View Full Version : 5mpx VS 7?digital cam

07-20-2006, 11:39 PM
Looking at a Sony DSC-T5 or a T30..only difference is the resolution.
For family stuff..prtinging 6X9's or whatever the standard size is...would the 5mpx cut it?

Or bets to get a 7mpx?

07-21-2006, 08:02 AM
Well. Just saying, I have a 5.2mpx and it works FANTASTIC.. Pictures are clear like "whoa" . :eek: We must ask outselves. Do we REALLY need 6 and 7 ?

07-21-2006, 04:28 PM
5MP gives excellent quality prints up to 8"x10". If you wanna do large photo prints like 11"x14" and bigger, by all means get the 7MP camera. Of course the only way you would see the difference would be to really get close to a large photo with a magnifying glass and examine it.....

for 4x6 prints even a 3.2MP camera is sufficient.

07-21-2006, 06:06 PM
Was going to go wtih a T30(7pmx) , T5 (5) all Sony Cybershot

But para showed me a Canon Powershot S2 IS this morning...and the zoom have me thinking(5mpx btw)

07-21-2006, 07:32 PM
12x oui.

That's the real thing for a big time stalker like din din.

If you're also looking at price you'd see that the prices on some of these 5mp are pretty much the same for 8 and 10mp cameras. Typically I wouldn't search these high end cameras because I would expect premium prices. But I was checking some out with a friend and it's just plain crazy. So check out the newer cams!

Imagine a ex-z1000 (10.1mp Casio) is $307 USD @ butterflyphoto. That is insanity!

07-21-2006, 09:15 PM
read this

http://www.dansdata.com/gz059.htm

07-22-2006, 09:03 AM
Umm we talking about "ultra-compact" aka sexy digicams here dude. Not them fatties in that article. Who toting that? Yuh en see how skinny meh boy din din is?

07-22-2006, 10:57 AM
OMG i cant believe a man post a link like that here....

I for one have established many times before that the majority of the crowd here at gamers are not interested in taking high quality photos, but rather they do a little amateur photography here and there. Mih boy dinesh doh need (and probably have no clue what is) a DSLR.

Like I said dinesh, the 5.1MP cameras give you a good enough resolution for up to 8"x10" prints. If you can get that 12X optical zoom that would definitely be a plus as it does come in handy cos I highly doubt that you will walk around with interchangeable lenses like myself.

For those of you who are into professional photography, Sony and Konica-Minolta have worked together on developing a DSLR for the mid range market. The camera is available on the Sony website and can use most of the previous Minolta SLR lenses :)

A definite move forward for Sony as this marks their first professional quality product in digital still imaging.

07-22-2006, 12:43 PM
Are there any 'affordable' cameras, under 800USD that can have RING flash attachments?

07-22-2006, 12:43 PM
first professional quality? im confused. ive been seeing professional quality digital cameras for a while mojo.

07-22-2006, 01:49 PM
dinesh > nikon D50. this is the celeron of DSLRs and can use all nikor lenses and flash attachments.

Xec>

http://www.sonystyle.com/is-bin/INTERSHOP.enfinity/eCS/Store/en/-/USD/SY_BrowseCatalog-Start?CategoryName=dcc_DIDigitalCameras_style_dslr&Dept=cameras
the above link is from Sony's website. Their only available DSLR was launched about a week ago and is available in 3 packages. it's not available in the US until sometime in August though. Still not considered high end, but worth it's price for the budget minded professional.

07-23-2006, 02:17 PM
hahahaha. The purpose of the link was to shed light on digital cameras in general so as to make an informed decision. I didn't know men used to get all cranky and PMS like in here. LMAO.