View Full Version : Explorer.exe

08-15-2006, 12:12 PM
Basically, in a nut shell, my explorer.exe seems to be f***ed. At startup it used about 20mb [ I would supposed this is around normal ], but then it just get ridiculous and they memory usage gradually increases. I've recorded it picking up 64mb!! [ that was only once though ] . Note, 20mb is on idle; when I begin to load programs the memory increases. Is this normal? I doubt.. When Warcraft and other major programs [ scans, wmp etc ] are up, explorer.exe ranges from 27mb - 30mbHelp?Also to note, this happens with warcraft was well. It starts at about 55mb and eventually it will keep incrasing steadily till it mexes out at about 250mb. I KNOW this is not normal..Help?

08-15-2006, 01:23 PM
Depending on your hardware, your memory usage will be diferent, but I dont think the results you are getting are abnormal.

Warcraft in the middle of a dota sweat is usually take up between 200 to 300Mb depending on how you configure your settings.

As with Explorer, there is no way to predict it's memory usage patterns. It is as random as a pseudo random number generator. It's just one of the vole's presents to all the disgruntled customers.

08-15-2006, 01:33 PM
I was doing some reading and did hear that it could be, like you said, hardware conflicts. Svchost.exe also picks up a good bit. It seems abnormal to me as they never use to do this before.. The CPU usage was never so high.. hmm

08-15-2006, 03:32 PM
*cough*pawn*cough*

And you know what does kill me? After sold fix this he gonna go back and gallery on the server like if he never lagged/had pc problems in his entire existance on the planet earth.

Warcraft depends on the map being played, can go far beyond that. My explorer.exe is 22mb right now. How much ram you have sold?

08-15-2006, 03:40 PM
I don't lag ;) hmm@ 22mb.. mine does be there too >_< 1GB DDR2 533... explorer supposed to go up when u running more programs? ? :o [ i asking.. :$ ] yea but wc never picked up so much memory b4!!! how much your wc picks up scar? and yuh explorer.exe when wc running? The explorer probably is normal.. but.. i'm sure the wc isn't! sigh...

08-15-2006, 06:34 PM
Maybe you running higher settings now? That's perfectly normal for war3 imo. If you still disturbed about it do a clean install.