay for. If it was so bad, people would have switched a long time ago. The argument of MS bing an 800 lb gorilla is nonsense imho.

11-13-2006, 12:59 AM
actually i have made my move to opensource since the beginning of this year,
while this is a learning process, its not that hard

opensource has everysoftware that is avalible to use freely, infact i am going to switch 1 pc at a time my laptop is already changed to linux and i am loving it, now i still use windows in my mc because of gaming reasons

11-13-2006, 09:56 AM
which is the major concern for majority of people moving to open source... game support is a bitch...

also i think the people who pirate really cant afford originals as well therefor the developers wont be affected cuz they wasnt gettin the sale anyhow... for instance me i cant afford to purchase a copy of windows :(... and for the most part i cant afford to purchase games... but as soon as begin to rise in paygrade i will support developers by purchasing there stuff :)

NOTE this thread is not for if you think its wrong or right but if it affects developers

11-13-2006, 12:57 PM
Apple OSX ftw. I'm using tiger now n winblows vistuck cud salt cuz it can't compare.

n if i had to use vista for dx10 games well i'll guess dl it n use it only for gamin. nutting more.

11-13-2006, 03:13 PM
doobs u using ah mac, de hardware u pay for de mac with sort of cover yuh os

11-14-2006, 08:29 AM
i do all my professional work on the mac n it pays dividens in return by being stable n the os lets me work alot faster. the day winblows brings expose' i'll take a second look at it.

also osx comes with a ton of apps which increases its retail value.

now don't get me wrong i aint totally bashing windows cuz i use it daily also, (it does hav its uses) buh if i cud only hav one then osx ftw.

11-14-2006, 09:18 AM
how much u pay for that mac doh?... is it worth it?

11-14-2006, 02:00 PM
this mac cost me US$ 1800 but i use it for work so it paid 4 itself in 2 months easily.

btw if u want to knw, i do professional graphics wrk.

11-14-2006, 02:07 PM
Most of our artists/movie guys use alot of macs but they also got a PCs or 2 in minority for some reason.

11-14-2006, 02:43 PM
i hav my pc 4 de games solely
i was neva ah console man

11-14-2006, 02:45 PM
i totally agree with all teh grpahics guyz to get macs it works wonders but for an everyday user/business please stick with a pc

11-14-2006, 03:01 PM
I use the entire adobe creative suite
photoshop
illustrator
indesign
imageready
bridge

i hav it for both the mac and the pc
and trust me, they work a hell of alot better on the mac.
also the mac monitor shows everything brighter n clearer than my pc.

buh i guess its ah no brainer for graphics guys to choose ah mac over ah pc.

my nex goal is to get 2 x 30" mac monitors buh thas alot of dinero. might as well geh ah car fuss!

11-14-2006, 07:44 PM
Please don't get into a Mac vs PC debate.
No offence to Doobs, but the majority of Mac men i know fanatical and don't suscribe to reason.

Looks like this thread got hijacked...

11-15-2006, 01:49 AM
yeah sad :(

anyway back to vista short comings,

the release of vista is RTM (Release To Manufactor), and while searching is some 9down post ppl were successful in get ting vista activated, well with a rc hack, if there is no restictions on how i like to reformat every 4 months is not a bad choice to get vista

yes mofos buy the fricking software but i am having a feeling that even though gaming is not going to be that important to vista say for the next 3 years, as winxp will hold us till that day come where dx10 or by then dx11 is need to run games.

or better yet some guy decide to write a program to make dx1x workable and make a better wine emu for us idiots, or even more farfetched is that games start to support linux natively

pinch my self and heading back to sleep

btw MAC is a lovely system of graphics and video, other than that its another :(

11-15-2006, 08:15 AM
my last professor Feisal Mohammed used to get legit software from microsoft. so if u r a uwi student i'm sure u cud get a legit ver of vista for free.

musss geh dum uwi student to acuire it 4me.

11-18-2006, 07:35 AM
Decided to try it out to see how it looks.
http://img329.imageshack.us/img329/7830/untitledph6.th.jpg (http://img329.imageshack.us/my.php?image=untitledph6.jpg)http://img133.imageshack.us/img133/6681/untitledak8.th.jpg (http://img133.imageshack.us/my.php?image=untitledak8.jpg)

Woot! AeroGlass runs on a 7600gs and a 2GHz Opteron CPU XD. For some strange reason, the 64 bit version installed as 32 bit on this system. No one is exactly sure why this is happening