View Full Version : /ann command

07-03-2006, 11:42 AM
I am considering working on enabling the /ann command for certain power users. I am going to be very strict with this so don't ask me for it even if you are a mod.

This command will be given to users who host often and who would not abuse it, the only person that will be allowed to abuse the /ann command is DotaDoxx ;) I am thinking a cap of 2 other persons should keep a nice balance.

I hereby request some nominations for such persons (you can not nominate yourself).

BTW the /ann command is an alias for /announce which is the global announcement.

MGR
07-03-2006, 11:55 AM
it's a nice feature for those ppl who host games.
i personally appreciate it, but i'm not too certain how other users respond to it.
some players might find it distracting while in game? :confused:

i know i personally hate it when i constantly see my cousin typing '-cs'.....he aparently finds the '-cson' takes up too much screen space...maybe he's on a 15" lol

never the less, guess it would be good for ppl to post their opinions for/against it here. could see a lot of ppl leaving 'n00b'/losing games on seeing that another game is about to start though :p

07-03-2006, 12:16 PM
Hmm@ Ann cmd
This is to announce when they make a game etc?

07-03-2006, 12:32 PM
I am going to be very strict with this so don't ask me for it even if you are a mod.
:(:(

I think this is a good idea para. Of course, like you said, it should be given to a few people [ definetely not nokio! ] whom you and others KNOW would not abuse it..like.. umm.. hmm.. :confused:

Ahem. Or. You can give it to all hosts [ mods too nah :D ] and whoever's abusing it just take it away, that way everyone has a fair chance and we can see who is trust worthy etc..

Mg, I'm on a 15inch and i have -cson on... screen flooding is another very annoying thing. Once i had on /watchall and my whole screen is flooded with green writing.. I mean.. the WHOLE screen... I did not know how to take it off.. LOL..

Anyway.. Para, thats a great idea...

07-03-2006, 01:12 PM
SHUT UP SOLDIER...
Para give..... dread i really dont know but ME!... the rest of the host is noobs some who asking how to set obs....i could suggest TORO but he does hardly host.....soldier only saying not me not casue i does spam...but he jost dont want me to have power that he does not have...pfft ...

BUT give me a try and if any reports about I spaming it u could instantly take it away...but u have nothing to lose...{make sure there is prof}...:) plus i on a 2 month holiday so i home every day:) as i said u have nothing to lose...try it..:)

07-03-2006, 02:06 PM
LOL @ power !!!!!!!!!!!!!! ahhhhhhhhhh haaaaaaaaaaaaa u really jokey yes lard

07-03-2006, 02:24 PM
...@nokio begging .
sigh soldier and nokio why allyuh doh go and fight some marble pitch battles boy -.- always on each other neck lol

07-03-2006, 03:05 PM
wha u talkin about marbles ?? dem 2 loss dat long time besides is my BLUE MARBLE !!!!

07-03-2006, 07:06 PM
I don't think it's really needed. Hosts are on DSL and can afford the bandwidth of a chat connection to #gosu.

I say fix the ladder and screw /ann :D

07-03-2006, 07:39 PM
I find so!!!

07-03-2006, 08:14 PM
I don't think it's really needed. Hosts are on DSL and can afford the bandwidth of a chat connection to #gosu.

I agree strongly!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

PARA FIRE FOR /ANN ...well u could give me that power no scn....
BUT FIX THE LADDER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:cool: :D :eek:

07-03-2006, 09:44 PM
i have an alternative to the spamming during game.

make the bot respond to a whisper e.g.
<host>/w tehbot gamemade -<gn> -<mapn>
<tehbot> host has hosted a game named <gn> using the map <mapn>

This way the bot will only spam the chat channel. i.e. the channel which the bot is currently chatting in.

07-03-2006, 11:40 PM
Good plan !!!! implement that one for sure !!!
and doh segreegate it ; give dat privelege to all
anyone abusining gets there privelege revoked ( so as to avoid d claims of favouritism and segregation )

07-04-2006, 01:28 AM
Good plan !!!! implement that one for sure !!!
and doh segreegate it ; give dat privelege to all
anyone abusining gets there privelege revoked ( so as to avoid d claims of favouritism and segregation )

Vax getting all technical on we an thing....:D

07-04-2006, 08:01 AM
o lord what so hard with joinin on mirc an callin men
m and a good few other hosts do it

07-04-2006, 08:31 AM
but am can't ppl just use /games w3xp and get the same results?

07-04-2006, 09:53 AM
Umm.. Alt tab and switch to mirc/topaz and say game up ? :eek: How hard is that? You only have 128mb ram or something?

Btw.. /games does not work on topaz :(

[ Omg @ nokio think that is technical ... ]

07-04-2006, 09:54 AM
am soldier
use /games w3xp

07-04-2006, 12:48 PM
am soldier
use /games w3xp

Slodier u noob......

Para fire for that fix the ladder!!!!!!!!!

07-04-2006, 02:50 PM
i nominate myself :)

07-04-2006, 04:59 PM
Apparently people can't read.

07-04-2006, 06:18 PM
well seein that nobody nominating anyone and arguing , i say i'd give it a shot :D

07-04-2006, 07:32 PM
Slodier u noob......

Para fire for that fix the ladder!!!!!!!!!
try out the ladder i did some stuff on it yesterday

07-04-2006, 08:04 PM
ooooooooo

07-05-2006, 10:14 PM
so any mc nominees yet?

i nominate vax

so far he is de only mc host doh lag, it have men hosting and dial up does run better

07-06-2006, 10:18 AM

ENT!!!!!!!!!!! AND FIX THE MC STARCRAFT ISSUE!!! I WANNA PLAY THE DAMN GAME AH WAITING!