View Full Version : Suggestions for Growth
07-26-2006, 04:05 PM
Fellas it is known that i dont play dota or warcraft on the whole, but as a Trinigamers member logging on every day i always seem to see a set of complaints bout noobs,leavers,laggers etc on the server. also, ive realised that there is an overall lack of seriousness and positive intent in our actions as members on the server.
need i remind you all of the overall goal for the organisation?
to become the premeir gaming organisation in the Caribbean, gaining international recognition in all of our Gaming disciplines.
Now, can any of you that frequent the server really attest to actually moving toward that goal?
i have seen that there has been a dramatic increase in the number of persons on the server at one time compared to before version 2.0. Also, i have seen the general move from 1v1 or 2v2 normal warcraft games which strategy etc. was split with the two persons on one side to the more team based Dota, where stragegy and team synergy is the key to winning.
as i saw that more team games would be played, i thought to myself that we would see alot of clans forming and real gaming going on.
instead, im seeing constant bickering and random games being played, while persons get extremely frustrated and end up complaining on the forum about banning, noob lists, safelists etc.
that is totally opposite to the cause as Trinigamers and really is an embarassment to the organisation. not to others but to ourselves, as this way there is no way to move forward.
there is where i feel i must step in and illustrate this to you all...
i think the timeperiod for hosting a game and hoping that people join/that a noob doesnt come on ur side is over. its time to team up and teach the noobs how to play in a team game, with a dedicated team.
this is not only limited to the server chatroom, lime with the team members, go tou talk shit, help to pay for their DSL, make positive steps in actually moving forward instead of flaming 56kers, laggers and noobs.
that is what the community is about. its not only about games but it is about the people playing the games. time to wake up.
07-26-2006, 04:21 PM
Spoken like a TRUE Trinigamer! Well said Xec! I've been itching for a clan a while now but men just not serious and dedicated for a SERIOUS clan.
I am, if I can get some members -.-"
07-26-2006, 07:10 PM
since when you are soldier ?
i talkin about a south inter org clan for the longest while no one says the in that beside you
:( we cah run a 2 man clan now can we?
and @ xec statement it is true that when men desperate for a man to fill any spot for a 5 v 5 they take any and everybody and end up rmking cause of a lagger etc
and about your statement earlier in a next thread why we dont play as teams all that makes alot of sense man but its always easier said than done cause of ppl complaining about sides imba etc what can we do but have a lil forced straightning out of it
07-26-2006, 08:56 PM
kaizen people complaining dat sides imbalanced because they dont have a side of their own and therefore everyone there teamless only looking for individual skill from another man instead of one well rounded team that grows in skill with each other
dat jus mean dat they fraid
i would never be afraid to play someone who is supposed to be better than me. becuz then i can learn from them and becmoe better in the future.
allyuh does talk like its primary schoolyard bottle football and want to pick the hottest player for your side on that game....when everyone just following the damn bottle anyway
here are my suggestions i doh care who get vex dis is my opinion
1. leave the elitism for the pro channel. That's why such a channel exists... for the pros to get away from the toxicity of being around noobs. Of course if u get cuss in the gosu channel for doing shit, aint nothing wrong with that. Playing the ass and talking shit in de channel does not correlate with being a noob. Everyone does talk shit now and then. We have an entire section on forums dedicated to it. The ops and admin are there to ensure that no individual is attacked personally/ inapropriately etc.
2. Implement the disconnect warning when a user spams commands like on bnet. This will solve the problem of favouritism.
3. We need a roster or sumting to rotate duties so that at least one op or admin is online at all times on server.
4. ch ops and admin should get together and have meetings to discuss exactly how things are to be run on the server.
WARNING THIS THREAD WILL BE MODERATED.
This is a very serious thread DEDICATED to suggestions for improvement of the pvpgn server. If you have posted garbage please remove it before i do.
07-27-2006, 12:12 PM
so...improvements in what xec saying about more team oriented games and the overal goal of the server?
ammmm.....well when i came on the server i did not see any memo or objective statement so i was not aware of the pro gaming part and the goal of trinigamers.....ah sorry but this all too complicated for me
AND PRIMARY SCHOOL BOTTLE FOOTBALL WAS THE BOMB!!!!!
i have played many sports in my life and i took all serious cause in fact it was serious but that was not computer sports/gaming....sigh....i thought pc games supposed to be fun ( i am so confused)
anyway let me see....ammmm...i would like to see something in the server with dota
since rel men playing dota more than normal....i would say...if u find a way to use a point basis like sc where instead if u have at least 3 men who from the same clan in a game in a 5 v 5 or something and they win then u should get dota icon (<---- nice one eh)...like the ladder icon jus diff....thats my idea
if u guys dont understand plz state so in the reply
07-27-2006, 06:55 PM
need i remind you all of the overall goal for the organisation?
to become the premeir gaming organisation in the Caribbean, gaining international recognition in all of our Gaming disciplines.
Now, can any of you that frequent the server really attest to actually moving toward that goal?
To answer your question, No.
But I have become better as a result of being exposed to better players, as I’m sure others have as well. I got hooked up with this server when Para started it back when we were in UWI. He never told me of the aforementioned goal. It was just for fun. When we lose focus of that (games are for fun), then what is the point. Gaming is not work and should not be treated as such. The general tone and movement of the server IMHO, reminds me of GATT, which imploded on itself. If you want the pvpgn server to be a better place:
Yank the mods. Those who want to be a mod should have flexible guidelines to operate by. Also the mods should be time table tabled. If they can commit to either, don’t be a mod.
Take it easy one the noobs. I’ve left games before they started because I simple didn’t see the point of playing a sure victory game. Where is the challenge… the better players tend to team up and often refuse to play on a side because it have to many noobs. At that point I have to ask if they actually any good in the first place.
Control the language. As trivial as that sounds, there are a few good reasons for it. The vast majority of people on the server are kids. Some as young as 12 years. Cursing and using provocative innuendoes sets what kind of precedence? I doubt the serious or professional outlook you desire. You could lift that rule after 12 when (supposedly) only adults are around. If there are kids still around refer back to the flexible guild lines I was suggesting
Use some common sense. If a mod shitting up a guest. Of course the guess going to try to piss off the mod. Put some adults as modes, not them childish noobs. I think we all have a good idea of who are childish mods.
Daz my 2 cents.
07-27-2006, 08:59 PM
seven you can be serious and have fun...because really dont you think that you would have more fun gaming if you are on a team that knows what its doing, playing against a team that knows what its doing?
i dont play warcraft or anything warcraft related, but from couinterstrike i rather play with a good team and against a good team that playing with noobs against noobs or playing with a pick up side
ecktt i think you are correct with modding etc. but then again all i think should be done is a serious overhaul on the actual reasons and rights etc..along with a thread that the mods cannot touch to report mod abuse etc.
also you are not really taking my point as i made it. i dont want the fun factor to decrease...not at all....thats why i still play games. but i also know that i want to be able to compete on an international level against other good players and the movement towards that...where one gains more skil, just like you is what im trying to spark...
for instance...professional football. do you think that those players on the field after dedicating themselves to training/fitness etc not have fun on that football pitch? if you tink so i would beg to differ. they would have their fun but they are proffesionals...the best of the best...and they are only enhanced by the calibur of their team...the same applies to gaming....not everyone may have the same aspirations or goals but i think that this is good enough dont you?
07-28-2006, 12:20 PM
i serious bout the dota ladder thing....dota is very popular and growing further in size...on the sc server we had this ladder whereby even if u play a team game and u lose or win u gain or lose a point in experience
maybe that can be done for dota....i think then we will see some serious games on the server xec....i doh mind getting pumped up for clan vs clan battles xec...
u must try dota man...catch some kix sometimes..i eh lieing to yuh
mojo i have a suggestion of growth for too...when last u play dota?....come and get some lix nah....lamo :D
Why not try like the ole dayz when wc now came out .. n everyone was excited to learn?
Start a fresh by learnin the game ( normal wc not dota ) , I mean that is how the majority of us learnt to pla dota , rite?
It really is shockin to see how nowadays alot of de people on the server have neva even played or dont even hav an interest in normal wc. Like vipes told me amongst others who were complainin about skill lvl in dota : " Once u basically kno how to pla wc good ... any custom maps comes easy to playin n learnin to play .
Yes even it may help, the people who only pla dota says no we hate normal wc so dont bother us about it.
Dat is where we try to make an interest in dem to pla normal wc by tellin them the ways of how u became better ( in certain custom maps ) by startin of by playin campaign.
And soon the server may once again consist of mainly people who wanna pla normal wc .
I dont expect people to agree of my opinion but it sure has helped me into wantin to learn to pla wc for fun n to play for seriousness to becomin a great player.
07-28-2006, 07:51 PM
i serious bout the dota ladder thing....dota is very popular and growing further in size...on the sc server we had this ladder whereby even if u play a team game and u lose or win u gain or lose a point in experience
maybe that can be done for dota....i think then we will see some serious games on the server xec....i doh mind getting pumped up for clan vs clan battles xec...
u must try dota man...catch some kix sometimes..i eh lieing to yuh
mojo i have a suggestion of growth for too...when last u play dota?....come and get some lix nah....lamo :D
Isn't the ladder working?
07-29-2006, 01:44 AM
yea it is working perfectly dinesh...u remember what alyuh had for sc when u play a team match and if u win u get a point of experience or 2 i think....maybe this can work for dota also seeing that dota team oriented
07-29-2006, 05:18 AM
as far as i know the ladder systems were developed by blizzard for warcraf and starcraft..i dont know if its possible, that there can be one for dota...
Does the ladder support that many players in a set team?