View Full Version : Gimme the lowdown on the iPod...

09-19-2006, 09:14 PM
...because I know a few of you in here probably have experience with it.

I thinking of buying one for two particular reasons: I want to listen to the music I have on my computer, and I want to use it as a portable HD.

So tell me if it can do what I want it to do.

Firstly, do I need to buy songs from iTunes, or can i just upload my own mp3s from my machine?

Secondly, how practical is it to use as portable storage for non-mp3 files? Say I have a folder with some tv episodes, some movies, a iso or two, and some comics, and I want to drop it off by a partner. Will it work like any portable HD? This is important to me because it will help me decide whether I want a standard-size iPod or a smaller size. If I can only use it for music, I would never need more than a few gigs.

I saw something about not being able to drag music from the iPod to your computer. Is that only purchased music, or any mp3 file at all?

What about battery life? How do you recharge it?

And sound quality through them head/earphones...how is it?

Well that's basically it. I hope alyuh have all de answers.:)

09-20-2006, 10:08 AM
u can upload your own mp3 and dont have those DRM crap

second yes u can use it like a hdd, but u have to walk with de cable

third no u cannot drag music in to the ipod and play it, u need itunes to upload it, but dont ever let itune search your mp3 drive/folder

battery life is good, say about 4-6hrs of nonstop play on a nano

it sound just as clean u would get it from your pc, earplugs are high quality and sounds great but can get damaged easy

09-20-2006, 10:56 AM
but dont ever let itune search your mp3 drive/folder

Thanks for the answers, but what happens if you let iTunes search your mp3 folder?

09-20-2006, 11:11 AM
Doesn'tit just index all the music?

09-20-2006, 12:55 PM
I don't personally own an ipod however I have used the other apple devices like the nano and shuffle. The quality of the music produced is quite good but not DJ quality, if you are picky about quality of your music you may have reservations. I use the ear buds btw.

To me loud doesn't mean that you have good quality music. Bass response and the clear frequency over a large spectrum is what I look for, it should sound perfect, rather than show off noisy/bassy.

There are no problems with using the IPOD or any other apple type music device as a HDD cept maybe using up all your HDD space.

I strongly believe that you can charges these devices from the USB port as well as using normal AC adapters. The shuffle charges that way atleast ;)

These devices have been known to be robust, they can take a fall bumps etc. Lets not go rolling them over with cars :)

Things to consider
You are paying for the apple branding, while its a great device there maybe other alternatives that should work just as good.

Trinidad is a warzone, spranging phones while you are using them is quite common. Don't rule out someone doing the same with your device.

09-20-2006, 08:46 PM
Thanks for the answers, but what happens if you let iTunes search your mp3 folder?

just for paranoia reasons, for ppl like me who has half of itunes library, with all unDRMed mp3s, might be an nice target for the RIAA to drop a suit on meh grass and want me to pay for damages

Doesn'tit just index all the music?

yeah but u wont like itunes to know wah u have and wah u like and then try to introduce someting, and knowing that dey could also tell de riaa

and de next ting, we can turn that off too because for privacy reasons, or we could sue apple ass for invassion of privacy

09-20-2006, 08:51 PM
nope only if u allow it, this option is meant for privacy reasons, if its not there we can "sue"

and because how music is a huge industry on the interent, tunes do scan your drive/folder and even recommend some artist and genre close to it as a marketing scheme. and thus know how much and what u have

09-20-2006, 09:47 PM
Well I doh have no big setta music, and is plenty non-mainstream stuff I listen to, so that won't be an issue.

And Para, thanks for the heads up. It's something I was thinking about, and that's part of the reason I bought a $69 cell phone. Not only de robbery aspect, but environmental/accidental damage worries me too.

But I need some kinda music player boy. I do a good bit of travelling every day for work, plus I wouldn't mind using it in work. Something to soothe de mental. Harddrive is a big draw too.

I will keep an eye out, and see if the Zune is a better option. Or if there are just better options (particularly pricewise) that aren't Mac or MS.

09-21-2006, 11:20 AM
Kayode there are some devices which require you to install software before you can acutally transfer files, stay away from those they make the entire 'use it as a hdd' crappy. I cant remember the exact brand but there is a 'hot seller' that requires a driver.. hmm

Hey I understand the need for a lil sumptin to easy the nerves just be cautious and develop a lil routine when leaving the work place

keys
cellphone
ipod
wallet

09-21-2006, 09:05 PM
what ever u do keep away from S O N Y

u dont upload mp3s and it uses its own compression atrac

i have no idea about hdd capabilities