View Full Version : Galactic Civilizations 11 (dread lords)!!!

06-13-2006, 07:17 PM
Well this game is a turn base strategy game ( extremly similar to civ 4 ) based in out of space. If any one remembers stellar frontier ( ahh ole 3rd person outta space shooter/coloniser ) dis game is d strategy version of it which kinda looks like sid mier's alpha centuri ( graphics wise ). There are 10 different civilizations ( aside from the original 4 from stellar frontier ) all with "specialist abilities" when i say specialist i do mean this in in the most miniscule sense since 2 civs are on extreme ends of the spectrum i.e. either economic/militaristic while the other civs are some combination of those 2.
Basic game play is ok great... get a few colonies to habital planets expand economy as fast as possible build a starport near d "front" use front loosely here cause techinally there willl always be 4 fronts (no matter wha part ahh space dey attack from) Cool we build we starport den we get some fleets of ships and den either try tuh domintate culturally, economically or d good ole fashion way of military conquest !
Sound familiar ? yeah is civ 4 in space most defintely especially d research tree OMG ! if u expand it tuh full screen it huge and worse yet if u learn another civ's starting tech guess wha u have dat tree too !
My review ahh dis game can be summed up in 1 word.... ???
Hmm LONG !!!! OMG dis damn game long yuh ting civ 4 was long ? well dis ting long 10 hours playin now and i just build meh fuss armada ( 8 fleets of ships comprising of various ships ( both transport and destroyers and battle cruisers of which half get wipe out by damn PIRATES ! yeah u heard me right damn pirates wipe me out yet again ( i beginnin tuh hate dis game cause same crap use to happen in civ 4-barbarians with friggin planes ? dis time dem men have anti matter laser guided nukes with frigiin cloaking systems i $hit u not !!! )
All and all is ahh decent game real huge multiplay online.
UPS :
1. Customs ships can be built/designed too ( one can literally have a ship no one else has !
2. "Anomolies" exiting in space adding a lil flavour tuh d unknown
3. Battle are a little more "fair" (unlike civ 4 where dem dice was loaded in favour ahh dem damn barbarians)

Downs:
1. OMG dat game long !
2. it turn base ( it did not need to be )
3. Micro'ing of battles is hilarious especially land/terran based battles jokey @ fuss buh irttitating after a while ( might as well auto fight land battles / buh yuh will have tuh deal with some loaded dice )
4. OMG DAT GAME LONG !

06-14-2006, 11:33 PM
I love this review

Definitely a sidestep from the typical seriousness and monotony of a cookie cutter review. This summed up the game and was really hilarious.