View Full Version : Views on Leaving a game when the going gets tuff?
06-28-2006, 01:00 PM
I havn't been playing dota for a while now but I was reminded of this topic just recently. There are some players that leave games when the going gets tuff or make up excuse to leave the games.
IMO when the going gets tuff because your team is selling/you got a bad matchup on your lane, you should continue to play the game, yes its pointless you are going to loose but why not stick it thru?
Understand this, many of the games on the server are heavily randomized, we play -ars with random allies. You must expect these kind of things to happen.
What are your views on this topic?
06-28-2006, 01:11 PM
Well. Sigh. This topic can go many ways. I am never to leave a game when the going gets tuff.. I stick through it and fight to the death..
Yesterday however, I left a game. Sigh. Why you may ask? Not because my team members sold and our base was being mashed in while everyone was dead, but because of this a-hole who keeps pinging the map. From lvl 1 to lvl what ever we were on, this man only pinging and pinging and pinging (d0d0).
I put up with it most of the game but eventually I got fed up. Do you know how annyonning a constant ping is? That irritating sound backed by the flashing colourful lights one after the other is not a nice experience. Does he think that we, his allies are blind to the ongoing situation? We can see the men in our base, so chill.
I talked to him rough, I talked to him nice. He would not stop. I told him if he didn't stop I was leaving. He persisted. I left. Now it would seem that I would leave because our base was gettin mashed in but it was not this way [ I was hardish ]. To put up with a c**t like that was not fun. At all.
Pertaining to leaving for reasons such as you are loosing is totally unacceptable. It's just like you're going to war, you're loosing so you run home. It can't work this way.
STAND AND FIGHT!!!!!!
God damnit man. Stop leaving games because you were the first to be killed. Or you died for the first time. Dota is not for leaving games. When one man leaves you kill the whole game, even if an opponent leaves to even it off. You have to take into consideration the items of the leavers etc.. sigh..
If you are so n00by to leave because you are under fire and refuse to fight back, please don't play dota.. Go play a fps where when you loosing you can restart the level...
06-28-2006, 01:25 PM
i would leave when men getting on like idiots, when my teammates doing absolute shit and cussing me. When a man run into 4 men and then when he dead turn around and ask me where i is. When men building s&y on magina and calling me noob.
Am sorry but i can not take cuss and dont like too.If a man is constantly cussing me i will leave i really doh play the game for that kinda abuse.
And i will still leave the game when there is absolutly no point. There was once a game where it was 3v2 i was one of the 2, it was me and eddoes where drow was extremely strong the man will walk in we base get double kill in we own base while twrs attacking him and walk out. Did this anytime we spawned, but yet there refuse to push jus farm farm farm.
U tell me u wouldnt leave a game if that happen?
06-28-2006, 01:29 PM
bleh, only twice i left online while ever playin, and cause i really had to,the 1st time was a reall long mc time ago, and the 2nd suprisingly was yesterday, and the game wasnt even decided yet(it was going real good, both teams were pushing etc) even when i told them i had to leave, as i was host , i shared control with who i thought was the best player there and left war3 runnin in background,but i really do hate it when someone leaves when they gettin wtfpwnt and make excuses that power outage, twice in 2 days fallen angelclaims that he had a power outage when i was on a side that was pwnin him , yet another game after we lost and no power outage, strange eh
06-28-2006, 01:40 PM
I have had my share of AFKs as well veg, I don't consider a person that says
"i have to go, <insert legit excuse here>" a bad leaver. If you have to go you have to go.
What i hate the most is the "i leaving to equalize/even the sides" excuse
what you all think about that one?
06-28-2006, 01:43 PM
Heady > I would still stay in the game. A time cng and myself played out a 4v2, and yes, we won. I never leave. I fight to the death..
Para > I agree with you with the reasonable excuse..
When a man leaves a game to even sides.. well.. hmm.. It could make the game worse, or better depending on, like I said previously, the items..
When a man pauses the fame for 5 minutes to go open gate or when girl bring sunday lunch for him and have everyone waiting.. What you all think about that one? Para? :)
no matter what the eventual outcome 'appears' to look like, imo, it is never ever reason enough to leave a game. i don't care if they manage to persuade roshan to join their team, FIGHT IT OUT!
too many a time i have seen games take a complete turn around by individuals who refuse to leave and keep on fighting it out. and it becomes obvious when the side that appeared to have the complete advantage begin to second guess themselves...they start to backdoor lol
late game especially, once they become over confident and complacent...a single death takes them over a minute to revive..that's a lot of time to make some headway on evening the odds :)
and as far as soldier advice goes..don't play fps and restart...jus stick to single player games and save other players the nuisance of ur incompetence lol
06-28-2006, 01:59 PM
hahaha soldier like oyu pick up on my "i leaving to equalize" line.
I get make out there, yes a few times i had to go open the gate for a friend or go and get food or eat with the GF. I doh want some other man toppin up my girl cause i sweating DotA.
I doh want some other man toppin up my girl cause i sweating DotA.
OMFG WTF...PWNED :D :p :D
06-28-2006, 02:13 PM
¬(^.^¬)
HYMC. Steups. Allyuh could talk real shit. Steups.. Back to the topic on hand.. Like mg said, there really is no reason to leave a games unless someone just drop down and dead.. FOR THE HORDE!
06-28-2006, 02:22 PM
NAhhh if u have to go u have to go.but i swear u doh join the game if u hadda go out in like 15mins or a hr.
If u know u dont have a free hr doh join.
06-28-2006, 02:32 PM
As you bring that up, if a game going on for like 2+hrs and something comes up you really cyah blame a man for leaving (with excuse).
^^ had a game like that a few weeks back. seemed as though the game could go on forever (2+ hrs?). decided to make the call for us to pool items and get a hero aegis rapier....was either that or simply lose player by player until no one would want to play anymore :cool:
I doh know bout allyuh but I HATE MC LEAVERS.
Noobs: daz small thing i am one myself
Sellers: well there always are and always gonna be
A$$holes: will always exists in every part of life
Droppers/laggers: I does just feel sorry for dem n wonder y dey doh play something else
But Leavers: ughhh, disgusting pieces of $hit without a once of dignity and honor, scum of earth, cowards
NOTHING IS WORSE THAN A MAN THAT LEAVES BECAUSE HIS TEAM LOSING.
that doesn't speak highly about someone's character, I doh think i ever leave a game to date, i may have gotten some crit errors but leaving a game cause u getting own does just make you look small in my eyes
Yuh know what does rel eat me, so called gosu men that leave games because they team getting own or they fine they playing with noobs. I not calling any names, those people suppose to know themselves. IMHO certain men on server have too much pride and figure they too gosu but daz another story.
Anyway I have absolutely no respect for leavers i doh care how good a player you are. If you leave a game because u getting beat out u are nothing but a weak coward that should be banned from playing.
true courage isn't fighting battles that you know you can win, it's staying and fighting even when there is high certainty that you may not
06-28-2006, 08:01 PM
Yuh know what does rel eat me, so called gosu men that leave games because they team getting own or they fine they playing with noobs. I not calling any names, those people suppose to know themselves. IMHO certain men on server have too much pride and figure they too gosu but daz another story.
Ebaw!!! Big line dey boy at3r
Ask cng about dat.... d man beat us 3v1 him alone after his whole team give up
i shit u not !
06-28-2006, 08:57 PM
lol...it all depends on the hero he had vax
if he had naix and 2 or 3 strength heros left the game and left him some nice items...u cah beat that
and as my views to leavers....i spoke of this before....if a man leaves cause he team losing i does get rel pissed off and shit but if something really happen i does jus say i go leave to even the game....no harm done and i doh care...i go wait for another
WHAT I HATE THOUGH
yuh see when men insist on joining a game and know they goin to lag like ass...that does frustrate me and i eh calling no names but oh frick man
mango
06-28-2006, 11:10 PM
>.<
i feel seven talkin bout me =(
i admit i laggin these days
not my fault nothing i can do about it
tstt foakin meh hard w/o lube
same reason y i doh play much anymore
just sit down in channel
make some random remarks
feel all alone >_<
but what i hate is.....
men who complain bout other men laggin, and they themselves who accusing are so omfg selling weapons of mass destruction.
imagine a man in frames making a better effort than men on there so called ''affordable'' dsl connections
pffft
and yes i stating this through my own experiences.
another thing that ticks me off
people who complain bout the lag and say
'' why you doh f^%@# buy mc dsl u f@#$ As!@$hole''
WELL YUH TINK IF IT WAS AFFORDABLE I WOULDA BUY IT??
DUHH
if u wa me get dsl so bad
pay for the mc thing for me then
some men sayin it cheap but most a dem men either livin with their parents so they doh hadda pay no other utilities (eg. water bill , light bill , loan on house etc.)
or they come from wealthy families
some others just have the money to spare ... no prob with that
but come nah man tink before allyuh make some a dem comments....
06-29-2006, 02:07 AM
^^ had a game like that a few weeks back. seemed as though the game could go on forever (2+ hrs?). decided to make the call for us to pool items and get a hero aegis rapier....was either that or simply lose player by player until no one would want to play anymore :cool:
haha mg thaz the longg ass game where lancer had to build the rapier?? or is that a nex game??
06-29-2006, 02:09 AM
>.<
i feel seven talkin bout me =(
i admit i laggin these days
not my fault nothing i can do about it
tstt foakin meh hard w/o lube
same reason y i doh play much anymore
just sit down in channel
make some random remarks
feel all alone >_<
but what i hate is.....
men who complain bout other men laggin, and they themselves who accusing are so omfg selling weapons of mass destruction.
imagine a man in frames making a better effort than men on there so called ''affordable'' dsl connections
pffft
and yes i stating this through my own experiences.
another thing that ticks me off
people who complain bout the lag and say
'' why you doh f^%@# buy mc dsl u f@#$ As!@$hole''
WELL YUH TINK IF IT WAS AFFORDABLE I WOULDA BUY IT??
DUHH
if u wa me get dsl so bad
pay for the mc thing for me then
some men sayin it cheap but most a dem men either livin with their parents so they doh hadda pay no other utilities (eg. water bill , light bill , loan on house etc.)
or they come from wealthy families
some others just have the money to spare ... no prob with that
but come nah man tink before allyuh make some a dem comments....
ENT MANGOOO!!!!!
haha mg thaz the longg ass game where lancer had to build the rapier?? or is that a nex game??
hmm not too sure which hero had the rapier nuh. think i recall playin pudge and tanking it out. think enu was in that one, cah remember his hero. believe snigies had phantom lancer but he had left/lagged out though (was for the better cuz he was sellin lol)..and the game just kept goin and goin. was gettin late and men start complainin bout being sleep and/or having to buss out.
i say frig dat, lewe end it :D
rapiers end games..if u get one u might finish the game right there and then..or they kill yuh mc and finish the game wit ur rapier lol
either way...game done lol