View Full Version : TEkken ftw......
10-16-2006, 08:55 PM
any 1 for tekken down south? lookin for some competition!! playin 4 fun basically...
10-17-2006, 08:49 PM
no challenges, all u ppl scared of some competition of jus fed up ah it?
10-18-2006, 12:01 AM
...... weak tekken 5 here bring
Imperial_X
10-29-2006, 03:27 PM
I used to play this. How about you organize to come up to java and we'll play.
10-29-2006, 10:37 PM
:( java u say, how i gettin there, i from south, sorry.. i neva been 2 java before 2..hhhmmmmmmm:confused: :confused:
10-30-2006, 02:26 PM
ways allyuh make tekken 5 sound real old and buss
10-30-2006, 02:33 PM
i aint know bout old but the buss more than welcome to fit in the statement :D
Well antics u know iam a tekken player so lets see how good u realy are anytime jus cheq cool oh ya i doh play for FREE
11-05-2006, 09:15 PM
well it is old and buss imo
tekken 5 on ps2 = 2 game versions behind what being played competitively might soon be 3 versions with tekken 6 around the corner (who really gonna buy a ps3 for all of us to play it on ?)
11-06-2006, 06:57 AM
check my brother he savin for dat before prices come out and all
11-06-2006, 08:55 AM
Fault and showtime were also saying that T5 buss because 'you can button smash and win'
the Only fighter i play and it turns out to be the dota of fighters.
Imperial_X
11-06-2006, 04:57 PM
I never thought I'd see the day when I'd defend Tekken. That whole button smash and win philosophy was, is and always will be bullshit. Against any idiot with a bare bones understanding of how the game works can beat ANY button masher. Ever tried mashing out of a ten string after getting hit from the first attack?
If you haven't then the result is always near death if not outright death. Mashing gives the other guy an opportunity to get something that any Tekken player worth his salt wants. That is the counter hit. Ultimately they all want to win but counter hits are a good means to securing that end.
I do agree however that the game is old compared to the newer versions of it that have been out for months.
*end of blasphemy
Jin, I see you're quite willing to throw it all out there. How about we play then?
12-04-2006, 11:39 PM
X u aint kno jin or wat man is ah star in tekkken, doh make joke eh.. man does duss me out, but know how long i aint play dat wheyzzzz. cause d damn arcade game knobs neva working.. that does rel vex me.... thats y tekken sweat buss down south, arcades r not well managed, except 4 d mall.. man i pawn in d mall..
Imperial_X
12-08-2006, 10:31 AM
A star tekken player? Better yet, come my way. I'll start playing this again if he or you crawl out of the woodwork. I can assure you of a different experience.
For all I know I probably played him before anyway but you never know. Polish your art and cry war....
camrachI
04-11-2007, 10:34 AM
Seeing as I've now renetered the realm of the Sony Playstation, I will undoubtedly be taking my dusty old gloves that have been hanging on the hook for almost two years now, and jumping back in. So I think it's safe to say that I have some say in the matter;
I never thought I'd see the day when I'd defend Tekken. That whole button smash and win philosophy was, is and always will be bullshit. Against any idiot with a bare bones understanding of how the game works can beat ANY button masher. Ever tried mashing out of a ten string after getting hit from the first attack?
If you haven't then the result is always near death if not outright death. Mashing gives the other guy an opportunity to get something that any Tekken player worth his salt wants. That is the counter hit. Ultimately they all want to win but counter hits are a good means to securing that end.
I do agree however that the game is old compared to the newer versions of it that have been out for months.
*end of blasphemy
Jin, I see you're quite willing to throw it all out there. How about we play then?
Imperial is right. This trini-perpetuated stigma of tekken being a button masher is total and utter filth! I've never seen anyone button mash "the so-called king of button mashability" Eddie Gordo's full 10 hit string with sucess. In fact button mashing can totally kill the fun of any match because it does nothing but leave the button masher totally open to get "pwnt". A simple sway back, counter, or sidestep = certain destruction.
I'm still drawing blanks as to why tekken has gotten such a nasty reputation for all the wrong reasons. It hurts me inside :(
04-11-2007, 10:41 AM
well... first time i play tekken (tekken 2 or 3 i think) i thought it was utter nonsense lol... so i dunno
04-11-2007, 10:47 AM
nah man phoenix you dont like it??....well i can see y also cause im not a teken fan an never played it in the arcade only recently i i played it on my ps2 so i got the hang of some stuff....plus it was teken 4.....so take a try on something a bit better an then pass judgement......
Imperial_X
04-12-2007, 02:10 AM
nah man phoenix you dont like it??....well i can see y also cause im not a teken fan an never played it in the arcade only recently i i played it on my ps2 so i got the hang of some stuff....plus it was teken 4.....so take a try on something a bit better an then pass judgement......
I'm with phoenix. I don't like tekken at all, but as fighting game, T5 deserved a thumbs up. I mean it made the hardcore tekken agnostic that I am, able to play that installment without vomiting religiously.
Anyway, I'm looking for new challengers as a reason to pick this game up again. I had some annoyingly frustrating times with this game that I want to relive. Anyone up to beat me in my glaring rustiness?
camrachI
04-12-2007, 12:31 PM
I'm with phoenix. I don't like tekken at all, but as fighting game, T5 deserved a thumbs up. I mean it made the hardcore tekken agnostic that I am, able to play that installment without vomiting religiously.
Anyway, I'm looking for new challengers as a reason to pick this game up again. I had some annoyingly frustrating times with this game that I want to relive. Anyone up to beat me in my glaring rustiness?
I'm really at the point where I can't see anything but people hating on tekken just to hate on it.
Sure VF is the goat, no disputing that, sega got the CD on point, better than any fighting game before or after, but it's a boring ass game. It has ZERO flash! NONE! I've never seen a fighting game that lacks charisma as much as VF does.
Then there's Soul Calibur II, which is kick ass in almost everyway, but it lacks that viagra factor. Everyone will rave about it none stop for two months, then it falls off completely and it's like it never existed.
But then there's Tekken, it has it's cons, but it also has it's pros. The fighting engine is on point, the storyline is whack (but what fighting game's storyline isn't? :() and it has that charisma, almost all the characters are interesting and unique. It may not be the best, but when it comes to what makes a good fighting game, it's balanced.
Why hate like this?
04-12-2007, 01:13 PM
i ent hating for 1.
cuz i is a gamer... and give any game a try... however
after playein tekken 2/3 (whichever 1 it was) it just did not appeal to me...
i think it was 2.... then when 3 come out... i give that a try to... still didnt work for me....
i guess i hadda try 5 since it seems to be the best of the tekkens... maybe it really is THAT good... but we'll see
Ent @ who going to buy a PS3. Tekken 6 could be big, but where the PS3s? Whoever has one probably not going to be willing to bring it down for an event.
camrachI
04-12-2007, 02:35 PM
Ent @ who going to buy a PS3. Tekken 6 could be big, but where the PS3s? Whoever has one probably not going to be willing to bring it down for an event.
Blah! Don't BS, you know damn well if a modchip comes out today and someone starts pirating games for PS3, everyone and their grandma is gonna be buying them shits like it's hot cakes no matter the cost.:rolleyes:
04-12-2007, 03:40 PM
um no they won't, the price of a blue ray blank + burner + time to download will send prices down here as high as the original. Thats not counting the cost of installing a modchip.
omg this thread still up lawd an btw who i hav 2 blow 2 get a ps3 2 play tekken 6
04-12-2007, 08:48 PM
the whole of namco seeing as how the game isnt out yet
camrachI
04-13-2007, 11:48 AM
um no they won't, the price of a blue ray blank + burner + time to download will send prices down here as high as the original. Thats not counting the cost of installing a modchip.
Lol. That wasn't the case when PSone was released in the country, nor dreamcast. People cried, but they found the money to pirate.
You may say the cost is a bit higher now, but at the same time, it's also a different time. Works out the same situation as far as I can see.
I thought people bought pirated games from "nanans" ?
04-13-2007, 12:35 PM
like my PS2 I think the mod chip would make it possible to copy the game image to a harddrive and have the game run of that. No need to burn the game off although you can.
04-13-2007, 12:40 PM
but the size of hdd u will have to get for those bd's ... pressure...
camrachI
04-13-2007, 01:47 PM
but the size of hdd u will have to get for those bd's ... pressure...
It comes with a 60GB HDD, you can also put in a larger HDD if you wish, most of the information on BD game discs are garbage or double data, no game has even come close to using the capacity of the disc.
whiplash
03-07-2008, 09:24 AM
any body here interested in a wooping? Tekken 5
03-07-2008, 03:07 PM
wgipash i can remember if i saw you put ur psn tag up on the list but ill play you in tekken 5 dr online....PS im real shitty tho
whiplash
03-07-2008, 03:10 PM
online boi? What bout a arcade or sum. I dont have a ps3.
03-07-2008, 04:00 PM
sourrrrrr...i not in d contry
whiplash
03-10-2008, 11:07 AM
Great kull. What u say about this saturday at trincity?
heh, dyin for a wooping, whiplash..jes not trincity..sorry
any chance goin further down the map?
btw trincity prolly has d shittest stick i've played
heh, dyin for a wooping, whiplash..jes not trincity..sorry
any chance goin further down the map?
btw trincity prolly has d shittest stick i've played
^^
yeh wut he said
even though i sukkk i dont mind playing someone new
03-13-2008, 08:55 AM
dem men is be freakin tekken in java.. right thru. 24/7 -_-
whiplash
03-13-2008, 09:33 AM
no probs ppl.This sat at java? Let me know..I can bring my custom stick if u guys want.
03-13-2008, 01:59 PM
Im suprised you guys doh go and play analyst...if allyuh looking for a good tekken game play him.Nuff said
whiplash
03-13-2008, 02:57 PM
where analyst dey? leh we organise sumtin
03-13-2008, 06:08 PM
No way shep gonna go back to normal Tekken 5, that much is certain.
New Era Outlaw
04-10-2008, 11:52 AM
No way shep gonna go back to normal Tekken 5, that much is certain.
I've always meant to ask you this, Geese....where in Trinidad do you guys play DR? I haven't been around much, but I haven't seen anywhere offering the game.
04-10-2008, 12:08 PM
Most of the tekkenites that have ps3 will be playing DR. The town crew has totally moved across.
where is jin i am dying to see this star in action :eek:
mokofig
06-30-2008, 10:31 AM
lol @ jin if u dont play for free we could play a money match how much u willing to lose?