View Full Version : Rugged Laptop
08-15-2006, 12:30 PM
Itronix has announced it's latest rugged notebook which plans to be released in September. The XR-1 has a fully sealed keyboard and chassis that allows it to be used in a number of outdoor settings. It's fully sealed against water allowing it to be hosed down if it gets dropped in the mud or decontaminated in bleach.;)These laptops have been designed to withstand strenuous tests for pressure and vibration. Hard to believe? See for your self.. Wet meh!! (http://i.n.com.com/i/ne/p/2006/Itronix-GoBook-XR_550x413.jpg)
08-15-2006, 12:51 PM
Whoa...
Now we can really 'internet surf'
Danggg....How much thousands we talkin here ?
08-15-2006, 01:17 PM
but dont they already have those? i ermember seeing something like that
08-15-2006, 02:04 PM
Well, it starts at US$4,300... I know.. Thats not cheap! But it sure is worth it! I mean come on; A screen that can be dimmed to a level that looks completely dark but can be read with night vision googles [ army purposes as some have already been deployed in iraq and to the Air Force ] ?!! The ability to be fully submerged and survive a fire? When it gets cold the system automatically warms up the hard drive.. AND it can find a wireless network almost anywhere in the world with built-in radios for multiple bands of both UMTS/GSM and CDMA cellular networks, plus Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and GPS..... hmmm
08-15-2006, 03:21 PM
if it can take water could it be used under water ?
i highly doubt that would last long at a beach, sea blast will degrade anything
08-15-2006, 03:30 PM
The ability to be fully submerged
Wrong you are my friend! About the sea blast.. not sure.. but it does love sand/gravel!! (http://i.n.com.com/i/ne/p/2006/GoBook-XR-1_400x600.jpg)