View Full Version : PS3 User Interface exposed
05-17-2006, 05:26 PM
Earlier this week Sony demonstrated its new UI at E3 2006, the user interface is quite similar to that of the PSP a conscious choice as Sony has stressed that it sees the two devices as complimentary. The user interface will have all the usual options as well as profiling for users to make the system more 'family oriented'.
Below are links to the videos of the demo.
http://youtube.com/watch?v=1mq5job_en0&search=ps3
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Oyd041cYyzc&eurl=
05-17-2006, 08:55 PM
nice...
i like how they actually have the browser etc. PSP(3) FTW!!!
didn't they also demo a blu ray burner on a laptop at E3?
They played a bootleg version of house of flying daggers on a Verbatim DVD+R and said that it was "Blu Ray"
lol, nice browser interface though.
05-17-2006, 11:31 PM
*cough* we have a blue ray burner at work *cough* sony real wanna beat out HD *cough*
well take some pics nah doxxx
05-18-2006, 01:40 AM
Camera not with me.. I guess i can get one to take the pic (considering where I work). Its not your PC style burner though, its like a standalone version. Its really nice to see that sony is marketing directly to their customers, Here is a bluray burner try it out for a few weeks (LoL)
05-18-2006, 02:07 PM
Here's a question.>
how much use would the ability to link the PSP with the PS3 actually get from developers? Nintendo attempted this with the Cube and GBA ad it failed to make a truly positive impression, what does Sont need to do to make sure there attempt is better?
05-18-2006, 02:22 PM
well sony and nintendo is 2 totally different company
never unestimate sony
look at the boomrang they bring out at first and look now
they bring back the same controller with motion sensors
6 axis or x y and z in other words
it will be a great feature if they could do this
if yuh watching a movie on the ps3 and yuh could watch it in the psp through stream
now thats a home system
and i think they will use the psp as a game controler and thing but just 2 buttons missing doh
a remote will be fine too
there is alot of ways to have a psp and a ps3 working together
but the streaming will be the best :)
05-19-2006, 12:49 PM
that argument does not convince me at all.
yes they are 2 different companies, but innovation is not Sony's strong point.
the controller does not have a motion sensor, it has a TILT sensor.
the streaming might be a good idea, might be able to make a small home network of sorts i guess.
game controller... big whoop
sorry but i just really can't see how successful this will be for Sony
05-22-2006, 02:24 PM
If nintendo can't do it no one can?
I can only hope that their effort will bear more fruit than Nintendo, it just one of those things you just have to wait for.. Sony might pull of a gosu move and surprise us
05-22-2006, 03:17 PM
what i'm saying is that one company used it and realised that it is not as viable today in the gaming world, so sony just beating adead horse as far as i see.
05-22-2006, 05:15 PM
ok well as you may know the psp can alraedy stream video and audio from a home network
oh wait you may not know that....
hmm just update your psp!!!
05-23-2006, 09:33 AM
i like the streaming idea, it's cool. but realistically speaking how much use do you think it will be getting in the mass market?
camrachI
05-23-2006, 11:01 AM
well sony and nintendo is 2 totally different company
never unestimate sony
look at the boomrang they bring out at first and look now
they bring back the same controller with motion sensors
6 axis or x y and z in other words
it will be a great feature if they could do this
if yuh watching a movie on the ps3 and yuh could watch it in the psp through stream
now thats a home system
and i think they will use the psp as a game controler and thing but just 2 buttons missing doh
a remote will be fine too
there is alot of ways to have a psp and a ps3 working together
but the streaming will be the best :)
LOL! WHAHAHA LMAO!
Don't you mean, "ALWAYS" underestimate Sony? Cause I hope that's what you meant! I'm not even addressing that Kirby's Tilt N' Tumble controller.
This PSP connectivity that they are touting is nonsense. Nintendo proved this like three years ago. Take it from me, it's worthless. It did not work for Dreamcast, it did not work for Nintendo, and it's not gonna be worthwhile for Sony and the PS3. You see what they used to demonstrate it? A wing mirror for some half-assed F1 game. What's the purpose of having ONE wing mirror?
Sony is touting 1080p, no one is going to buy a 1080p less than 30", IF 1080p TV's will be made that small when the medium comes in mainstream. Are you going to prop that PSP next to your 30"+ TV and sit back at a comfortable distance and see what's on that tiny PSP screen? Are you going to put it on your lap and have to look down ever so often to see what's going on, on there? Let's say they use it in Madden '08, are you going to have to put down you PS3 controller to pick up the PSP to choose a play every few seconds? With the poor battery life on the PSP, will the PSP be on constantly for a 4 hour gaming session? Why will I use a PSP as a PS3 controller when it lacks a REAL analog stick? Should I settle for 1/2 an analog stick and 3 less buttons?
Oh and about this streaming media stuff. Exatcly how many places have hotspots nowadays? In NYC, outside of starbucks, a few cafes, libraries, and the airports, hotspots aren't that common. What? I'll be able to stream a movie from my PS3 in the entertainment room to my psp while I'm "pooping"? Doesn't sound so great to me. Once again, Sony is pushing 1080p video so hard and so strong, how exactly is 1900 x 1080 going to look when compressed to 320 x 240? Will it be worthwhile?
I'm going to be able to stream MP3's, IF I manage to find a hotspot. Whoop tee doo! If they added a HDD in the PSP I would be able to take my entire MP3 stockpile with me, as opposed to having to stream from the PS3 to the PSP.
Sorry, I'm not sold. Ahg ahg! Try again.:rolleyes:
camrachI
05-23-2006, 11:08 AM
BTW, the XMB was shown @ TGS '04 and Kaz Hirai did confirm it was gonna be used for PS3. which technically makes this news OLDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD :P