View Full Version : The Da Vinci Code

05-16-2006, 11:00 AM
what yall think about it?

are you anti Davinci code because it is a bit of fiction that touches a soft spot when religion is concerned?

or are you like me and excited to see it because it is one of the best books you have ever read?

05-16-2006, 11:08 AM
Well personallly I think it's pretty stupid that so many intelligent people are raging like morons about the movie.

Looks great, it was the only book I read in the past few years..besides school work.

05-16-2006, 11:25 AM
Why doesn't MT have this movie in its line up???
You all saw it at CC8??

I really wanted to check either this out OR MI3 today. From what I've hear MI3 not all that hard?

05-16-2006, 11:32 AM
i awnt to see it....but mi3 was made from a "tv director" so it not as bad i hear

05-16-2006, 02:21 PM
Friday is the premiere ...$100 bucks @ MT

05-16-2006, 02:32 PM
Heard there are a few charity showings, I may consider helping a charity and taking in the premiere

05-17-2006, 11:36 AM
scene scene

well i heard its goin to be real good...critics love it

05-21-2006, 10:46 AM
Saw it last night.
Confusing if I had not read the book, the ending was queer, and the show felt very rushed to me.

A couple of my friends who had not read the book got lost at some points.

05-21-2006, 08:56 PM
i found it was superbly done...even though they had to cut out alot of the "padded" information....what sold the book was the feeling that everything being written was factual from a fictional story.(even though in the beginning of the book it is said that the opus dei and the other historical information was factual etc...)

05-22-2006, 12:40 AM
But Opus Dei is factual.

05-22-2006, 10:32 AM
Im hoping to get some time off on tuesday to go and check this movie out, it looks promising.

05-22-2006, 11:55 AM
should i read the books before i see the movie? sigh..i ent read ah book out side of school in my life..lol..but i saw the preview and read the review its lookin pretty coool..

05-22-2006, 01:04 PM
yes i suggest you read the book first. otherwise there are some things you would not be able to catch fully.

cant wait for dvd extended version

05-22-2006, 02:06 PM
Are you hoping for an extended version or know this as fact? (Im considering waiting for an extended version if its a sure deal)

05-22-2006, 02:46 PM
i have family in opus dei... the never kill anyone , actually i might be a member.. not sure...
Most of the book is fiction , there are no monks in opus dei , its made up of ordinary people only , the church actually supports s3x once it's inside marriage , you can have it as much as you want ( same opus dei family has 9 kids) .. The church honours women and deny's them only entering the priesthood , catholics are even accused of ''worshipping'' Mary the mother of Jesus..

Haven't seen it , but lots of reviews say it's boring..

05-22-2006, 05:02 PM
sigh. did you read the book?

was the monk in opus dei? or was he simply adopted by a member of it.

what happened in the book is fictional. but read the foreword where he says that the organisations etc are real. there is a distinct separation for the book

there is no reason for you to reinforce or tell us about sex, honouring women etc...

also, the information, though it may be given to make the reader be more involved mentally in the book is based in fact. it is placed there and a fictional story is weaved around it.

eg. Titanic (we all know what happened to the titianic...but the story with the romance etc. is fictional)

this is a trend in all of Dan Brown's books. there is always a deeply researched cog(excuse the teminology) that the rest of the story rolls upon.and (minus deception point) all of his books have been superbly written.

the placing of historical figures in books actually makes persons look into history to find the facts themselves asking themself "wow did that really happen?"

my advice is to read and enjoy the story, knowing exactly what it is...a story and enjoy it, or dont enjoy it due to your tastes on the literature.

then watch the movie and enjoy it, or dont enjoy it for the same reason. i enjoyed it because i loved the book and the movie remains very true to the book.

*oh and para i was reading how the Ron howard wanted alot more in the movie but the length was growing to be a problem so they edited it. this could be an indication as to the extended version but im of course not certain

05-22-2006, 05:57 PM
Kewl i'll go watch it tom if possible, heard the cinemas were PACKED over the weekend.

05-23-2006, 10:19 AM
i read de book and i loved the book, but that moive was well rushed, most of de important even though padded info went missing.
in the book there was 2 cryptex but only was used
in de first 4 minutes of de show dem went from chapter 1-4
WTF

well spoilt eh read de book and he find that VERY VERY confusing

and the whole show got changed up, and did not explain it self very well

05-23-2006, 10:36 AM
Not a show you want to watch with your GF ie missing parts of the show.

05-23-2006, 09:39 PM
not at all... and that is why i want to see the extended version opium.

the cryptex, the whole explination about davinci, the explination about the keepers, it was jsut too much to put in a movie

05-31-2006, 06:40 PM
whole movie was cconfusing to me...i never read the booksss..

05-31-2006, 06:57 PM
It wasn't that confusing, I think i understood the flow of the movie.
I didn't understand the 'grandpa wettin some chick and ppl watching thing' at first.

05-31-2006, 10:30 PM
yeah well para dat is all explained in the book. the guardians were the ones who took the beauty of the human body, both male and female so they would have rituals etc where grandpa get some sex.

that was the whole significance of the positioning of his body when he died

the whole significance of the mona lisa painting etc