View Full Version : Help soldier's pc? :D
05-23-2006, 03:15 PM
Ok. So with this small work I have here. I said, why not buy a new pc instead of this damn dell I have here. Well. Turns out job not paying AS MUCH as i expected :( . So i'm cut back about 3000$ . So I'm thinkin f**k it. I'll keep what I have now and just modify it. Change that crappy dell case and get something real bad. Get some more ram, a better video card , a new hdd and a beter psu. My main problem with that is this shit motherboard have only 2 pci slots [ moden and sound card in dey ] and well d pci-e right there, so my current 6600gt fan on the sound card [ how gay ]. Wit a better video card it'll be the same if not worse??? will it?
So that was what i was planning to do.. unless you all think I can beast out a pc with arounf 7000$.. can i? some advice? please? That 7000 is minus dvd burner , sound card, modem ] that 7g's hadda include a new monitor 2 -.-"
So what do u, the 'experts' advise? Just mod up the one i have or buy a new one with about 7g's?
Right now I have :
2.8ghz ht technology
Intel mobo
2x256mb ddr2 400mhz [ YES IS DDR2 AND 400MHZ.. gay dell ]
6600gt
80gb serial ata
creative audigy sound blaster sound card [5.1 surround]
15 inch lcd
dvd-rw
cd-r
56k modem
yea.. das basically about it.. meh. weak. i know.. advice please :D
05-23-2006, 04:20 PM
My opinion, MOD what you have. Cheaper that way.
I would advise you to up your ram to atleast 1gb (2x512) or preferably 2x1gb, 533 DDR2 should 'underclock' itself to match your 400MHz so feel free to buy DDR2 533 or sumptin. HMM but you have a dell so it might not adhere to logic.
Throw in a 300gb sata hdd.
For dota the 6600gt should hold you off well!!! AGP/PCIe?
rofl @ not adhere to logic!!!
/me remembers the PC133 for PC100 mem thread.
Yes DELL can be really ghey when it comes to compatibility
05-23-2006, 04:43 PM
Yep,makes sense to just get a new case and ram. That system is good as it is.
Nice case for u:
Antec Super Lanboy $76US
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16811129145
Since you got so much cash to play around with, buy a nice 2gb (2x1GB) and save the extra $ and buy a next gen console ;)
05-23-2006, 04:44 PM
well me and veg was talkin about it... we decided to mod it as well..
didn't really talk about underworking ram but das a good idea.. what we came up wih so far is ..
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16835106061
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16811133145
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16817148008
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814130015 [ para u really think d 6600gt pci e go hold > ]
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813131578 [ hadda buy a new mobo ]
let me know wuh allyuh think -.-"
was gooin to buy new ram buh.. hmm will think about the 533 undercloing..
05-23-2006, 05:01 PM
Lan boy is a VERY good case esp if you plan to take it to sweats and such.
05-23-2006, 05:02 PM
oh ho@ lan.. right right ... buh what if i wuh pong sum hard fps? go hadda go 7900 -.-" ?!!
05-23-2006, 05:10 PM
well new case means new mobo :(
i guess igo strick wid d 6600gt for now.. jus get ram, and case? and d cooling?
para i hear u is ship from new egg.. u can link ah nigga? :)
oh ho. my hdd f**ked so i need a new one..
05-23-2006, 05:33 PM
new case means new mobo for u dell doh make standard atx mobos
and my best advice to upgrade is ram right there, get atleast 1gb now
05-24-2006, 07:32 AM
jah.. was gonna upgrade.. buh parents doh wuh me interfere wid d dell.. they think is a 'gosu' pc. *rolls eyes* Go end up building a new one maybe. they say they go gimme some $$! WOOT!! :D
05-24-2006, 10:43 AM
Cyah go wrong with a 7900GT for bang/buck ;)
The x1800xt should be a consideration as well if you are looking for a vidcard in this price range.
Yeah i bring in stuff from newegg, if you can hook me up with $$ upfront i'll hit you a bley.
05-24-2006, 10:48 AM
Well yea. 7900 ftw :D. Is there any greater ?:p.. oh ho@ money before hand -.-" Well we go see what goin on dey..
05-24-2006, 04:10 PM
So me and andro workin on my new pc here.. minor problem.. we need some advice as to wherther these ram cooler fans will fit with the typhoon in there as well ..
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813131578 <-- mobo
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16835106061 <-- typhoon
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16835119011 <-- ram coolers..
will they fit ? what you all think ?
05-24-2006, 04:29 PM
with ah big typhoon, u doh need those fans on de ram.
that fan big enough to cool everyting on that upper part of de mobo
serious
05-24-2006, 04:30 PM
really? is that so .. hmm.. thanks opi
05-24-2006, 04:34 PM
imo its not even needed, stock hsf is good enough.
05-24-2006, 04:39 PM
Well here's what my new pc should look like. It ain't beast but..sigh .. :(
[PERFORMANCE]
eVGA Geforce 7900GT KO 256-P2-N564 Video Card - Retail $274.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814130015
Thermaltake Big Typhoon - $54.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16835106061
http://images10.newegg.com/Nest/none.gifIntel Pentium 4 630 800MHz FSB LGA 775 EM64T Processor -$167.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819116198
Aspire ATX AS520W Black Power Supplu - $59.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16817148008
Asus P5ND2-SLI ATX Intel Motherboard - $89.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813131578
OCZ Gold Series 1GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM Unbuffered DDR2 667 (PC2 5400) System Memory - $106.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820227043
Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 SATA NCQ 3Gb/s 160GB 3.5" SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - $73.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16822148105
[OTHER]
Antec SUPER LANBOY Silver Computer Case With Side Panel Window - $76
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16811129145
Logitech Internet Pro Desktop Black wired keyboard. - $17.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16823126152
Monitor - 17inch crt [buyin locally ]
[ Using Creative Audigy sound blaster card I already have ]
Like I said. It ain't much. It'll do though :(
Much thanks to andro
camrachI
05-24-2006, 04:48 PM
The CPU cooler is the CPU cooler! Simple. The fan on the Typhoon is made for sucking the hot "spent" air off of the heatsink of the typhoon itself. It's an independant system from the ram cooler. It's moving hot air, not spreading cool fresh air. If you think you need a ram cooler, then buy it. Coolers do not share air. Simple as that. The typhoon is NOT going to cool that entire system. IT IS THERE TO ONLY SUCK HOT AIR FROM IT'S HEATSINK COMPONENTS.
05-24-2006, 04:53 PM
Agreed. That's why the ram cooler is noton the list any more..
05-24-2006, 06:33 PM
I really out of this..but am I the only one that thinks 7000 is the decent amount of money for a system?
Salvage what useable parts from the dell...and rebuild.
05-24-2006, 08:10 PM
O_o with 7000< well about agrand more or so>
i made a good pc with
my x1900xt -_O AMD loves u
05-25-2006, 08:16 AM
Hmm.. Like dinesh didn't read the part about rents saying don't touch the dell -.-"
Smalls.. This Pc should hold out just fine..
weak x1900xt
/me 's Intel pawns Kaizens AMD for an extra 1.8 ghz
05-26-2006, 09:25 AM
faster aint better,wdmc :S
amd fo life :)
05-26-2006, 09:49 AM
pffft@ stability :@
05-26-2006, 12:16 PM
The list has been edited.. Changes appear to be final. Total comes up to UD$1246 [ shipping not included ] .
Please advise accordingly. Will upgrade it as time passes..
05-26-2006, 08:06 PM
so what is final??
Is basically multiply the USD x 10 to roughly check the costs of shipping.
06-09-2006, 11:05 AM
Final listing..
[PERFORMANCE]
eVGA Geforce 7900GT KO 256-P2-N564 Video Card - Retail $274.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130015 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814130015)
Thermaltake Big Typhoon - $54.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835106061 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16835106061)
http://images10.newegg.com/Nest/none.gifIntel Pentium 4 630 800MHz FSB LGA 775 EM64T Processor -$167.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819116198 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819116198)
Aspire ATX AS520W Black Power Supply - $59.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817148008 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16817148008)
Asus P5ND2-SLI ATX Intel Motherboard - $89.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131578 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813131578)
OCZ Gold Series 1GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM Unbuffered DDR2 667 (PC2 5400) System Memory - $106.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227043 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820227043)
Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 SATA NCQ 3Gb/s 160GB 3.5" SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - $73.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148105 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16822148105)
[OTHER]
Antec SUPER LANBOY Silver Computer Case With Side Panel Window - $76
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811129145 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16811129145)
Logitech Internet Pro Desktop Black wired keyboard. - $17.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16823126152 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16823126152)
19inch CRT Flat Screen buying locally - around $1200TTD
Sound card and speakers from current machine
DVD-RW from current machine
Das about it.. yes.. I know.. should have gone AMD. Blah blah :(
Total price comes up to roughlty $9000.00 TTD
You do know that there some scheduled price cuts for boths sides, AMD and INTEL which will would be refelected in the retail market over the next month right.....
Also Intel is expected to get a real performance boost in their nextgen core architecture. I believe that the new cpus will be supported by the current chipsets and sockets, and the performance from these new cpus from intel, are on par with AMD' s current performance.
Maybe u want to wait a bit?
06-09-2006, 10:48 PM
Newer Technology = more money?
I can't afford anything more mojo. If I could have, I would have waited.. I really would..sigh..
06-10-2006, 03:03 AM
now this is where u should be shocked about
once u dont hit their high range products it actually cheaper
what mojo is talking about is the conroe series and it is cheaper, well not as cheap as the 630 p4 u looking at but its brand new dual core and kicks brass like no other
even if it not cheaper, when they release, teh current offerings will be cheaper in some cases prices are reduced by over 50%
06-11-2006, 11:35 AM
I say it ent make sence building a dred pc casue 3 to 4 years it go be s@&%.....:cool: :D
06-11-2006, 11:54 AM
ok then..
Doh make sence buying a bake and shark niether cuz it gonna spoil if u leave it too long.
06-11-2006, 12:12 PM
you actually entertainin weak ladraxxx statement dinesh?lol
06-11-2006, 01:04 PM
I'm a very entertaining person.
06-12-2006, 07:36 AM
Well. I'm buying what I can afford. The system ain't beast out, but it's decent. It works for me and will be able to do what I want it too.. Dosen't that count for something?
06-13-2006, 07:11 PM
omg no not intel
sigh@ soldier
you know better than to buy intel >.<
i do belive a similarly performing AMD rig would have been a bit cheaper but to each his own.
if you need any lanboy info just ask me. i cyah take no measurements or nothing atm since my lanboy in the US. But if you need pics and thing I should be able to link some. I could give you some lil tips on installing parts in the case when you ready to build. Also the BT is a great cooler but a pain to install so make sure everything is up and running fine before you install the mobo in the case.
Good luck with the PC son :)
06-14-2006, 07:27 AM
/me Agrees with to each his own.
Ahh. Crazy. The LanBoy indeed. So i saw all those. Don't know if you have others you would like to share.
Contact me pertaining to tips, tricks, do's and don'ts please :)