View Full Version : Your favourite under 500 DotA item?
This isn't a "starting items" thread but similar in many ways. A lot of people overlook the smaller items in the game and the advantages they bring.
If I left out any, let me know.
10-07-2006, 09:56 AM
Scar jus want help with his early dota game start and make dis lil thread to cover it up :p
10-07-2006, 10:09 AM
back when I actually used to play dota and used sven, gauntlets and boots of speed was the main items.
10-07-2006, 11:37 AM
These small items, though somewhat weak compared tot he rest in dota, are essential to a early game hero, eg bracers greatly help low hp heros from nukes, and items such as tangos and clarity potions, though underused are a extremely great way to keep from returning to base and losing that precious early game exp
10-07-2006, 04:17 PM
stout shield is super imba , its better than armour as it works against poison and spells that do normal/damage over time . Two of them on axe early game + ring , = gg
10-07-2006, 09:57 PM
branch ftw!:cool: ..........
10-08-2006, 10:55 AM
Ring of Basilus and iron wood combined to me makes the best early game items but since we taking bout beast item under 500, it hada be Basilus. That ring just plain ole imba. It protects ur creeps a little longer so that you can get the last hit on the enemy creep and still have time to creep deny. It also adds +3 to all stats i think. the bouns armo and mana regen is good to. the ironwood good to since u can tank up for cheap and lime till lvl 7 wihout have to make a trip back to base. When time to buy better itmes, yuh doh feel as hard to sell the iron wood also. FYI, in an -ar, you can buy the ring of Basilus and 5 ironwood (yes all 6 slots filled), yet still have time to run with first wave of creeps.
I agree @ the basilus + five ironwood for heroes that do mana/cast attacks or have healing spells. Definitely not for everyone but works wonders on some. Perfect for Enchantress.
boots on omniknight = first blood on level 2.....
10-08-2006, 06:03 PM
rob ftw, dont forget the early bonus armor
10-08-2006, 11:14 PM
i say baillus ftw. i say ring ah regen cause it help regen an doh hadda go home an loose out exp. in the early game. i say deny creeps ftw....
hmm i depen more on an next person for baillus i buy a foul and a lil ring of regen
and then take it from there or if is a intell a lil sobi mask does cut.
mysticalears
01-25-2007, 10:10 AM
Stout shield IMO is overrated, but hey, I put a Manta on Naix, so don't be quick to take advice form me ^_^ But, unto the question. Hmmm, my choice for best under 500 item? Personally, ROB gets my vote, very good item, good for almost ANY hero (well, except Naix) Followed by Robe of the Magi, namely because it can be turned into the Uber Gosu weapon..Mantastyle! (wow this is super biased and totally opinionated, but I think the starter of the thread wanted some opinions to be interjected)