View Full Version : Lag, ping times and warcraft.
07-19-2006, 01:14 PM
I remmeber when most of us was on dial up and used to play dota/3c/normal.... with less lag than with what we have now. I even remember hosting a few games off a modem connection and getting by. Now that more people have DSL, the problem is getting worse with more ppl getting droped. Whats strange is that the lagging men can still chat within the game which is a sign that there connection is still alive but lag out regardless. This doh make sense to me. I was reading about some new "killer gaming NIC" that could shap pings (aka increase when nessary) because they suggested that it is better for everyone to have equally bad pings vs as many good pings as possible. This doh make sense to me either but appears it might have some merit given the current situation. Anyone have any ideas?
07-19-2006, 01:35 PM
Lag is such a funny thing; it's not funny anymore. Well you all know me, I don't lag on my little 56k dusty modem.:cool:
So from a hard day of work yesterday, I reach home and load up Warcraft. Dota loads, blah blah. The game starts, -ar and well normal start glitches I get when the hero names are coming up. But then as I buy my roh. It still sticking! So I'm like. WTF . LAG?! Still thinking its start lag I run down to tower in matrix mode...
A qick alt tab and ctl + alt + del shows me that nothing is running... Creeps comin out matrix mode too.. I'm like WTF. LAG?! WDMC. WtF PAWN3D!!
However it was not lag. It acted like lag. In truth, it was my memory. Wc was continuously picking up more and more memory. It started out @ 30mb then gradually increaded to an astounding 230MB!! WTF!! So I thought it was lag, but it wasn't. It acted like lag.. i even saw the "waiting on host" on my screen.. wda.. so maybe in general men don't lag.. They just playing wc while doing millions of other things in the background?
Sigh... Or maybe it's their spyware infected pc and their n00biness to not know spyware SUCKS YOUR BANDWIDTH..sigh...
I personally believe that lag is hardly ever lag.. There are the few cases who with spyware free pc's and good ram etc still lag.. tough. call tstt XD
But in general, men pc full up of spyware/auto updates/ weak ram . DEAL WITH IT!
A time i had this spyware cookie on my pc that was causing me to lag.. everytime i delete it, it would come back.. it was sucking a lot of bw.. sigh.. pawned.. eventually rid my pc of it :)
NOTE: THE NEW MSN MESSENGER SUCKS ALOT OF BW! BEWARE DIAL UP USERS!
@ peak time I am sure lag is lag breds cause most men play aight @ off peak hours which suggest that it have to do with the amount of people currently on tstt server @ that time. Other factors are things like quality of phone line (line noise), the quality of your modem (like cheap win-modems) and how fast your pc is (how much ram etc). For the most case i would guess that constant laggers n droppers have poor phone lines and should stay away from gaming @ peak time
spyware may also b a problem but who doesn't run spyware cleaners, if you don't then pls do
07-19-2006, 02:39 PM
Last i checked, Warcraft+dota = 357 MB RAM
07-19-2006, 04:04 PM
Peak time my ass. I doh ever lag. I figure most men don't know about spyware at all. Some probably don't even know what a spyware scan is. I know men who's pc is in a mess. I'm positive if i look @ a gamers pc it would be FULL of spyware.
I agree that some problems are beyond out control. Eg. Bad line. That's tstt. I mentioned this above.. Maybe I'm just lucky to never lag?
And ecktt.. Wc + dota normally pick up about 70 000k of RAM on my pc
o_O
07-19-2006, 10:13 PM
I analyse Warcarft 3 to fine out the performance bottle necks. I disabled the swapfile, removed as much as I could from memory (turned off all unnecessary services, kill unnecessary processes with pskill.exe that couldn’t be killed with taskman, even killed explorer.exe) and check memory usage 10 mins into the game. @ that time and version of wc3+dota was 357MB. After that was established I checked bandwidth usage which averaged 0.8KBps as a client which is quite minimal. This goes to say dial up ppl have more than enuff speed to @ least be a client. Hence my question:
Does equally poor pings perform better than everyone having the best possible pings (which MIGHT have a greater variance).
I ask this becuse i know people with clean machines (free of viruses, spyware...), relatively good connections and okay hardware that still lag.
And solider I remember when yuh now came on the server…. U was a rank lagger! :P
07-19-2006, 11:09 PM
The are to many dsl n00bs who dont know why and how they getting d/c...
Tstt is a probelm but the user pc is a main factor as Soldier said b4 also...
this problem accures in the same way as US cable user..''more people using less results'' ... so all we can do is hope for newer companies to come in eg..''The flow''
so it could have a balance with users..so what u can to is have a balance or a special games for laggersat diffrent times of the day (meaning late at night)...when less users are on...
GL HF .....you laggers!