View Full Version : Emule Question...

04-07-2006, 07:54 AM
Does anyone use emule, and is anyone else getting problems to connect to it?

About a week ago I stopped being able to connect to the servers. So I started using the kad network. Now I can't even get onto that.

Any idea of what's happening? New TSTT firewalls?

04-07-2006, 11:08 AM
Are your ports configured the same way as before?

Kayode I don't know what you are looking for but utorrent (utorrent.com) and mininova.org take care of all my needs.

04-07-2006, 11:45 AM
I use emule and i havent experienced any problems concerning not being able to connect but i presume it has to do with the ports not being properly fowarded, as para said make sure the ports have not changed.

And para emule gets you the stuff you can't easily get through torents. Especially archived files.

04-07-2006, 06:42 PM
Emule is my source for archived files...namely the ones with .cbr at the end.

I haven't changed my ports recently. Haven't done any kinda muckin around with my network or network settings at all.

Real strange.

When I start emule, I get the message, "No server list address in 'addresses.dat' found. Please paste a valid server list address into this file in order to auto-update your server list."

How do I check and/or fix this port forwarding issue, if that's the problem?

camrachi-mishima
04-12-2006, 02:41 PM
I gave up on the P2P stuff years ago, too problematic, too much spyware, too much phoney files (you tryna download pharcyde running away and get "woman rapes pig horse dog donkey"). So I moved to bit torrent, which could work out to be excellent at times (I've downloaded a 9GB files in 2 1/5 hours) did an average of 856kb for a few months, but then the whole "I'm not seeding stuff started" then there's the copyright laws stuff that's easy to trace back to you. So all that's left at this point is newsgroups and IRC, both of which work fine. Maybe it's time to move to a new method Kayode.

04-12-2006, 02:57 PM
arnt the better newsgroups pay only?

camrachi-mishima
04-13-2006, 09:34 AM
Originally posted by Paradoxxx@Apr 12 2006, 01:57 PM
arnt the better newsgroups pay only?

Yes ma'am! But, only in terms of bw allowed. I use the free ones from my ISP, I mean, I already pay $50 a month for my service, I'm not gonna fork out another $15 for newsgroup service. I'm not really in a rush for anything, anymore, anyways. So 2 streams suffice right now. I mean 8 would be better, but you know how it goes.

04-13-2006, 06:20 PM
true newsgroups is the best way to get your data now,

u might not find what u need as how bt might have it but its fast

only ting is the retention time on the server, bellsouth is only 2 days and that is not enough to download everyting

04-14-2006, 11:15 PM
I fixed the emule issue. Apparently I need to update my server list manually every now and then.

I doh use emule fuh anything other than .cbr files, particularly older ones, and it's great for that reason. Haven't encountered a virus or any sort of other difficulty yet.

Use torrents for that too, but emule is better for the older files.

Newsgroups...probably when I grow up.

04-15-2006, 01:21 AM
in the IT world this saying comes up alot
"if it aint broke don't fix it"

If emule working for you and satisfying all your needs, ploy stick with it.

camrachi-mishima
04-17-2006, 10:49 AM
Originally posted by Paradoxxx@Apr 15 2006, 12:21 AM
in the IT world this saying comes up alot
"if it aint broke don't fix it"

If emule working for you and satisfying all your needs, ploy stick with it.

True that!