View Full Version : ATi driver software configuration issues

08-11-2006, 03:24 PM
I recently popped in an “ATi X800XT AIW AGP” and formatted my machine. It replaced an NVidia 6800LE unlocked and a FlyVideo 2000 TV tuner. On first boot into the OS after installing the 6.7 cats, I was treated to a horrid looking desktop and my 2 monitors (Samsung 204b) didn't match (the right monitor looking much worse that the left). After twiddling some 2 hours with the contrast, gamma and brightness in the incredibly slow ATi CCC, I got the left monitor looking somewhat decent (no where as good as it was before) but the right monitor was still looking like shit. Deciding it was liveable with that until I have the time to sit and fine-tune them, I tried the TV portion of the ATi card out. The image is pixelated but very sharp and does not respond well to signal noise. In short, it shows like shit compared to the elcheapo TV card I had before. Making matters worse, I can’t get the TV software or the DVD player to drag to the second monitor, far more play a game and take in a movie @ the same time. Other than that the machine takes 20 second longer to boot and there is a lagish feel to the desktop.

Anyone help to correct these issues would be much appreciated. If not, F@#k (F@%23k) Ati and back to Nvidia.

The machine in question is a Dell Precision 650, 3GB RAM, WinXP sp2 fully patched up with the newest reference chipset driver and ATi software/drivers.

08-11-2006, 06:14 PM
have u tried using a driver cleaner ?

08-12-2006, 12:18 AM
err... i say user error... XD

08-12-2006, 03:11 AM
Why would use driver cleaner if its fresh install of xp with only the newest drivers installed? Anyway after googling the evening away, it appears that (after 5 years of avoiding) ATi drivers (still) just suck since many users complain of the same issues, esp the laggie system response and poor dual monitor support with no solutions viable solution.

08-12-2006, 11:52 AM
I wouldn't go damn a people for the action of one man!!

ecktt imo you should have read some reviews b4 blindly buying, from your reading is the problem with 6.7 or all drivers?

08-12-2006, 02:12 PM
x800xt is quite a beefy card i believe.... are you sure your psu can satisfy it's demands?

just so that our readers dont get blind sided by one mans's comments, I have also used an AIW card, on a not so high end (ASROCK 939 mobo and venice 3000+ combo) system. The card i used was a pci-e version of the x1300 aiw... yes i know it a cheapo model, but it powered 2 viewsonic 20" monitors without any stuttering etc. I doubt the system would be capable of playing games on one monitor and watching a movie on another, but i didnt try that before the customer took it from me.

no complains from the customer by the way, he had the system for about 3 months now.

08-13-2006, 04:20 PM
JAH. For clarity leh me restate the probles in point form for the ATI fans boys who i was hopin could provide some solution.
1. System desktop get laggie
2. Longer boot time
3. The colour of the display get screwed up (the standar frambuffer drivers look better).
4. It next to ompossible to get the second monitor looking normal.
5. It impossible to move the TV app to the second monitor
6. TV out put is crap comparded to other TV cards.
I believe the PSU powerfull enuff cause it used to run the SCSI Raid 5 array (no long present) and the 6800LE (inlocked and OC) with out a hitch.

The only good thing thats come from the video card is the noise i was getting from the Sound card is gone and games run about the same as before. I tryied the 6.6 cats but the issues are still there.

Mojo
I have also used an AIW card, on a not so high end (ASROCK 939 mobo and venice 3000+ combo) system. The card i used was a pci-e version of the x1300 aiw... yes i know it a cheapo model, but it powered 2 viewsonic 20" monitors without any stuttering etc.

Can you movie the TV app from on monitor to the other? Can games at the same time while watch TV on the second monitor? IF some what sis you do to achieve this?

08-13-2006, 10:33 PM
the tv thingy app could be dragged to the second monitor if you extend the windows desktop, and overlayed if you select the appropriate theatre option.

As for gaming and watching movie /tv, the system itself wasnt powerful enough for me to even think about trying that.

08-13-2006, 10:56 PM
Thanks , just walk this ATi noob threw the steps nah mojo.

btw i eh trying to piss off ATi fan bois. I just tring to get the bloody thing working the way i want it to.

08-14-2006, 01:44 AM
nah it sounding like that card struggling, could be a power issue,

check if u seated de card properly, next ting yuh might have he card ass sticking out,

and if all that shit fail use a older driver

no i not a ati fan boy, hell i liking meh nvidia video card

08-14-2006, 10:13 AM
Unfortunately, i doh have catalyst installed because i doh have an ati card right now. If i did I would help you. However, ATi's website does offer help from technicians for all customers. From my experience with an RMA, they usually reply the same day(much faster than here on gamers forums).

The catalyst control centre IMO is quite gosu, and nvidia drivers are now trying to implement something like it in their last WHQL driver. I also recommend updating your AGP drivers as well as tweaking your GART options for compatibility with ATi hardware. I believe most ATi cards perform better when fast writes are disabled. Not too sure about the newer models, but this was the case in the past.

08-17-2006, 02:43 PM
Well did a few things. I built a separate test bed consisting of an MSI kt3 with a sempron 2200 with 1 GB PC3200 ddr, Enermax 420 watt PSU and 4 gb hd. The common components were the 2 Samsung 204b LCDs, Viewsonic G810 21 ctr, X800XT AIW, 9600 AIW, 6800LE (unlocked to gt), FX5200 quadro pro and a Matrox 450.

Results:
All video card responded well to the CTR with matrox having a small edge on everyone. Both the 9600 and the x800 responded badly to the LCDs. 6800 did a good job and the matrox and the quadro pro was better than everyone else.
These results are consistent across both meh main comp and test bed.

The results suggest that those ATi drivers just mess up the colour calibration since the LCD show somewhat normal before the driver installation. I fired off a support ticket to ATI support. They responded in 6 hours which is somewhat good. The sad part they had a technician whose response was no better than an automated reply. If the dam person had read the support ticket he/she would have know I did what they suggest to do already. So I responded in kind, stating it perform the driver re-install as instructed. That was 2 day ago and I eh get a reply yet. What blows me over is that I found the reason why ATi won't do TV on the second display. It was a design decision because of stability problems they were having and yet their tech support is telling me a re-install will fix that among many other problems.
Good luck with all of you who will continue to use ATi products. Their hardware may be up to snuff but the drivers and software have been and still are sub standard. Combined with tech support that can’t read and don’t even know their own product limitation, their solutions definitely not geared towards power users.

08-17-2006, 06:13 PM
If it makes you feel any better ecktt, I have had lots of driver problems with nvidia products(More than I have had with ATi, but nvidia is a lot more mainstream than ati anyway).

08-18-2006, 04:45 PM
Thank the Tech Gods! ATi Cats 6.8 solve meh problems!