View Full Version : Where is gaming goin in T&T??

wildchild
10-24-2006, 10:34 PM
I've been reading a couple of threads to stimulate my mind a bit and i'm still a bit lost as to where gaming has reached in T&T. Are we, the community of Trinigamers, doing anything to weed out the "play for fun" gamers from the "i'm a true gamer"?

The reason why i'm posting this is just recently i came out of a dota game, i get good lix btw :D, but mid-way through the session i realized that this is not where i want my talents to be squandered into. Playin DotA all de time. I'm on a journey into the field of IT. But my potential lies within FPS games. At the moment i knw where i'm heading in IT but i don't want to spend all my time and life into that. I need to find worthy ppl to fight against again, otherwise i believe i'll be living a lie.

I knw i've been in the DotA scene a bit to long. It's been very difficult for me to get an adquate challenge honestly because no matter how much i try i can't get a serious FPS game. I keep coming across ppl who 'play 4 fun' and don't take my time seriously.

And those words keep on haunting me no matter what. "I play 4 fun". For a serious gamer as myself this makes me wanna scream. Either it be a DotA or a FPS or even a RTS i keep falling amongst these type of ppl.

Note i'm not bangin onto the DotA. It has taught me alot in terms of the team play, but what i'm really getting to is why are most sweats DotA based? Is there anything going on the FPS besides the CSS scraping past in T&T? I think this congestion of DotA is really killing the talents of the peeps such as myself and it's keeping this country back from making an impact on a Gamer level.

Cuz it seems that's all we talk about on Trinigamers. DotA, DotA, DotA! And i'm honestly sick of it! Is there anything in construction for a Quake3/4, UT2k4, Prey, or any FPS server?? I knw most men will say how those games i called aren't taking root but trust me when i say if we begin it men will come.

And if there is anyone out there who's willing to re-train me or at least see what i've got FPS wise plz reply. I feel so much like an unused sword.

10-24-2006, 10:41 PM
wild..
dsl ..mid range pc ..legit
thas the way to go
of course cafes are good sweats but mostly cmon who wanna sweat dota for a 12 hr sweat or some? :|

10-25-2006, 06:34 AM
I've been reading a couple of threads to stimulate my mind a bit and i'm still a bit lost as to where gaming has reached in T&T.

Note i'm not bangin onto the DotA. It has taught me alot in terms of the team play, but what i'm really getting to is why are most sweats DotA based? Is there anything going on the FPS besides the CSS scraping past in T&T? I think this congestion of DotA is really killing the talents of the peeps such as myself and it's keeping this country back from making an impact on a Gamer level.

I concur^

Cuz it seems that's all we talk about on Trinigamers. DotA, DotA, DotA! And i'm honestly sick of it! Is there anything in construction for a Quake3/4, UT2k4, Prey, or any FPS server?? I knw most men will say how those games i called aren't taking root but trust me when i say if we begin it men will come.

^- me too,but the body cant function well without the head

See link in my sig for Warhammer: 40,000 (a RTS). Used to play COD and COD 2 in java before it was killed by WoW. Other than that,sweat buss.

10-25-2006, 11:15 AM
wildchild you have some sense...i had tried before i left to see who was interested in playing more than the killers of all talenT(dotA and WOW) but people just too engulfed in it...i think what really needs to happen is s weeding the same way Trinigamers weeded SOF from the gaming diets of many

10-25-2006, 11:52 AM
Moving out of Trinidad on to the intl playground is indeed a task. Back when ppl played FT TGS under leadership of vlad/xwing we were able to reach neck and neck with some of the better ft clans, vipes retook leadership and did his 'pipsing' and we hit #1!!

It is unfortunate that we are limited to strategy based games, although FPS are playable foreigners have a huge ping advantage on us. There are however 'caribbean based' tourneys like vxg (vxg2kx) that provide room for us as Trinis to 'get out' of trinidad and represent. GBoyz was able to do that with CS 1.6!

Why cant we have a FPS server?? bandwidth is the key issue. TSTT is reluctant to legally sponser a FPS server or have one hosted with its bandwidth. I was told that the olympics were shot down by TSTT for 'free bandwidth' to host a WEBSITE, the TSTT official wished me luck with my attempts to have them host a game server. My hopes now lie with FLOW, they seem willing to bend.

Its a struggle to keep gamers on the right path and thats what TG is there for.. guidance. There are certain games that are just so well known and played on an intl level that we should take interest in it. CS (i still preachin source but 1.6 has the support of wcg even though its flawed), FT, UT2kX, COD. Unfortunately dota does have leagues and is in some form competitive and is an avenue for trinis to get out there as well.

WoW is not one of them!!!

I have tried to get our gosu local dota guys to play in such leagues but guess what.. they have wow raids or something else that interferes with the schedule of the league. Efforts are needed by both the players and the organization.

Find a game that you like within the 'gosu games' and focus your energy on that. I am trying to get CSS back in the mix, with WoW we have lost many good competitve gamers. Competitive gaming brings out the best possible gameplay from all persons involved.

Wild, I am deeply hurt when we are challenged in games like DoW and we have FPS gamers representing us... Where have all the players gone? We need more active positive gamers like you and less of the backbiting passive types. I got your PM and will act on it asap!

I am keeping a look out for guys like you that are willing to DO something and that have skill rather than complain that we are not playing their game or blame it on TG and its administration.

Something will be done to bring back FPS into the mix, I think we should all start by forming a common ground. DoW ain't going to cut it for many, we are slowly becoming a minority, we have to stand up and fight WoW!!

FPS FPS FPS FPS!!
REAL RTS, REAL RTS!

10-25-2006, 12:02 PM
Wild, I am deeply hurt when we are challenged in games like DoW and we have FPS gamers representing us...

What that supposed to mean? :confused: So men should stick to one genre and not attempt to diversify then?

10-25-2006, 12:09 PM
console console console...

wildchild
10-25-2006, 12:10 PM
TSTT is reluctant to legally sponser a FPS server or have one hosted with its bandwidth.Why is this? Is it becasue they don't see gaming as a important endeveour to enrich a new and growing sport in T&T? If so what can we do to make them see that it's finanically beneficial to them? Because i think this is what they were looking at if we were denied.

We've got to find some way to show them that "hey, these org that are taking part in this new cyber sports in T&T are getting alot of attention because of their sponsership. Mabye we should get piece of this pie."

I knw something like this is mostly far-fetched to some of you because of strife between gamers+g@tt, i don't knw the full details. But i knw that because of what happened ALOT of gamers suffered. From poor recognization to them giving it up because they could attain nothing from it.

But i'm straying. To somehow get TSTT on the bandwagon to sponsor a server we've got to show them some of the strong points of doing so. I knw the list at the moment is small because all org haven't united yet, but i believe that when that day comes all the doors that were once closed to us will be opened.

I really wish the strife would end. I think that's where the root of all our problems are kept.

10-25-2006, 12:20 PM
wildchild,i think the problem lies within Trinidadians themselves. Gaming in Trinidad will NEVER go international because the AVERAGE trinidadian gamer is closed minded.

wildchild
10-25-2006, 12:45 PM
Gaming in Trinidad will NEVER go international because the AVERAGE trinidadian gamer is closed minded.Ask yourself, why have they become closed minded? Do you think if being a Gamer was more recognized and not pushed as a whisper amongst corridors in T&T they would become close minded? Do you think if one game was allowed total domination among ALL OTHERS they would become close minded?

As i said b4 and i'm sticking to it. Once we pass the stirfe, it'll be better.

10-25-2006, 01:50 PM
oh why does this seem like an argument going on for years now.
:S

the problem is trini's will argue about oh they want this and that as a server but like all hobbies and competative things

IT AINT CHEAP BEING A GAMER BUCKO
alot of the seasoned veterans have "legitimacy" on there side we are a pirated and over priced country there as 500 dollars for a copy of quake 4 which goes for 20 us online and STILL men will argue that is too expensive. It's like a double edged sword men argue GAMING IS GOING NOWHERE... yet what? WHAT? is it going anywhere we have a wide variety of cafes yes they are not as high end as we WOULD like them to be but of course! every #$@#%$@# cafe only has dota dota and more dota ....the few proficient gamers have gone as i preach before legit and online im in my third season of quake 4 clanfare.
now plz if we have to do anything encourage certain things into the diet of our remaining serious gamers..

first do we even have anyone to talk to in tstt? hell last time i saw it arena 1 helped DISCOURAGE tstt from gaming

10-25-2006, 01:54 PM
Console!!
One thing i must admit, the console guys keep their house in order. RB, Fault, Imperial, they know their stuff and dont get carried away with the crap. I wish I could take up console gaming serious, like in 1 good game :)

No offense meant andro, we should have some rts gosus in there training you all. There are something an RTS gamer or plain ole gosu can detect to help with your development. Our RTS crew gone.

TSTT is a pack of pressure, I love them don't get me wrong. DSL ftw!! but you seem to have to be big in the dance to get a cut of local bandwidth. A close friend of mine was doing some relations to get us this hook up, he like most IT guys stuck and havn't heard from him since. He is a busy dude.

Andro is right, most trinis dont want to make the effort to move to a new game because of fear that they may not good in it. Time is also a factor for many of the older heads like myself. So long now i said I will take up COD but I havn't even installed the game.

Being realistic the reason why dota is so big in TnT is that its playable online and has built of our once solid FT community. Hamanchi is great but its lacking in many respects, i think GGC is a better avenue for community gaming.

WoW is extremly addictive, SoF2 has nothing on it.. We need rehab for these guys and I am serious. Dota gets boring and players with skill will get fed up of it soon enough. I can play 3 games of dota back to back but I cant do so with FT. FT is a work out, dota is for fun.

10-25-2006, 01:58 PM
no para the reason why dota is so big in trini
it can run on almost anyones pc.. is 56k friendly and is pirately free ^_^

10-25-2006, 02:06 PM
I think gaming in Trinidad is HUGE but unfocused. I've talked to a few of the guys from other countries in the caribbean and we have infrastructure (Gaming orgs, gaming cafes) that they can only dream of. I not saying that we're not completely and totally sticking BUT we are better of than most. It's in the palm of our hand yet we can't even close our little finger on it.

DotA is good. It's baseline gaming. Probably the closest thing to what Starcraft used to be some years back. As long as it builds a larger gaming community it's all good. You can't play DotA forever.

Bottom line? We need more help harnessing this as an organisation.

10-25-2006, 03:17 PM
No offense meant andro, we should have some rts gosus in there training you all. There are something an RTS gamer or plain ole gosu can detect to help with your development. Our RTS crew gone.

I highly doubt there was anything they could teach us. Warhammer forces u to learn to micro (especially micro) and macro management else u dead.

10-25-2006, 04:57 PM
The same forces that prevent you from being #1 in DoW on the intl scene are the same forces that the gosu RTS guys can help you with. If we hail out ole man Neon (mani bro) he could probably do a thing or 2 to help the DoW community. Its not an insult, we can all learn from the better players.

GATT Vs TG? There is no more gatt in my eyes, I have attended gatt tourneys and welcomed gatt members to the sweat with us. I do however throw the 'gatt not hard' line out and I am afraid that if we keep with this dota thing longer we will become soft as well.

Scar issued some nice words.

10-25-2006, 05:54 PM
We haven't played DOW internationally yet,still yet to play the Barbadians.I wasn't taking it as an insult,just that it has no bearing at all in the argument. A WC3 man CAN NOT tell me how to play DoW. That's like me saying i could teach you a thing or 2 in CSS cuz im good at COD

10-25-2006, 07:35 PM
I think gaming in Trinidad is HUGE but unfocused. I've talked to a few of the guys from other countries in the caribbean and we have infrastructure (Gaming orgs, gaming cafes) that they can only dream of. I not saying that we're not completely and totally sticking BUT we are better of than most. It's in the palm of our hand yet we can't even close our little finger on it.

DotA is good. It's baseline gaming. Probably the closest thing to what Starcraft used to be some years back. As long as it builds a larger gaming community it's all good. You can't play DotA forever.

scar is right...in st maarten the press there was amazed at our site and how we have gaming organisations etc in trinidad. we even got some free press in their newspapers saying that we are an extremely organised gaming community etc...

hopefully with FLOW we can get the international connectivity we need

10-25-2006, 11:17 PM
i still waiting for alyuh to beef back up de online scenes such as counter strike source

but i does hardly hear alyuh again, we have members with keys for so

then again forget it

rampage
10-28-2006, 04:49 PM
Well let me just say this....
5 yrs ago, using "dialup/no bw" was a really good excuse for not playing FPS games. If it was used back then, then it would have been really understandable.

But now, with DSL, there is absolutely no reason (unless you don't have DSL) why you shouldn't be playing FPS games. Let me further break this down for you. I'll use TriniTaku channel as a base.
Out of the average 25 of so people that regularly visit us to talk shit, about 80% of them have DSL. There are VERY few exceptions, mainly androsovic and ck who doesn't have DSL. They will probably get it shortly. But other than that, the rest on DSL.

Now if 80% of them men on dsl, that mean 80% of them could play both FPS+RTS, and 20% could play just RTS. What does this mean? It means, there is no excuse for no FPS servers. No excuse for the RTS only(Dota) scene that taking place.

And i'll go even further now to break into another point. Back in GATT, I had someone host some servers, infact, i had several people host servers. Listen to what i just say, "people". Notice i didn't say business, i didn't say company, and i didn't say corporation, i also didn't say "ISP". This means that a single DSL user is capable of hosting an FPS server and can successful hold at least 4-5 DSL gamers depending on the FPS. Lithiyum/Kheulith/whatever you want to call him, at times hosted 8+ people in FPS games. You don't need an ISP to run a server, if this is an excuse...then i can simply laugh.

Back when we use to play HALO online in GATT, we had well over 8 men at a time playing. Even with me in canada an all. Boy i sure do miss those days. Luckily those who played with us, had the time of their lives, is something none of them will forget. So again...what is the real reason for no FPS gaming online in Trinidad? it surely isn't bandwidth. It surely isn't the ability to host a server. Exactly what is the reason? I know the reason, but I not going to say, and is not because i on some "lil boyz" scene.

There are those among us who are pushing over 64KB/S, with that kind of bandwidth you can serve at least 6 people in an FPS game. In Trinidad, when playing FPS online, you WILL get under 60 ping. And this is quite GOOD for fps gaming. Hell, 150ping an all is good stuff. Is a simple matter of organizing the scene properly, don't bother with foreign server, get a local one. No need for some ISP to host it, get someone to do it, or if you know someone at work, ask them to host one. Businesses pushing 1.5mbit an thing now, quite a few actually. And majority of the time, they only utilize some of the download bandwidth, the upload bandwidth is free (needed for serving games, etc). This means that they are very well capable of hosting a server.

8-10 people in FPS may seem really small, but it sure as hell is a start, from there you can get multiple server locations, or relationships with businesses who are willing to let you host a game server by them, after all, it not going to affect their producitivity level. 50ping to each other is real good sweat, and it quite capable with a locally hosted server. Once it local, dialupers can join in the sweat, hell i use to be on dialup with mindless and we use to go on foreign servers and play some serious quake. We was clocking 200ping an all, and still had some good fun.

And as Scar said, Trinidad gaming scene is much better when compared to other islands, but it is way more disorganized and unfocused. Who is to blame for the disorganization and lack of focus? I would not say, not because i on a "lil boyz" scene.

Move forward people, we (well those with me back in GATT) was once at a time where we had some serious fps sweats going on during the day, in the night, all hours. Real good stuff. We could move forward even more now as more people have DSL. All it takes is a strategy. Do some surveys, look at the % of those that have DSL, and i'm pretty sure you would see that it within the 80% range. Try to picture for a minute in your mind....all the DSL fellas who play DOTA, actually playing a FPS game, let's use quake for instance. You know what that going to do to Trinidad there?

We competition level will increase tenfold, skills will boost significantly, We could send men quakecon, to represent trinidad, is no longer about representing a particular organization, i.e GATT, TG, VG, TUG, etc. There are barriers as to who are welcomed in different cafes, eg: if para was to go in baego cafe, he may not feel comfortable. But there are no barriers when it come to online gaming. If a man want to remain hidden, he just hadda change his nickname, and he hidden for life. We could all sweat together, knowing fight not going to break out, and baego not going to try and break a bottle over my head, etc.

TG is very capable of bringing a serious FPS scene into Trinidad eh, but certain things holding back the movement. Guess who/what?

...I need to shorten my messages yes, koolaid time.

10-28-2006, 07:27 PM
Was talking to pweffy, the other night... we are both thirsting for some fps and looking to try and revive ut2k4 for now because we know we go get some people who will want to play it...

I miss my css.. still open up steam to play online a bit with some friends from canada...

I miss my fps.. even though i rel pounding wow.. that get cut down now with school... and i find myself looking for some fps action :)..

Dizz
10-29-2006, 10:56 AM
Who woulda ever thought Executiona would have been right all along when he was bad talking d dota playing and ting when we see him in java i use to laugh and say what a big mc now d man prophecy come to pass WOW AND DOTA totally shut down the other games them other games gathering up dust in dey now. I havent been to java in months so i in know if tings change or not but i go hadda wait till this WOW ting cool down so i could come back. I actually wish SOF came back in style instead ah dis dota dota ting now.

10-29-2006, 11:30 AM
I actually wish SOF came back in style instead ah dis dota dota ting now.

Lawd have mercy! Hard times are upon us :eek::eek::eek:

10-31-2006, 12:18 AM
wow is hellova ting, like coke or crack, men lost all signs of life

we need WOW rehab centers now, first we take de pc and FORMAT em, then start dem back off slow, like windows solitere, then minesweep move em up easy

if all fails, there is always embedded shockers :D

loki when u playing cs:s hola!!!!

11-02-2006, 08:50 PM
i could actually do with some source myself. i like reality based fps like that, cod, and sof to a lesser extent =/
the dota and wow ting real leaving me and gamers like myself in a drought. having to learn to play dota if we wanna go to a GL and play someting :(

11-15-2006, 06:43 AM
well there are 2 tournaments coming up very soon, a CVS2 tourney and a CODuo toruney, i think this hsows there actually are people trying to a good foot foward in competitive gaming.

wildchild
11-17-2006, 09:41 AM
Really?

When? where? how? who? :D

I in DAT!!!

11-17-2006, 09:43 AM
see tournament forum....

11-17-2006, 03:20 PM
well there are 2 tournaments coming up very soon, a CVS2 tourney and a CODuo toruney, i think this hsows there actually are people trying to a good foot foward in competitive gaming.

I am glad to see other bodies aiding in the move to promote gaming. If each org/body puts out 3 gaming tourneys a year it adds up to an event each month. Its a unified effort for the country.

11-17-2006, 03:45 PM
i plan on entering almost any tourney that is announced by either org, asl ong as it isn't CSS or Dota. do know more than 2 dota heroes, and cannot adapt to source.

12-25-2006, 05:56 PM
I think gaming in Trinidad is HUGE but unfocused.

I fully agree with this statement scar, gaming in Trinidad has grown significantly over the past 5 years, however, we will never head anywhere because MOST Trinidadians spend most of their gaming time in GLS ( gaming locations) on dota,sof2 and WoW. IT annoys me to see this.Even The Barbadian gaming community, which is FARR smaller than our community and do not have the same level of infrastructure,is more focused terms of which direction they want to head towards in terms of gaming, and to an extent, take gaming more serious than us,

ENT?

vote me for admin! >.<

12-25-2006, 07:34 PM

vote me for admin! >.<

http://img209.imageshack.us/img209/1961/roflcoptermz2.gif

12-31-2006, 01:44 PM
Its true , we have everything but no direction . A big problem for PC gaming in general i think is hardware and know how , and lack of leadership. Plenty GLs in arima has competant hardware , but they don't even install video drivers for their Geforce FX 5200s , causing them to lag even in warcraft .
Unlike elsewhere , the GLs are not run by gamers, but by would be businessmen looking to make a buck. The cafe in Trincity is a good example ,'virtual zone' , shitty pcs , high prices , no one hardcore to lead the pack. Men there still sweating Sof2 and Jedi knight.

Besides that you have alot of scampish businesses looking to sell 'computa' , overpricing outdated parts , improper software , leaving people helpless for gaming. Even if someone looks to ''upgrade'' their system , they end up like my brother, buying a low end card (GFX5200 64bit, 800 3dmark 03) for the price of a mid range one and thinking it go wuk .

I tried awhile ago to start a gaming clan among my group of friends , but it was a mess. I was the only one with any technical skill and DSL , the rest of them had PCs with Celerons and integrated graphics . Apart from that and the lack of respect i got , it just fell through .

About hosting FPS servers with DSL : The trouble is getting men to play! Awhile ago i used to do a Halo server on my own DSL , only 1 or 2 men used to join , made no sense , too many n00bs that were helpless, all the hardcore men moving on .
Local servers ideally should be for men without the legit copy of the game or DSL , but the problem after that lies in distributing your 'proper' hacked version, everyone will have a ghetto copy that most likely won't work with yours , and few people will have the competance to install the crack properly etc.

I also tried to get in contact with the .... lol... MINISTRY OF EDUCATION... yall can guess how that ended . The idea was to promote gaming like they promote chess and scrabble.

I guess our main problems are : Technical , and leadership. We have the resources but not enough time to teach people to use them , not enough respect either , can't expect me to go up to the big hardback Cafe admin and tell him he doing his job wrong .

Consoles are a ray of hope i guess , we ought to work harder in that segment.

01-10-2007, 09:01 PM
Well i cant say i have lost faith in gaming locally at all, We still have alot to develop but what im getting into here are the serious issues we face and that this is the harsh truth trinidad and tobago may never be a serious gaming force?
Why did we join trinigamers?
To make a difference in the community and show them our talents in cyber sports. To make a pastime for everyone that is enjoyment and well brought competition, to meet ppl like ourselves who range from the lite gamers to the medium gamers to the hardcore gamers.
I cant blame any individual for i am one of the guilty ones myself. We have the potential, alot of effort has been put into gaming i am sure in the past and because of sour instances before i myself even joined gatt or tg cafes are just layaway?. The sportsmanship of gamers dont get me wrong im a sour apple myself but i think we should all know by now that this attitude we have about who is hard and w/e shit talk comes about is not relevant .. and no sir im not on any lil boyz scene or hating on ppl. I myself dont have the resources to run a cafe or anything of that sort but what can we the normal men that try there thing try a little innovation speak now and again do?.
As for the big dota thing.. man i love dota eh i really love playing this game but can we not see that this game by itself leads to us not getting any of our hotguys and i mean we have ALOT of talented men in trinigamers from shining in other games this goes for wow as well im not blaming the staff or anything actually if you look at it. We all are to blame cause we argue that this is never gonna happen and it never does! thats the point.
Piracy is also to blame at hand men always wanna play more than one game at once or get "gosu" in all, its not possible kiddo you ever see fatal1ty pwn grubby in war3?.
Im just saying that if these men chanting about things here are serious take a roll get on the tg flow we need all the help we can to actually get this gaming force back untop.