View Full Version : Vista!!! will it work???
10-18-2006, 11:46 AM
as a gaming organisation, we deal with heavy gaming from newest games to the newest hardware, but the newest OS is always hardly a option to pick upon.
with RC of vista out for ppl to fool around with, we test everyting out. :D
pretty nice os with eye candy galore, running at ah merely ok speed.:(
screw all that now, we need to get some important info such as "how meh games go run with this mc"
sad enough, if we needed 64bit gaming vista will be the flick, if not STAY with xp,
vista is like me on ah buffet line, eatting away everyting u see, it hug and suck down resources like no tomorrow,
throw in a game like BF2142, lol, it takes forever to load and i got a error saying i out of ram, Nintendo DS FTW!!!!, well while BF2142 load :P
now this is the best part, i started to laugh, with vista u are allowed to change 5 hardware during the life time of vista install, no sorry no reinstalls.
i know it have some ppl who does know dey windows key by heart now because of the reinstall of windows
so will microsoft new vista will appeal to games and hardcore pc enthusiast??
10-18-2006, 12:55 PM
looks like vista even more overhyped than winxp :o
but say what,winxp ftw,vista gonna haul,most of the games that gonna be vista only coming for next gen consoles,might as well get one of those and save the hassle
10-18-2006, 02:23 PM
XP is/was acutally a boon to us gamers. Windows 2000 (back then the most stable MS os) was the 'shit' to play games on, however I had alot of driver issues back then.
XP was compatible like a mofo, drivers like waw and loaded pretty fast. I don't think vista will provide anything extra for gamers at this point.
10-18-2006, 05:55 PM
Vista will open a whole era of stability. What most people don't realise is that every since WinNT, MS has been drifting towards more of a micro kernel approch to OS design. Vista it has take this design 1 step closer by moving most drivers out of kernel space to the user space. Imagine having the video driver crash on you and restarted with out having to exit the game! That possible with vista. As far as Vista as a resource hog goes, it not all that bad. Memory usage is up becuase the OS uses all free memory as disk cache but will free it on demand. That good imho because there is no good reason to have RAM sitting idle. When comes to games. Microsoft has now reach the point where they can demand hardware manufactures to meet their OS design and not the other way around. This could be good and bad. Bad as in MS is now taking control of PC evolution but Good because that now can have better hardware utlization with software. DX 10 is a prime example of it. Old games have taken a hit. From what i've seen, Q4 almost unplayable on RC2 (possible driver issue), HL2 is playable but just, WC3 runs normal but that eh an instensive game. Duke Nuke 3d refuse to run @ all cost. I eh try nothing else yet, but i'll say this. Its cool to swap to ur desktop in the middle of a dota game and still view the game in real time on the task tray. I was even able to run WC3 in a window , flip it, spin it, do all kida shit to it. Playing Hero siege upside down does give a head ache but daz a small price to pay for awe factor of being able to do it in real time.
i played wc3 on rc2 and didnt crash...
not even the critical error 132... (not saying that it fixed, but it just didnt happen) to me i saw no noticable difference, but according to all the tests i've seen done on vista playing games, 5-10 fps lower is expected.
bourbon_sensei
10-26-2006, 12:51 PM
The features of Vista next to DX10 will make gaming so much more comfortable, I mean, you could talk to a bird on msn and still not sell the first blood, thats so sexy.
10-26-2006, 03:17 PM
ellaborate on that feature? is that an extension of MSN messenger or something?
10-26-2006, 03:43 PM
ellaborate on that feature? is that an extension of MSN messenger or something?
i think u can minimize and ur wc3 will still be displayed in realtime in a mini window