View Full Version : Great Free Software for Windows
06-26-2006, 06:35 PM
Everyone Feel free to add to this list.(No discussions please, use my format for posting, and why you like the software)
Firefox-http://www.mozilla.org/products/firefox/
Down with Internet Explorer, even though there are a shitload of memory leaks in this browser, its a gazillion times better than Microsofts attempt.
Ad-Aware Personal http://www.lavasoftusa.com/software/adaware/
Keep your computer spyware free!
iTunes - http://www.apple.com/itunes/
YES it works on windows, and organizes your mp3s as good as can be. Makes searching easy as pie.
06-27-2006, 07:55 AM
Ares - http://aresgalaxy.sourceforge.net/
Great for downloading music , videos and yes.. nr0p.
Topaz Chat - http://trinigamers.com/forums/downloads.php?do=file&id=3&act=down :D
Excellent server chatting software :)
06-29-2006, 10:36 AM
Audacity - http://audacity.sourceforge.net/ <-- Nice light sound editing programme, great for editing mp3s for ring tones.
AVG - http://free.grisoft.com/doc/1 - Free antivirus, frequent updates and light 2 bad.
VLC - http://www.videolan.org - Free media player that plays almost EVERYTHING. Xvid, Divx, Dvds, MP3s right down the line.
uTorrent - http://www.utorrent.com/ - Amazing torrent manager, i just love it.
06-29-2006, 11:06 AM
Xat Image Optimiser trial version http://www.xat.com allows you to compress and convert image files in entire BATCHES.
06-29-2006, 11:13 AM
BS Player- http://www.bsplayer.org/
like VLC but i dont like the way VLC scrolls through stuff.
Source Forge - http://sourceforge.net/
The library of open source applications,feel free to browse for ANYTHING
06-29-2006, 08:28 PM
www.shareaza.com , one of the best free P2P programs.. alot like Aries and Kazaa have spyware fuh so... This is better than all , it IS all , you can use Kazaa/Morpheus network , Edonkey's network , Bittrorents and the Limewire network at the same time...
If eg. a torrent has people on kazaa with the same file , you can boost downloads that way..
07-06-2006, 05:39 PM
CCleaner (http://www.filehippo.com/download_ccleaner/) Will clean your Windows, fix registry and make you breakfast if you ask nicely. Unlocker (http://ccollomb.free.fr/unlocker/) Will allow you to rename, move, DELETEL or identify and KILL the process that locks any file. Noobs beware. Sysinternals Freeware utilites (http://www.sysinternals.com/Utilities.html) Bunch of low level utilies for control phreaks and tweakers. To numerious to discribe each.
07-06-2006, 05:54 PM
grabit http://www.shemes.com (http://www.shemes.com/) for the best newsgroup archieving software
gordian knot from http://www.doom9.org (http://www.doom9.org/) for their very good encoding compilation software
super http://www.erightsoft.com/SUPER.html the swiss army knife for encoding, audio video or what ever compression
7zip http://www.7-zip.org/ - a really powerful archiving suite using the 7zip (.7z) file format.
Matroska Pack http://www.matroska.org/downloads/windows.html - encoding / playing mkv, avi, divx, mp4, xvid etc. Quite a few apps to choose from here depending on your needs. Matroska pack is a codec pack which plays most encoded video. A media player is also available, as well as file splitting utilities, encoding tools etc.
Real Alternative http://www.free-codecs.com/download/Real_Alternative.htm - one of my favourites. If you have realplayer installed, you are a noob, no 2 ways about it. get this and play rmvb format videos as well as all realplayer encoded files.
ZIDRAV http://sourceforge.net/projects/zidrav/ - suppose you downloaded this huge file from the net and got a crc error when u done, but u have a buddy who downloaded the same huge file, this app can be used to fix your corrupted file using his good copy and the fix can be applied to the broken one. A must have for ftp server hosts and leechers.
richjob
07-21-2006, 05:08 PM
Hm.
ClamAV.
piglet
08-03-2006, 12:23 AM
nLite http://nliteos.com (http://nliteos.com/)- Windows installation customizer.
Allows users to integrate service packs / Hotfixes, remove components, add drivers, create an unattended setup..etc to a windows installation source.
08-03-2006, 08:30 AM
SpyBot Search & Destroy - This program should be able to clean most infections barring some real nasty ones -http://fileforum.betanews.com/detail/Spybot_Search_and_Destroy/1043809773/1
Spyware Blaster - This program adds known bad sites to your Internet Explorer restricted zone so they cannot hit you with those "Drive-by Downloads" and also blocks tracking cookies from Internet Explorer, Mozilla, and Firefox - http://www.download.com/SpywareBlaster/3000-8022-10196637.html?part=dl-SpywareBl&subj=dl&tag=button
Daemon Tools - Great for Image Loading -http://www.daemon-tools.cc/dtcc/download.php?mode=ViewCategory&catid=5
Sygate Personal Firewall - Being on the internet anymore requires that you have a firewall, this is the best -http://www.simtel.net/product.download.mirrors.php?id=53687
Ewido Anti-Malware - Great anti spyware protection! Highly Recommend! - http://www.ewido.net/en/download/
12-07-2006, 03:44 PM
ha i will pwn bases with this one and its a must to know now.
LINUX, time to start looking at great free OSes, and u pick your flavour
http://distrowatch.com/
OpenOffice its free and even better than MS Office
http://www.openoffice.org (http://www.openoffice.org/)
well, while yuh at it...
http://www.linuxiso.org <---all distros with tons of bandwidth
http://www.redhat.org/fedora <--the fedora project (most bloated distro available)
12-11-2007, 08:59 AM
Auslogic Disk Defrag - http://www.auslogics.com
12-12-2007, 02:28 AM
Process Explorer
a nice little tool from Microsoft that works
http://www.microsoft.com/technet/sysinternals/utilities/processexplorer.mspx
GET WHAT?? FLASHGET!!!
yes its free not even with 1 ad, download everyting with it even torrent
http://www.flashget.com/index_en.htm
12-12-2007, 08:01 AM
Atuoruns - Another cool microsoft tool. Advanced msconfig iymc!
http://www.microsoft.com/technet/sysinternals/Utilities/AutoRuns.mspx
06-23-2008, 12:22 PM
CDBurnerXP (http://www.cdburnerxp.se/)
It works in Vista(64) as well. Small but has all the features you would normally use and then some. Why bother to pirate Nero when you have this sweet gem.
wildchild
06-25-2008, 04:57 AM
Internet Download Manager
http://www.internetdownloadmanager.com/
Integrates into everything - firefox, IE, etc. And supports downloads from anything - YouTube, googlevideo etc. And it's ALOT faster than the leading brand, high speed users get a huge boost from this software. Dial up users move faster than normal. And it has a resume feature.
Microsoft Student with Encarta Premium 2008
http://www.microsoft.com/products/encarta/default.mspx
If i had this when i was younger i'd would've rocked all my assignments. Contains 60,000+ authors on various articles, foreign language tools, hoss de thing even have a program called 'microsoft math' with trigs and calculus assists...just input an equation and it shows you a step by step soultion...i mean....wtf...with explanations....wtf...get it now if you have little cousins or kids. They will thank you when they get older.
10-21-2008, 12:26 PM
Defraggler
http://filehippo.com/download_defraggler/