View Full Version : New isp : Columbus Communications

06-03-2006, 06:11 PM
A new isp is about to release offering Broadband , Cable and phone services via optic fiber . They have access to inter island fiber links so no worries about latency and bandwidth... They operate under the brand name ''Flow'' .
Flow in jamaica offers speeds from 1mbit for 650 Jamaican (65 tt) to 3mbit for 2500 jamaican ( 250tt) .. If we see even half that speed down here for double the price it would be a HUGE improvement over tstt .

www.flowjamaica.com

flow-trinidad.com ( under construction)

06-03-2006, 06:22 PM
THey put a launch date yet?

06-03-2006, 06:26 PM
columbus for the win, I hadda chekc out their latencies but if its as good as they say Trinidad getting some GREAT internet finally.

06-03-2006, 07:17 PM
yay we cud pwn para in cod online :D

this gonna pressure tstt to lower rates and increase quality of service though.hopefully abolish 56k..well..make it dirt cheap, like a lil $50-100 a month unlimited

06-03-2006, 07:20 PM
I hope when they DO launch...or just before that Tstt doubles dsl speeds ;)

Right now they holding back on us.

06-04-2006, 07:43 PM
I hope when they DO launch...or just before that Tstt doubles dsl speeds ;)

Same here.

06-04-2006, 08:37 PM
Look kayode!

06-04-2006, 08:40 PM
look spam!! :P

06-04-2006, 10:05 PM
AAANYWAY!!!

you all talkin bout the speeds and cost of dsl...but u not considering the costs of the cable connection...

just wait and see

06-04-2006, 11:06 PM
eh?
/me don't understand

06-04-2006, 11:56 PM
im saying wait till it comes fully onstream before comparing...tstt might surprise us...along with the additional costs to the cable...and then another charge for the net connection.

u know they like to rape a consumer in this country

06-05-2006, 12:12 PM
they won't charge you for running cable , They plan to deliver TV and phone services through the same cables , so they'll blanket the country anyhow you take it...
It will be like old copper cable networks but with near unlimited bandwidth potential.. so no worries about high pings or drops in speed.

06-05-2006, 12:23 PM
they increasing prices trinimc...lets see by how much...then they'll charge extra for eavh service

06-05-2006, 01:12 PM
Xe is right to be concerned about the pricing but if they do deliver i am willing to pay a few $100 more to get their service. Coax is MUCH more reliable a medium than POT, lets hope they dont go wireless..

Lets not get carried away with the unlimited bandwidth trini, there is a limit but its pretty decent and much more reliable. May I ask where are you getting your information from?

06-05-2006, 01:57 PM
one of my friends did an advertisement for the company .. thats my source..
He told me to expect speeds up to 5mbit for higher end packages...

The prices will be LOWER than currant DSL pricing , in jamaica the same company is offering rates a fraction of what Cable and Wireless does and several times the speed , they plan to steal away TSTT's market for both dailup And dsl with low priced broadband...

They are using optic fibre only as far is i hear..

06-05-2006, 02:05 PM
Well if so....I jumping on it faster than xec on a hooker.

06-05-2006, 02:23 PM
I go be on dat like channa on roti

06-05-2006, 03:20 PM
faster than andro on a whitey :D

06-05-2006, 03:26 PM
Daz turtle speed then?

WE NEED A LAUNCH DATE!!!!

06-05-2006, 03:28 PM
I got some confirmation from a member of management in my dept, columbus is forming a fibre network from miami to each of the caribbean countries its in, I believe they will use this for the internet.

This also means that any gamers in the caribbean using columbus can have a nice gaming community. I was asked to do some programming work for them on a gaming portal dunno if they still going thru wit that (i declined).

06-05-2006, 04:03 PM
lol@ andro.. hmm.. para i see blizzard looking for programers... hmm.. maybe i shud go.. i can do a lil thing.. i think .. umm

if(tv channel = 03)
{
change
}
else
if ( tv channel = 61)
{
change
}
else
{
leave as is
}
BLOI!:cool:

06-05-2006, 04:23 PM
switch(tv_channel){
case "03":
this.state = "change";
break;
case "61":
this.state = "change";
break;
default:
this.state="leave as is"
}

I am partial to a switch block when dealing with >=3 ifs that may increase with further development ;)..

Can't wait for some SOLID (something in papers or TV) backing up the prices ;) AND i hope it will be available to anyone with cable.

06-05-2006, 04:27 PM
Although I didnt rush DSL..I will be rushing this.

06-05-2006, 04:30 PM
muss rush..

06-05-2006, 11:13 PM
aye no shit thas for real???that is real real good..i goin n rush that weee...if its tru finally some high quality internet..to sweat online!!!!

!doomtack!
06-06-2006, 01:04 AM
well i jump on the high speed internet bandwagon at the right time.
i was only now considerin takin tstt dslm as is d fastest we had...
but now, of course is Columbus FTW!

06-06-2006, 02:27 AM
I trying to get an ETA for you guys, might be hyping ourselves and this thing not coming out till 2010...

06-06-2006, 08:43 AM
2010.. WDMC.. :@ man ponging dota 50.45b by then.. steups

06-06-2006, 09:34 AM
That sounds about right, cuz they did say that the service will be rolled out on a phased basis, depending on which areas have been upgraded to digital...which they mentioned would be over the next 4 years before the entire country is covered....

So it seems that a 1-2 yr EV-DO contract may still be a likely proposition for me :(.

06-06-2006, 10:43 AM
from what i heard its gonna take them 36 months to run all the fiber optic line. starting from south, central and east and then west where it is expected to be in the most demand.

06-06-2006, 03:29 PM
Cables done up in my street :)

06-06-2006, 03:32 PM
wda, how can you tell if the 'cables' are hooked up? Saw them doing some work and asked them?

06-06-2006, 07:54 PM
We need an inside 'man' or 'woman'

06-17-2006, 12:01 PM
So I hearing they saying "July" when you call and ask.

06-17-2006, 01:00 PM
u called?

06-17-2006, 02:01 PM
Ppl I know did.

06-17-2006, 09:25 PM
for the internet ?

06-17-2006, 11:41 PM
tell me more anyone..i wud do anything to not use 56k again in my life!!

06-18-2006, 12:37 AM
lol i was in dat game where u lag like a whore.....

i hope they start soon for your sake.