View Full Version : Three new planets!!!

08-16-2006, 03:16 PM
As always, the designated lineup of planets include Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, and Pluto. The first newcomer is Ceres, the largest known asteroid which orbits between Mars and Jupiter. Closely behind is Charon, which has been considered Pluto's moon. Last, but by no means least is the recently discovered 2003 UB313, an object nicknamed Xena that was discovered in 2005 orbiting far beyond Pluto in the outer solar system. These are the Largest known Kuiper Belt Objects. (http://i.n.com.com/i/ne/p/2006-2/816kuiperplanets550x523.jpg)
Xena DOES come from the TV series "Xena, Warrior Princess" and its moon is called Gabrielle, Xena's sidekick... Cool huh?:)

08-16-2006, 06:45 PM
u said asteroid...now asteroid is different from a planet. Xena looks more like a planet

08-16-2006, 07:03 PM
Well he kinda right buh if u guys saw the article u wud realise they ( scientist and dem ) ehh have ahh complete definition of ahh planet yet so for 13 planets ? doh know about dat buh daz wha d "planetarium i visited" recently told me so who knows !

08-16-2006, 09:10 PM
OH gorsh..I feeling like a DA

08-17-2006, 10:28 AM
http://www.rense.com/1.imagesH/13db9ddd.jpg

http://www.rense.com/1.imagesH/13db957.jpg

http://www.rense.com/1.imagesH/13db967.jpg

http://www.rense.com/1.imagesH/13db976.jpg

08-17-2006, 10:35 AM
omg, very gosu scaling...

08-17-2006, 10:42 AM
http://www.rense.com/1.imagesH/13db986.jpg

08-17-2006, 11:09 AM
Veg those are stars.. We are talking planets. Please don't sir from the topic on hand ;) On a cool note though, Beletgeuse shines 60,000 times brighter than our sun.. pawn3d? I think so :( These are basically the brightest STARS out there. You know, when you see those red dots in the sky.. yup..

08-17-2006, 12:48 PM
ent stars are distant planets? so i guess they are planets..

08-17-2006, 01:05 PM
Wrong you are para. A star is just a a massive gaseous body is outer space. A star emits LIGHT , unlike a planet. The sun though is a star but due to it's closeness to the earth it appears as a disk providing daylight........... To make my point clear, a planet is an object which orbits AROUND a star... Hence, the sun is a star, and the earth,a PLANET, orbits around it :)

08-17-2006, 01:06 PM
there was no doubt that there are other planets in other galaxies
the question is if they are able to support life

08-20-2006, 08:21 PM
a planet is an object which orbits AROUND a star...
If that's true then does comets and asteroids considered planets ? hmm...

08-20-2006, 09:58 PM
Well isnt that how our planet was made , where comets n asteriods bonded together?

08-21-2006, 01:34 PM
If that's true then does comets and asteroids considered planets ? hmm...

that "star" u talkin bout has to be a source of energy like a sun for example..and asteroids dont go around anything they move directly towards the sun..get yur facts right dude...

piglet
08-24-2006, 07:24 PM
Looks like we have rushed to judgement....

Pluto is not to be considered as major planetary body.

The scientists have agreed that for a celestial body to qualify as a planet:
it must be in orbit around the Sun
it must be large enough that it takes on a nearly round shape
it has cleared its orbit of other objects

Pluto was automatically disqualified because its highly elliptical orbit overlaps with that of Neptune . It will now join a new category called dwarf planets.

The other contenders for planetary status 2003 UB313 aka Xena, Charon and Ceres are also now considered as dwarf planets.

Seems astronomers arnt the best at linguistics. "dwarf planets" refers to a subclass of planets, but dwarf planets arnt planets.

09-14-2006, 11:47 PM
t..and asteroids dont go around anything they move directly towards the sun..get yur facts right dude...
U noob u get yuh facts straight !!! lol go directly towards the sun ??
u get yuh facts straight meh boy... hence the reason there is something call the asteroid belt between mars and jupiter ( http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Asteroid_belt ) and the Kuiper Belt ( http://www.ifa.hawaii.edu/~jewitt/kb.html (http://www.ifa.hawaii.edu/%7Ejewitt/kb.html) )
as for stories relating to the demotion of pluto's "planet status" : http://news.yahoo.com/s/space/20060911/sc_space/plutoisnowjustanumber134340

09-15-2006, 12:04 AM
Amazing lik Wow..... i neva seen anyting lik dis before..

04-05-2008, 01:44 AM
no actually he is half right what scientist call stars are the gaseous clouds u speak of but what everyday ppl see not all stars are stars and are indeed far away planets so just another light in the sky we say a stary night :D