View Full Version : Crazy's Vf700-cu Installation

04-10-2006, 10:43 PM
Finally got the time to walk out the road and buy some 91% Isopropyl Alcohol and get to work on my GTX and VF700-Cu LED.
Everything went pretty smooth as I knew the procedure by heart. Enjoyed the lil nerve wrecking moment when applying AS5 to the GPU core but it well better than i thought :D
For now temps dropped 10C on both idle and load, 52/72 --> 42/62 with fresh AS5. Expecting even lower temps when it cures ;)
Gots some pics for teh pplz:
Before:
http://crazyangel.ultra-gamers.com/PC/VF700_Worklog/VF700_Worklog.JPG

After:
http://crazyangel.ultra-gamers.com/PC/VF700_Worklog/VF700_Worklog%20(9).JPG

Rest of the pics: http://crazyangel.ultra-gamers.com/PC/VF700_Worklog/

04-11-2006, 10:05 AM
Very sweet,
What kinda temps are you getting on the memory?

04-11-2006, 10:23 AM
nice install. i was gonna go zalman myself, but ended up going arctic cooling silence 5 cause of all the positive reviews and well the huge temp drop, mines idle @ 39degrees and alot more quiet from the stock cooler.

04-11-2006, 11:02 AM
Originally posted by veggieman@Apr 11 2006, 09:23 AM
nice install. i was gonna go zalman myself, but ended up going arctic cooling silence 5 cause of all the positive reviews and well the huge temp drop, mines idle @ 39degrees and alot more quiet from the stock cooler.

Not to mention it takes the heat out of the system ;)

But that zalman gosu as well.

04-11-2006, 12:51 PM
Bleh, I dont got a temp sensor to check the mem temps :(
Havent tried to OC it yet to see if i got some more clocks. Might do that later if I got time. Whats ur load temp like veg? My room was pretty warm yesterday as well, windows closed, heater on etc. Normally my gtx ran 46/70 on stock cooler if I remember correctly.

04-11-2006, 01:04 PM
like the wow server went down for maintenance and crazy had nothing to do :P

04-11-2006, 02:02 PM
don't be a mc. maintainence time is goin on all now on Tuesdays ;)
Cooler installed on monday iymc.

On a side note, you check yuh 6600GT on a next pc yet?

04-11-2006, 03:43 PM
load with oblivion everything maxxed out was nothing more than 50degrees i believe, i go take some screenies to confirm

doomtack
04-11-2006, 10:27 PM
I plannin to pu tone o those on my eVGA 6600gt (AGP) rite about now.
damn thing idlin at 60-65 and hittin 85-93 on load (3d gamin)
i feel sometin way wrong wit d stock coolin.
was thinkin if to go wit arctic cooling, but it doesn't fit th 6600gt.
but dat vf700 good ent Crazy?
d only thing is i know dat to install d vf700 on d agp 6600gt, take some modin' of d way d fan or d RAM heatsinks does go on...

U say u was nervous bout puttin d AS5 on th GPU, why?
could it have caused problems?

04-12-2006, 02:05 AM
This is a pic of the gpu core:
http://crazyangel.ultra-gamers.com/PC/VF700_Worklog/VF700_Worklog%20(4).JPG
AS5 is conductive and you could fry your card if you get any on the many tiny capacitors that are all around the gpu core and fail to clean it b4 finishing installing the cooler. Its pretty damn hard to clean between those caps so its best you just get no AS5 there in the first place. You also have to be careful not to put too much AS5 on the core so that when u attach the cooler, some AS5 spreads from the sides and meet the caps.

The cooler works fine, just do your research well before you make a decision. The AGP 6600GT is a difficult card to work with due to its layout.

04-12-2006, 12:56 PM
Did you put any on the ram?

camrachi-mishima
04-12-2006, 02:28 PM
Water is the truth, the light, and the justice ;) just like rebatez

04-12-2006, 04:55 PM
Used the thermal pads that came with the zalman ramsinks. They work fine.

Rebates ftw!!

04-12-2006, 05:57 PM
Originally posted by CRaZYMoFo@Apr 12 2006, 03:55 PM
Used the thermal pads that came with the zalman ramsinks. They work fine.

Rebates ftw!!

Nice, as5 on memory isn't a good idea. Once I am applying the AS5 or someone I know that can do it properly i am a happy camper.

doomtack
04-14-2006, 12:13 AM
Though applyin th AS5 should help at least by a margin of
2-3 degrees rite?

04-14-2006, 01:12 AM
should

04-14-2006, 02:16 PM
Not worth the risk applying it on the mem I think.

P.S. woot @ 6 more wow hrs to hit 150 :D

04-14-2006, 02:56 PM
crack addict

doomtack
04-20-2006, 11:30 PM
I got mine.. ^_^
it idles at 50-54 degrees an hits 56-59 on load...
so i think it works good.
one question though crazy, the two black power connectors are th normal mode ones right...
do I have to connect one to the power supply and the other on the card?
or just one to the power supply dongle?

04-21-2006, 11:47 AM
err plug from fan goes into one black conn and that goes straight into the PSU plug.

04-21-2006, 02:31 PM
MG installed this fan for a guy with an AGP 6600GT earlier this week, the ram sinks didnt fit well.

doomtack
04-21-2006, 04:07 PM
well Andre (i dunno if he's mg) installed it for me.
wat i heard some other ppl doin with this same card (AGP 6600GT) an fan is dat d last row of pins on d ram heatsinks are broken off so that it fits properly...
tnx crazy.

04-24-2006, 12:18 PM
Yeah andre=MG.
Did you break it off?

doomtack
04-24-2006, 10:45 PM
nah i ain't break dem off yet... still checkin to see how it runs...
so far no problems, so i believe it wouldn't be needed...
but if however i have to do that i'll have to use two if the extras to do it cus th thermal pad sticker becomes unusable after one use...

04-25-2006, 10:04 AM
korreck!!
Those thermal pad sticker things very 'gay', i don't particularly like them but they have their uses (grrr). Once its not over heating, don't bother to tamper with it.

If it aint broke doh fix.