View Full Version : Dota Tourney End of August Report
Kukka
08-27-2006, 12:25 PM
Due to late hour both finalists WoW and PWN decided to call it a draw. Both sharing First and Second Prize Money. Congrats!
Whey @ draw. That means they're both losers, according to Homer anway. :p
08-27-2006, 02:37 PM
welll i find that is real mess...after men wait outside in the road for dey game..it end up a draw?that is maddnessss
08-27-2006, 04:42 PM
From what I understand by various reports the tournament schedule was poorly organized. I go word that HYMC won their prelim match on a technicality and kukka was considering placing them in the finals.
In terms of the winners, it was unfortunate that the tourney ran so late Saturday 800am -> Sunday 1:00am. I am still in awe that these 2 teams, that have players that dedicate SO much time to games/work outside of DotA won the tournament.
GG Silverhawk, Snake, Musa, MG, Cold
GG err smoke, noob err err
!!!
*waits patiently to see the replays*
08-27-2006, 08:34 PM
Wha d ras...so long that run?alya had bout 20 teams or what?
GG WoW + PwN
Hard luk dey tyb , nex time .( mus bigup):D
08-28-2006, 12:23 AM
GG err smoke, noob err err
!!!
can you say kitter hawk? rofl
lol 1 it really get late fass dat was good kicks.like when the rat walk on wolf and he and janus dive off the culbut lmao.it sad it get late and no game BUT COME NAH MEN TUSSY FOR REPLAYZ JED.u no wa was funny to when ice and strife buss up man kfc and when me and wolf fight for the last malta.
betty
08-28-2006, 01:12 AM
[QUOTE=Paradoxxx;36997]From what I understand by various reports the tournament schedule was poorly organized. I go word that HYMC won their prelim match on a technicality and kukka was considering placing them in the finals.
"Various reports" which probably means cold ... Kukka organised it well for his first time the fault was not in poor scheduling but in de clans .Some clans didnt come on time and games started late.And because of the "Arguments" because of certain "ignorant people" we had to wait even longer while admin tried to reason with them and explain why HYMC got a straight route to semis. I will let kukka explain de reason for it but long story short
Prelim - games was paused cause manicou apparently didnt understand an item restriction and got DQ .
Manicou didnt wait to hear anything else or question the decession and left.( I admire that ..thaz when you know big men ) People argued that HYMC didnt deserve it cause Manicou were winning but watch de replay and if you play dota youll know that one lane of super means nothingand anything could happen.
Second round HYMC got through without ah fight again because of TYB leaving and a certain big mouth person arguing again .. apparently because of the time "i give them no wrong it was 10 o clock. So there was not fault on HYMC or Admin but on the clans that left.
Big up to team WOW i liked de hero combos . hard to beat but yuh have to admit we hold up for very long ..longest game for de night
And big up to DDR always kicks every tourney giving we a kicksy 10 minute game and after giving we good entertainment while waiting for we ONE WHOLE MATCH WE PLAY ALL DAY lol
And kukka for puttin up with everybody shit
RawRr
08-28-2006, 01:34 AM
can you say kitter hawk? rofl
Wats dat mean? :confused:
08-28-2006, 02:12 AM
yuh like bake?
for real gg tyb (i jus sayin dat cause i eat they pizza) but gg pwn a was backin dem after ddr. to bad ddr to drunkish? but gg badthing to hymc nice lock down techies eatin doom normal normal a hear techies had men skipin wa toro say stop and drop and roll.
gambit
08-28-2006, 01:40 PM
Well, I think that we are supposed to have a friendly between us and team WoW. We're just not sure when and where. Stay tuned for more details.
08-28-2006, 02:42 PM
Well, I think that we are supposed to have a friendly between us and team WoW. We're just not sure when and where. Stay tuned for more details.
toss badting in that too, wouldnt mind a lil friendly competition
08-28-2006, 03:10 PM
Not biggin up any particular side but games with techies usually take a while esp for a team that has not been playing for a while.
The general feeling was that the tourney was over drawn and poorly managed. This was not the word of the wow guys or cold, it was mentioned by various players. Did you all read the rules?
I know it may offend kukka and the organizing crew (MC guys) but admiting failure and your short comings aid in your overall development.
I am considering hosting another DotA tourney at Java to maybe right the wrongs done by this tourney and building on the experience of the last one.
Prelim - games was paused cause manicou apparently didnt understand an item restriction and got DQ .
Manicou didnt wait to hear anything else or question the decession and left.( I admire that ..thaz when you know big men ) People argued that HYMC didnt deserve it cause Manicou were winning but watch de replay and if you play dota youll know that one lane of super means nothingand anything could happen.
few points here that i feel should be corrected.
first off..manicou DID understand the rules. it was the admins who were at fault and were unfairly attempting to DQ manicou. manicou did nothing to justify a DQ. i don't give them wrong for what they did. to resume playing after that would undeniably have had a toll on them.
secondly. granted super creeps in a single lane does not mean the side will lose. i of all ppl know that. however, given the conditions of the tourney and the time limits. i am still of the opinion that the honourable thing for HYMC to do would have called it a loss (jus like the match(es) that had a fatal error). without the HYMC 'semis'...there would have been a WoW-PWN final which would have at least determined a victor despite all the controversy. sigh.
gambit
08-28-2006, 04:09 PM
Now, we try to learn something new each day, which is what helps us. "decession" is not the spelling of the word, its "decision".
All the same...MG is right is saying that HYMC should have taken an honourable loss. Although Kukka should have realised that manicou forfeiting would mean that he now had 4 semi-finalists, making things easier. Kukka seemed to be flustered by all these requests and obviously allowed them to continue in the tournament.
As for rules, I didn't see it stated anywhere how he was going to award the bye to whichever team. Maybe next time a schedule should be posted with the times for teams to play making estimates on the length of matches accordingly.
Para...I look forward to your attempt to "right the wrongs" that happened in this tourney.
I must agree with MG. hes right on two counts, supercreeps down and a barracks push in another lane, whilst all of their second towers were still up in all lanes means a win, any real dota player will agree with us.
secondly, as far as the poor management is concerned, i will state it again that Clan MC had nothing to do with running the tourney, yes we did promote. All mod/admin decisions on the day of the tourney were made by Kukka and Kukka alone.
Furthermore, i think MG also said this, both our teams regret that Manicou didnt return (because they were in fact within the rules of tourney and they did have a win by towers/kills and present creep presence) because it would have been fun for us to test our skill against them.
hopefully we can get team WoW back sometime for a friendly so we can see the "final" of the game.
on a final note, regarding cold, he was representing his team, one of the two finalists, and i agree with his opinions stated on that day.
Hopefully there will be another tourney sometime soon and it will be better managed. I look forward to hopefully seeing WoW, TyB, Badting and Manicou again.
08-28-2006, 04:13 PM
first of all the rules need to be looked at.
http://www.trinigamers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=3237&page=6
I dunno if i missed something in my quick search but is it possible that you all did not use CAL rules as stated in the post by kukka?
also...because of formatting, when he printed a footnote appeared to be related to two topics instead of one..
sigh..
idk what to say...but id much prefer a java tourney :D
*tries to urge para*
Wats dat mean? :confused:
kitter = quitter/leaver, apparently
I must agree with MG. hes right on two counts, supercreeps down and a barracks push in another lane, whilst all of their second towers were still up in all lanes means a win, any real dota player will agree with us.
ice, jus to clear this up. not sure if we're agreeing on the same note. but imo hymc had a chance to come back. i have seen teams come back from FAR worse situations. hymc situation was not so bad that it should be considered a sure loss.
what i am saying however, is that they were outplayed throughout the entire game. most if not all the battles were a losing fight on their part. and they would have required a lucky break to realy turn the tables on manicou. that being the case, given the circumstances i would have much preffered if they accepted the match as a loss rather than attempt to use whatever arguements neccessary to stay in the tourney.
and yes. i did pretty much stand by the majority of cold's arguements. he and musa are ignorant mcs, we all know this, even they know this lol. but they are also intelligent and had valid points. yes cold was a 'bit' loud at times, but that should not take away from the validity of what he said.
08-28-2006, 06:24 PM
As requested, replays of Kukkas tourney.
Please ensure that you have
Dota (6.32b)
WinRaR
WinZip
first off...u need to make a copt of dota 6.32b, rename it "kukka tourney.w3x" and put it in your maps\frozen throne\scenario folder.. doh ask me why...i jsut saw that when i tried to watch the mc replays..
secondly mg...im not saying that a comeback is impossible..but there is the fact that chen had an aegis + a relic and money for the demon edge..
he didnt die once that game..and would have pused their right lane was well even before completing the rapier..ie, i dont see a comeback from that..ur right that 2nd order creeps in one lane doesnt mean win, but at the same time..with all factors considered...that was a win for manicou
peace n love
ps, yea tell them mg, doh be on cold cause he stand up for what he beleive is right!
08-29-2006, 10:04 AM
being a nag again... only 5 replays?
08-29-2006, 11:10 AM
tourney in java? i goin and make sure and be there for that, for sure... count me in one time..cyah let wha happen happen again
gambit
08-29-2006, 11:38 AM
Archvile, when you say you can't let what happen, happen again...in particular what are you talking about, you going to referee or participate?
to tell the honest truth ice..i would have hoped that chen was going for radience and not rapier. i think i recall him having to finish an item and he all of a sudden bought the sacred relic. rapiers are very much a game winning item as it is a game losing item.
i personally wish i was in chen's corridor..i would have been so paid. lol. hymc still has a lot to learn :)
Damn that critical error !!! ( save we from even more embaressment )
gambit
08-29-2006, 03:50 PM
Vax, post up the picture you took with the critical error and tell them thats your replay!
O btw ne oda pics from tourney ?
08-30-2006, 02:01 AM
it have pics?
08-30-2006, 02:20 AM
Damn that critical error !!! ( save we from even more embaressment )
lol, scourge kills:55
Sent kills:5 (1 was roshan so is basically 4, rofl)
08-30-2006, 09:37 AM
so they was good enough to kill roshan but they only got 4 hero kills???hhahahhahahh
to answer para's question, a lot of games ended in critical errors, hence no replays. i guess i finally see why they save the bloody gaem every 10 minutes after the first half an hour in league games.
the thing is mg..i would not go for a rapier in a tourney, because i know every disable and nuke is gonna come my way until they've used out all my reincarnates, but in this case, he built an aegis beforehand, and they were pretty much in possesion of the enemey base.
IMO, radiance is one of the best items in the game, and im saddened by the sparkle damage being reduced to 35 in newer versions :(
my naix and axe gonna suffer for this, lol
archie, if there is one, i look forward to seeing you
08-30-2006, 11:05 PM
http://trinigamers.com/photoplog/file.php?n=23&w=l
AHAHHHA look a white boy!
http://trinigamers.com/photoplog/file.php?n=28&w=l
look!!! meryl strife!!!