View Full Version : Computex: 6.06.06
First thing I see is the date that that this event launches..... Talk about prohetic!
Will AMD buy ATi?
Will there be any AM2 shockers???
What about conroe? is he gonna hit 5GHz?
Will the PS3 run SLI to compensate for the gpu speed being half the speed of the xbox 360?
Why does ATi want a third x16 slot for?
don't expect answers to any of these questions, but don't be surprised if the answers show up over the next couple of days :)
06-06-2006, 11:11 AM
i'm gonna guess the third pci-e slot is gonna be for their gpu/ppu
yeah that was actually announced this morning.... ATi bencharked an x1600 redering using the havoc engine against ageia's physx. The synthetic benchies that ATi cards just love...
Turns out that the benchmark renders lots of stones falling and rolling down a hillside. The x1600 beats the physx.... almost double the score actually. We will have to wait on real games to finalize this result though.
06-06-2006, 05:33 PM
couldn't u just use two cards ?
one for gaming other for physics or use em both in crossfire if/when needed?
yeah u could, but while you might want to get a high end vpu for graphics, u wouldnt want to buy another high end card for physics, since it is likely to under - utilized. The system enables xfire, and another card for physics. The physics card can be any ati based card which supports havoc. I like the idea of mixing cards.
Also, a third slot makes them more money XD
06-06-2006, 09:25 PM
now if ati was smart enough and say get de cards to run at 4x and it compatible with say nvidia cards, and it works out well that way
ati go have the x16000 selling like fricking hot bread
but yeah right
i see no reason why an ati card cannot work with an nvidia setup if used for physics. It should be the same as using a PHYSX, but just and ATI card. If drivers however disable this from happening, that is a totally different story, and since ATi needs to infringe on NVIDIA's market, i doh think it would be in their best interest to disable such a thing.
06-06-2006, 10:22 PM
Will the PS3 run SLI to compensate for the gpu speed being half the speed of the xbox 360?
bull sh!t , the xbox has 48 generic pipelines ie. they have to do Both pixel And vetrex and are slower at both than the ps3's 24 pixel pipelines and howevermany vetrex...
They'r almost the same damned speed , just the Xbox will pwn in sythetic benches , as you can make all 48 do pixels in a pixels-only situation , and all 48 to vertrex.. so naturally synthetic numbers will be 2x the ps3 , but real world gaming will be the same almost...
The X1900xt has 48 pixel shaders and the 7900 gtx keeps up just fine..
( well most of the time :P)
AMD has no money to buy out ATI.. ati is worth 4.8 billion , and amd only makes 5 billion or so in revenue .. most of which goes right back into producing fabs and research... A merger may be possible but i doubt it will happen..
Conroe already hit 5ghz on ln2...
mostly Bullsh!t from the inquirer , the people there spell ''stake'' ''steak''