View Full Version : Digicel
04-06-2006, 10:49 AM
So fellas today is the big day
You can view the DIGICEL ads on the following pages of the express
I am not impressed with the line up of phones and their pricing and there is no mention of the rates atleast on that pull out. Can anyone comment on the reception?
04-06-2006, 12:21 PM
digicel still on their skimming phaze...but thank god...i was at the store at 8 am today to get my sim card. to get rid of tstt opression. lol ...the plans are cool with day/night prepaid plans...so if you use the phone more between 5pm to 7 am you would save alot...calls digicel to digicel reach down to 40 cents a minuite with per/second billing.
also...what they really want to do is sell simcards lol...and they goin like hotcakes..so while you already hav yuh fone yuh cud jus chook yuh digicel card and go lol.
international texting is 65 cents which is cool...since bmobile started up with this dollar sh!t...and then they cut off the service and still taking your money.
doh know about the tariff for calls tho...
flex baby lol...and all the mms everything is WORKING!! unlike bmobile with their problematic service...every minuite the damn thing shutting down.
and doh worry...more coming soon
04-06-2006, 12:28 PM
Hmm the mms thing sounds kinda gosu, how about reception any problems as yet?
Do you have a rate card, if so can you post up some rates?
04-06-2006, 02:57 PM
the sims working with tstt cells?
i know some of the cells was locked to stop pl from just switching over
04-06-2006, 03:30 PM
My phone is unlocked.but is not 850gsm..damnit.
Prices on handsets should drop soon.
THe postpaid packages looking nice, and they include call to land lines.
Call to tstt cells are 1.40, a mere .10 over what we usually pay.
I waiting a month at least though, let prices drop some more.
40 cents??? Where u getting that? I looking at their pricing sheets, the lowest they dropping to is 55 cents per min, and that's on weekends...otherwise, it not really better than the bmobile rates, and to text to other cell phone providers is 65 cents (local or international providers)....ppl go have to be careful as to whom they sending text messages to.
Also, look at when calls to TSTT mobile phones are $1.40....on weekends only!
Compared to the rate of $1.30 for peak hours on tstt cells, and then I make sure my calls are kept well under a minute if i have to, cuz it's still too much for me then imo.
One nice feature that they have so far from what I can see are the 365 days top up limit, so no need to top up for a year after you did one...
Some people have use for more fancy features like the GPRS and mms, all I need is to make/recieve calls, and make and recieve text messages...and they haven't done anything directly to influence me otherwise...
Overall, I'm severely unimpressed, but I'm still thankful they are here, cuz they force TSTT to give us more for the money, and we couldn't have done it without them.
had my digicel sim since friday. had free calls from then till today. Reception is good, had no problems yet. POS, CHAGuanas, MY ROOM. might test in st Augustine today :P
i paid $50 for the SIM and got $50 credited to the account, so i more or less got the SIM for free. I real beast the free calls on tuesday and wednesday.... but 8 am this morning, and no more :S Have no lcue waht the rates are like, since i havent used the phone to make calls since.
Well since so many ppl not clear as to what the rates are gonna be working at...
Digicel Day
Day Evening Weekend
To Digicel 1.15 0.85 0.55
To fixed lines 1.25 0.95 0.65
To other mobile 1.60 1.50 1.40
All rates are VAT inclusive. Per second billing applies.
Digicel Night
Day Evening Weekend
To Digicel 1.55 0.60 0.55
To fixed lines 1.60 0.75 0.65
To other mobile 1.60 1.50 1.40
Post Paid
120 Mins - $95 - 50 free Digicel Texts
240 Mins - $185 - 75 free Digicel Texts
360 Mins - $255 - 100 free Digicel Texts
Rates past those bundled limits:
To Digicel - $0.75
Fixed Lines - $0.85
Other cells - $1.40
Or just check the link
Digicel Prepaid tariffs (http://www.digiceltrinidadandtobago.com/tariffs/index.php?pa=digicel_flex)
04-06-2006, 09:23 PM
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v638/Xecutiona/map.jpg
and for the first time i can talk in my house without getting cut off...and btw i have aactually not had to say WHAT? once
good times
04-06-2006, 10:54 PM
The Postpaid prices impressive, that's the direction i'm headed if I do go with them.
However...I'm still holding hope that Laqtel will emerge.
04-07-2006, 02:43 AM
not impressed ill give them a few months to see how they do then prolly for now like dinesh lemme see what laqtel have to offer
04-07-2006, 07:55 AM
If anything TSTT service and cost gonna get a jump start while we wait on digicel to get their shit in order.
04-07-2006, 10:21 AM
anybody else find that image of Trnidad looking like it soaked in blood?
the rates and costs are nothing to scream about, their Live, which is supposed to be the equivalent to Buzz is almost twice as expensive and offers less.
expect more get squat
i doubt everyone gonna get too much troubles with service this early though.
and alot of people have habit of only quoting best case scenarios, but almost all the rates they have that look cheap are only for D to D phones. perhaps a year from now when they have a larger market i might get around to getting one of their SIMs.
PS
i have been saying for a while that they launchign in April, and they knew that they would be as well, they tried fooling everyone about TSTT giving them run around etc, even their own employees, but they hadda come better than that.
04-07-2006, 11:12 AM
Map should read
'Crime Coverage'
Reception is a big deal to me, if digicel offers better coverage in places like wallerfield and valencia I'll consider buying a sim if just for emergency calls.
04-07-2006, 02:08 PM
lawd fiah for digicell .
i dunno why trinis does jump the gun on everything new
04-07-2006, 02:18 PM
Its more like 'trinis hate the man', whether the man be their boss, the fella who making more money than them, the current PM etc etc. Hatred for TSTT maybe legit but has the competition(digi) done anything better? I welcome Digi but I still waiting on info before I consider them a primary option.
I think my prepaid digi sim idea is good stuff :)
04-07-2006, 04:28 PM
Yup @ para. THen again they are 850 band right?bleh..
04-07-2006, 08:00 PM
i had a quad band fone from the start so i good...i makin all my inter-island digicel calls nice nice and I CAN TALK IN MY BASEMENT!!!WITH 4 BARS!!!
bmobile i got what??? NONE!!
sh!t everyone knows that i hate tstt...too much raping of the customer over the years...allyuh see green and get bazodee...forget about the bullshit service that they still giving btw...
for instance...just for tallying purposes i got 12 dropped calls on my bmobile sim...while i had lengthy conversations all around the same areas with digicel...
btw the digicel corporat plans looking sweet...i wasnt told of a limit to the nimber of persons that can be on it but i see that they have free inter-cirle or inter plan calls...nice to get all your most called people and pay it...then its good sailing...also, prepaid customers can go onto the same said corporate plan.
i know of their service from being in st vincent and barbados... so far with the call quality etc...its met my demands oui.
04-07-2006, 09:21 PM
we got on wtih 20 phones...
not sure if thats the majority that applies for corperate
04-07-2006, 11:17 PM
Whats' the minimum # of phones you need for corporate?any idea of costing?
04-08-2006, 06:57 PM
Well on a side note,i was gonna buy a sim alone and use it in an old phone i had to repair but the phone cudnt be repaired :( so i bought the nokia 1108 ($100 more,why not).I havent unlocked it yet,im seeking the digicel country code (some kinda long a$$ number) before i can.The one for jamaica doesnt work :( and i only got one more attempt before it locks me out.I bought the sim for the gprs really (which i still confused about) cuz the csrs calling WAP that they offering gprs and giving different figures.wap=3 cents a kb,gprs is some kinda monthly plan (wap=limited somewhat,gprs=full stream data iymc). I'll use the 1108 as my backup phone and if i gotta travel late or something (the way things going these days) cuz my other phone is a v547. Anyway if anyone got phones they wanna try unlocking,send me a pm and we'll try a ting since the phones that have a data cable should be fairly easy to unlock.
04-08-2006, 07:16 PM
TSTT foolin plenty people by not putting VAT in their hyped prices and rates.
Is a good thing I didn't bother to buy that $99 phone. I woulda embarass mihself when they ask mih fuh $114.
04-08-2006, 11:21 PM
Hmm, i cyah tex Bmobile phones with my digicel sim card.
Anyone else having problems?
virusone
04-09-2006, 02:50 AM
Great news about the reception jed...
Still hada ask WHY the F&^K didn't TSTT do this a long time ago. Frickin extortionist!!!!!
I wanna know tho how does Digicel number system work.
Is it the similar to TSTT's options or is some new weird numbering ssystem.
04-09-2006, 10:29 AM
Originally posted by kayode@Apr 8 2006, 06:16 PM
TSTT foolin plenty people by not putting VAT in their hyped prices and rates.
Is a good thing I didn't bother to buy that $99 phone. I woulda embarass mihself when they ask mih fuh $114.
Or you cud of just hit d cashier that 'winning smile' ;)
04-09-2006, 12:48 PM
well the numbers are a 7 digit numbering system starting in 3
so its 3xx xxxx
04-09-2006, 04:01 PM
I think I might buy one just to keep in my car for emergencies..YOu never know when TSTT is going to fck up.
04-09-2006, 04:31 PM
jus get 50 dollars free on my fone :D
04-11-2006, 06:18 PM
lol bribe iymc
good ting i not with tstt or digicel i with cingular with FREE calls witn in-network and unlimited nights and weekend
salt for alyuh eyes yes
04-11-2006, 07:12 PM
hoss $50 and you get a phone...
talk bout cheap!!
04-11-2006, 07:38 PM
u get a phone for 50 dollars??????/
04-11-2006, 07:54 PM
Yup they had a special today.And it only gonna get better.
Within a few weeks..oui.
I holding out ;)
04-12-2006, 12:14 AM
join the revolution.....
time to fling away your green simcards...marks of the opressor!!!
time to stop spending half your airtime asking your friend to repeat what he just said!
time to stop getting promised services that keep shutting down or having to be restarted...with a buzz (lol)
red= our colour...
/me puts in ad campaign resume'
04-12-2006, 12:08 PM
the second half is good work, the first crap is the same thoughtless crap digicel using since they reach trinidad.
but i am surprised i ent hear that last line before
"red= our colour"
04-12-2006, 01:06 PM
digicel ad Newday pg17
30c digi->digi
Digi going crazy!!!
I will not go as far as saying red is we colour just yet.
04-13-2006, 06:24 PM
wait till de hype dead then yuh go start seeing specials
right now all this is to fight for ppl to join networks
wait till 2 years gone and when price start to change and tings start to improveif digicel make a digi to digi free ting tstt go buss
but then again right who in de right mind go do that
virusone
04-14-2006, 01:41 PM
Hmmmm at this rate TSTT may downsize again. Ah heard they gonna have a fone for $25 bucks jussnow... presha
04-14-2006, 05:56 PM
sources tell me another digicel promotion next week
hmmmmm lol
04-14-2006, 09:38 PM
Yup.
Every week they kicking the brass.
Wait a little longer though..they gonna start kicking serious ass.
04-15-2006, 01:22 AM
hoss i feel that 50 is just for the dealers, I sure they could give away phones by now.
04-15-2006, 10:02 AM
heh I find so.
You know that the dealers not only make a commision every time you buy a phone from them..but subsequently everytime you USE/top up your phone?
04-15-2006, 01:29 PM
well thats how and why the dealers chose to sell the porduct...to make money from the franchise
04-15-2006, 01:56 PM
This I didn't know:)
04-17-2006, 01:22 AM
well i plan on gettin a digicel phone this week ..
FINALLY
I WILL BE ABLE TO MAKE A CELL PHONE CALL IN MY HOUSE !!
EBAW !!
( well atleast since TDMA )
sigh,, tstt so lame eh .. ZERO reception in meh house ...
sis in law come up here the other day with she digi ... full bars baby
04-17-2006, 01:41 AM
and the testimonials continue lol
04-17-2006, 11:02 AM
Mt hope amphi theatre also has full service....now I can prank call the lecturer during class..woo hoo