View Full Version : Dota over Normals

09-15-2006, 12:08 AM
the question when or if dota dies off wats next......!! will norms be d new trends. cause half of the ppl playin dota doesnt know how 2 play a norm.. i tink u guys should come up with ideas so that norms could make a come back. wat yall tink........

09-15-2006, 01:05 PM
There is the 2v2 Normal Caribbean Tourney coming after the 3v3 Dota League. I consider the league to be the dry run for the 2v2 tourney.

Angel of Death
09-15-2006, 01:23 PM
Hmm well i think normals is good as well as dota but sometimes it really depends on wat the host wants to do but i agree dat sometimes people rel good in dota but have no clue how to play normals

09-15-2006, 01:43 PM
did they set a date for the caribbean normal league.. if so could u please direct me some information 2 play in tis 2v2 competition.. tankx..

09-15-2006, 01:45 PM
Yes dat is a big factor on server where about half the people dont kno how to pla norms ... and these methods dat scaR is usin like " tourneyys and leagues " may help indeed but remember dat , dat dont necessarily mean dat people will change , caus de majority of the peolple who are playin in this league are people who kno how to pla and people who dont kno how to pla wuldnt find it interestin to pla in a tourney if dey dont kno how to pla.

09-15-2006, 01:52 PM
exactly thats y dota torney will be more sucessful than d normal. when u guys get infoo could u please post it up..

09-15-2006, 03:06 PM
The added level of complexity Normal introduces is sometimes too much for a DotA player to take in. Normal requires much more effort from the player per game even though the games are usually shorter some players take this to mean the game is less fun but to me it makes the win feel better, micro is a hell of a thing. Most are not willing to put forth that effort without monetary insentives.

09-15-2006, 03:25 PM
ahh thats rite u get a good feelin from all that effort u put in in d normals games.. is there anyway u can modify normal maps 2 make it more fun a intresting..?

09-15-2006, 05:21 PM
thats how dota was Born!!

09-15-2006, 09:46 PM
yea but still, normal maps need more effort than than a dota game...

09-19-2006, 10:08 AM
I think when you go to the higher levels of warcraft it becomes more and more creative. I was privileged to witness a live match with showtime vs a former TGS starboy(forgot his name, possible smurfed gosu). The battles were awesome, the level of micro in that game.. DH on red and still in the battle, uprooted trees battling, every wisp micro'd. Its like each unit was being controlled by a seperate person.

Micro makes the game more interesting :)

riskbreaker
09-19-2006, 02:43 PM
If DH was on red and fighting, and trees were uprooted, I think we was about to lose...

09-19-2006, 03:03 PM
nah the guy with the uprooted trees was the agressor using some Ancients of Wars to battle.

09-19-2006, 03:46 PM
dota ftw?...know para love his normal now eh.....know how i eh play...since para stop playing on the server rel men stop like me :)

09-19-2006, 03:58 PM
yeah boy I real tied up with work these days. When things regularize i'll be back. I even have some stuff I wanna hook up with respect to the server.

Ihsan
09-19-2006, 07:05 PM
I think when you go to the higher levels of warcraft it becomes more and more creative. I was privileged to witness a live match with showtime vs a former TGS starboy(forgot his name, possible smurfed gosu). The battles were awesome, the level of micro in that game.. DH on red and still in the battle, uprooted trees battling, every wisp micro'd. Its like each unit was being controlled by a seperate person.

Micro makes the game more interesting

Micro wins WC3 games period. This is why i still prefer broodwar over WC3. I've seen too many tauren overruns to expect a wc3 game to be interesting. Broodwar, on the other hand never ceases to amaze.:D

09-19-2006, 09:36 PM
Dude SC is gonre long time only old man can watch that lame video display!

09-20-2006, 01:57 PM
waw, I can't remember when last i've seen taurens oui..
Normally raider/grunt wins the game, throw in a kudo or 2

09-20-2006, 08:35 PM
The last time I saw taurens was the last time I saw Silverhawk play orc.

I love NE replays, I love the way pro players using the building as units. Imagine six AoW marching in on a base like a wall. You know attacking them is next to useless but you can't get past them to attack anything else! Potm with archers behind that focus fire on units picking them off.

09-20-2006, 10:51 PM
my micro tooo shitty tuh play norms :(......but it doesn't stop me from trying :)
when is the 2v2 norms tourney me an some pardnas wanna play in dat

Angel of Death
09-21-2006, 10:50 AM
Hmm allyuh saying Taurens ,Frost Wyrms like they doh exist anymore.MEn go just build spiders and abominations and a couple of obsidian statues

Ihsan
09-21-2006, 11:26 AM
With so much Auto spellcasting WC3 is actually a very unpredictable numbers game. The armour, spell damage, aura, etc formula is REDICULOUS. You can't truly predict which army is going to win before hand statistically, so you build an army which you know (from experience) works. WC3 is a race to build your killer army (yes it is a wu-tang reference) and to rush before your oponent has his.
The fact that base defense is typically a worse investment than units means that bases are never well protected (except maybe undead) and razing a base will not cost you units. Dead army = gg.
Compared to Command and Conquer or my beloved Starcraft and even DOTA you can take out and army but finishing the base defenses will cost you and leave you open to counter attack. More strategy required in that regard.

09-26-2006, 12:55 AM
i hope 2 c u guys in d 2v2 normal torney then.. as soon ias i get some info ill post it up.. or better yet any1 wit info could post it up 4 u ...

riskbreaker
09-27-2006, 10:09 AM
I cyah play 2v2. I iz a solo player. I tink iz time 2 move on though... Warcraft so old.

09-27-2006, 01:16 PM
fellahs, i just want DoTA and WOW to die!!!! :mad:

09-27-2006, 02:53 PM
lol@ joker an he dota 4 life intentions... woot