View Full Version : Networking Hell
07-29-2006, 03:13 AM
OMG!! this is the situation. i have 2 computers at home and they are perfectly( i think so ) linked up but i have a slight problem. i need to transfer 25 gigs of information from one comp to the next. I tried to make the share computer work and to creat a new connection. i am probly doing sumthing wrong. CAN SOMEONE!!!! HELPP!! MEEE!! please tell me what exactly i need to do to share files from one pc to the other.:) :) :)
07-29-2006, 09:28 AM
where dem mcs...
in windows xp, right click on the folder and click on sharing and security....
click ok a few times until u done.
07-29-2006, 03:28 PM
OK..... i got the file shared folder to work but now i cant access files from comp A to comp B. How do i access files in the c drive from one pc to the next? its only saying i dont have access......... RAAHHHH!!!
07-29-2006, 03:56 PM
reason why yuh not getting access is because it not shared
or u want a step by step information to get this done
07-29-2006, 03:57 PM
can you do the ipconfig command in dos on both pcs and relay the infomation for me?
Or
in dos use the
hostname command and get the hostname
then on the OTHER computer do
ping <theresultofhostname>
btw did you share the folder?
Gimme the OS on both PCs.. INFO!!!
07-29-2006, 07:21 PM
Why not just use an external HDD ? 25 gigs eh that much, and if ur network cards slow that go take forever...
I think HDD would be the way to go for u boy bless, less thinking for ur brain, you don't have one ah dem nice 60 gig ipods ? You could use that to transfer the info, like a giant flashdrive.
07-30-2006, 04:48 AM
I think i know the problem he is having. Try enabling the gues account. If that doesn't work, disable all shares, reboot and re-enable them.
07-30-2006, 09:00 AM
I think i'll do a 'quick network guide' when i have sometime.
Something like the configure your router guide
07-30-2006, 11:02 AM
I think i'll do a 'quick network guide' when i have sometime.
Something like the configure your router guide
yea :)
07-30-2006, 07:36 PM
heyyyyyyy!!!!!!!!! i dunno what i did..... i played around with the systems (xp para) and i got the share thingy to work so i accessing info on other computers now but ill still need help because when the computers turn off and come bak on i have to do the share folder thing again.. it doesn't save for some odd reason.
07-30-2006, 08:01 PM
if possible can i make a trip by you and fix it?
07-31-2006, 03:54 AM
Yes para u will have to fix the networking and also we have a hub thingy...its a wireless and i think my neighbours are constantly using up my dsl!! i dont know how to put a password on the damn thingy!!!( the wireless is for my moms laptop btw) para jus ask dinesh for ma numbr and stuff.!!yay!!!
By the way i lost all the sharing again.......the only thing i getting is internet and nothing else.
07-31-2006, 11:06 AM
arite tom = holiday on my way to the GF i'll stop in.
07-31-2006, 04:44 PM
does para have my address?? phone num?? HMM!! And i pulled out the antena from my wireless box thingy! and it running smoother now......damn neighbours...