View Full Version : I Need Some Opinions On This Camera

04-24-2006, 01:18 PM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?...N82E16830111006 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16830111006)

OLYMPUS FE-115 Champagne 5.0MP Digital Camera

i want to order one by the end of the week, and i need some opinions FAST.

Thanks

04-25-2006, 12:08 AM
5mp for that price? There must be flaws abound. Check reviews oui.

04-25-2006, 12:45 AM
The FE-115 is an upgrade to Olympus's previous low-end point-and-shoot camera, the FE-100. The biggest difference between the two is the FE-115's 5-megapixel sensor, offering a higher resolution than the FE-100's 4-megapixel sensor. Like all members of the FE series, the Olympus FE-115 focuses on making shots simple and automated. With little to no manual controls, this camera isn't for enthusiasts but might be a good choice for budget-minded photographic civilians who want a simple, inexpensive way to take pictures.

04-25-2006, 11:04 AM
simple point and shoot, easy for beginner use, my lil sister writing exams in a bit, this should make a good present for after.

04-25-2006, 11:23 AM
nice economy solution larry.
Optical Zoom - 2.8X that's pretty much standard for point and shoot cameras.
5 MP is good enough for professional grade cameras.
50 cm minimum focal length.... it's not for close ups of your hardware mods

Does not come with AC adapter.... not a con since the real con is that it uses AA batteries. If u choose to purchase rechargeable batteries (and it would be wise to) You will need to purchase a charger since the camera does not support a custom rechargeable batery pack. AA batteries have their limitations. You will need to walk around with an extra pair at all times.

I recommended getting one of those charger sets where u get 4 NiMH Cells and a rapid charger. Should cost about $100TT (do not buy from radioshack).

Olympus has a great reputation in the photography world. Expect excellent ergonomics and usability.

Dont ask me about preset modes and noob friendly controls, but the fact that there are no manually configurable apartaure and shutter speed functions suggests that this is a strictly amateur camera. If you are into photography, this will not interest you.

04-25-2006, 04:27 PM
i was wondering when you would have posted here, appreciate that piece of input, i was having similar thoughts about the batteries.

04-25-2006, 04:33 PM
i really out of it these days lars. Work, exams, and programming in .net for teh W0W server scripts.

Sometimes i doh check forums for a couple of days. I really mean it when i say it's a good economy solution. Lots of bang for your money.

05-29-2006, 09:11 PM
What about this camera?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16830150066

A good friend is looking at one before leaving tnt to study abroad...the design is pretty good imo.

She's dead SET on a Cybershot...I can't talk her out of it.

If not that, what can you recc for about 250 USD that IS a cybershot.

05-29-2006, 10:13 PM
basically, the camera has the same features as the one larry bought.

Major Differences.

The Cybershot uses a Li ion rechargeable battery. This is good because u can usualy shoot for longer without battery running out. It's bad because it might be expensive to replace if it goes bad. So this a half pro half con (more pro than con)

Another difference is that it uses a Sony Proprietory Storage medium. The memory stick duo if I'm not mistaken. From my experience, mostly Sony products use this storage device standard, and other camera manufacturers dont. I consider all sony media to be non standard, and hence a potential con. But then that just might be me exhibiting my anti sony bias.

05-29-2006, 10:14 PM
Aren't there ones that can use Sandisk cards?

05-29-2006, 10:21 PM
lol. yes there are generic menory stick duo cards. And the manufacturers have to pay royalties to Sony for use of the technology.

05-31-2006, 07:34 PM
Aren't there ones that can use Sandisk cards?
yes sandisk makes ms duo and all those other sony products
but look at it in the long run
yuh go get to use the memory stick in the ps3 :)
well the high price ps3 that is the lower one doh have memory stick
and dinesh if i was you i will really go with sony cam

05-31-2006, 10:08 PM
Well, the camera is not for Dinesh, it's for a chick, who doesn't know much about cameras or tech, so i guess sony is a good option for her, but why would you recommend a Sony camera for a GAMERS member? What features make a Sony Camera good? I am more than ready to debate this topic with anyone...

06-16-2006, 01:06 PM
Recently brought in a 5mp camera for a friend
duty costs on it were US$128.00 via upexpress

Beware when bringing in cameras, try to get someone to bring it in for you.

06-16-2006, 02:00 PM
shaft!!!!!!
fyah bun customs fi dat!!!

oh yeah para, i get shafted worse than that. Duties on that Thermaltake TR2 psu which i sold you was 245TT for a $39.99 USD psu.