View Full Version : Simple Case Mod

03-31-2006, 10:43 PM
Well yesterday I had fun while hacking my new NEC 355A DVD-RW to a NEC 4551A DVD-RW enabling DVD-RAM support and LabelFlash support (similar to LightScribe for those who dont know, I never heard of LabelFlash until I got the sale on the NEC).

I woke up today with my techie blood still flowing strongly so I decided to start working on my case cooling a bit. I was curious to see if adding another exhaust fan by my gfx card to see if it might drop the temps a bit before I change the cooler to a Zalman VF700-Cu LED (arriving on monday ;) ).

I removed the pci slot covers from the empty slots and zip tied the fan (my stock 72mm fan from my X2 stock hsf) on the outside since it couldn't fit inside. Then I did some minor cable management and dusting (I took pics before I cleaned up lol, doh hate on the dust on meh sound card <_< )

Next time I open up my case for something I will slip the fan power cable below the sound card's pci slot to hide it. Replaced the side panel and booted up and went on irc for a bit then checked my gpu temps. However, there was no noticable difference between the temps before and temps after :(

So after a while I went planning my next few mods and thing using some pics (MS Paint ftw) then I went to check my temps again for idleness. I realised that all three of my exhaust fans (the main 120mm, the psu exhaust and the new 72mm) were all exhausting much cooler air than when it was just the 120mm and psu exhaust. Checked my temps again and noticed that my cpu doesnt cross 30C idle (from 33-35C before mod) and my chipset doesnt cross 45C (from 46-48C before mod). Which means my ram also runs cooler.

So my lil mod dropped my ambient case temp by 2-5C which is a big enough deal for me :D
I haven't really seen anyone do this mod before. Probably because most people use more of their pci slots than I do. But if you dont and you have a extra fan lying around. Feel free to try this out.

http://crazyangel.ultra-gamers.com/PC/lanboy31_03_06%20(1).jpg

Pic of the fan from behind the case:
http://crazyangel.ultra-gamers.com/PC/lanboy31_03_06.jpg

03-31-2006, 11:11 PM
liek omgwtfpwnage LOL
gonna try this one tomorrow ;)

03-31-2006, 11:12 PM
nice idea, keep on adding the fans but dont add too much as this well affect air circulation where it breaks a cycle and u will get a vacuum somewhere that could habour heat

my mod wont be using fans like such bit i will be using wind tunnel ideas from bushman

i will do this at the end of april where i have 2 weeks to kill time on modding

btw next case i will be working on is this one silverstone temjin (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16811163035)

i will put down alot of modding into this case and maybe enter it in a contest

04-01-2006, 11:39 AM
ok as promised i got up early,and mod-no-jutsu immc.Installed a 80mm fan at the rear like crazy did as well as make a ccfl switch in my 3 1/4 bay.
I used mounting strips to mount the fan though,but it fits tight like a virgin box ;) . Noticed about 4c case temp drop, roughly 2c temp on one HDD and about 3c on the other. Great mod by crazy. GG
Pics:

http://androsovic.ultra-gamers.com/Pix/modding/pcimod/1.jpg
http://androsovic.ultra-gamers.com/Pix/modding/pcimod/2.jpg
http://androsovic.ultra-gamers.com/Pix/modding/pcimod/3.jpg
http://androsovic.ultra-gamers.com/Pix/modding/pcimod/4.jpg
http://androsovic.ultra-gamers.com/Pix/modding/pcimod/5.jpg
http://androsovic.ultra-gamers.com/Pix/modding/pcimod/6.jpg

04-01-2006, 01:14 PM
ebaw! gj andro
dat light switch pwning
dey doh hav a way u could turn it a lil more sideways so it go b parallel to d case? it a lil slanted dey

04-01-2006, 02:53 PM
yea i know,i too lazy to change it though,aint bothering me ^_^

04-01-2006, 03:51 PM
Its bothering me b1tch!! Fix it!

camrachi-mishima
04-03-2006, 05:04 PM
Btw this is my next case http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?...N82E16811119103 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16811119103)

04-03-2006, 10:03 PM
^^looks way overpriced and with all them fans, thing might sound like a 777 getting ready for take off.

i have a Thermaltake Tsunami dreams:

http://img323.imageshack.us/img323/9969/030934wh.jpg

working real good for the while, i feel i gonna invest some money on one of these in the future ...drool: :wacko:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?...N82E16811221002

04-03-2006, 11:55 PM
*androsovic slurps at veggie case

that side intake cud be turned into a 120mm ^_^

camrachi-mishima
04-04-2006, 09:31 AM
Originally posted by veggieman@Apr 3 2006, 09:03 PM
^^looks way overpriced and with all them fans, thing might sound like a 777 getting ready for take off.

working real good for the while, i feel i gonna invest some money on one of these in the future ...drool: :wacko:

Good thing your opinion is of ZERO consequence to me or I might reconsider buying my case! :rolleyes:

04-04-2006, 10:00 AM
nice case cam
well veg it all depends on the dba of his fans, not the number of fans.

ent andro, i seeing some mods dat cud b dropped on that TS Dream dey ;)

Next case for me is an Aspire X-Qpack :D
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?...N82E16811144161 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16811144161)

04-04-2006, 10:13 AM
Originally posted by veggieman@Apr 3 2006, 09:03 PM

Day by day this man computer getting closer and closer to mine... atleast you didnt get a TT shark :)

Crazy is correct, in addition to that the mobo comes with software to vary the fan speed which really really really helps.

Veggies CPU fan = TT big typhoon, the friggin thing turns itself off (can't get more silent than that), the only fans that I think will be a prob are the chipset fan (DFI) and the side case fan. With a little configuration you can make your PC almost silent at idle and rev like a truck when you gaming.

04-04-2006, 11:14 AM
Big T is a serious cooler oui. I find more people liking the Thermalrights and Scythe Ninja than the Big T though. Just put on a better fan and you good to go for gosu air cooling.

Change chipset fan ftw. I hear enough bad things bout dat fan and d lil b1tch noisy no mc. Also I find it does just look cheap :(

04-04-2006, 11:24 AM
oops, like i realize the link wasnt working, anyways is the MASSCOOL CS-ICS8200ML Black SECC Chassis

http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList....6&SubCategory=7 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.asp?Brand=1856&N=2000090007+50001856&Submit=ENE&Manufactory=1856&SubCategory=7)

who say built in AC ftw? lol.

but i now watch a vid review of it there, lawd that thing loud.

http://7of9.keystreams.com/gameman/archive...ase_02_512k.wmv (http://7of9.keystreams.com/gameman/archives/3dgameman.com_videoreview_578_nextherm_8200_case_0 2_512k.wmv)

04-04-2006, 11:44 AM
Originally posted by CRaZYMoFo@Apr 4 2006, 10:14 AM
Big T is a serious cooler oui. I find more people liking the Thermalrights and Scythe Ninja than the Big T though. Just put on a better fan and you good to go for gosu air cooling.

Change chipset fan ftw. I hear enough bad things bout dat fan and d lil b1tch noisy no mc. Also I find it does just look cheap :(

ent @ change chipset fan, lawd that thing really noisy. i see some mods, but this being my 2nd board, i eh jumpin in nothing just so nah

http://img342.imageshack.us/img342/1504/wolv359cuready4action7kp7im4ao.jpg

http://img359.imageshack.us/img359/6416/nexxxosdfi1party8kv.jpg

or i've read that the copper vantec chipset cooler works real good on it.

04-04-2006, 01:00 PM
Nice SS there veg I likin that mod but I don't think i'll try it until i need to.

The BT is a real bess cooler and when you swap that fan for something more gosu it just PWNS, the real adv of the BT over the others is the price. Its very cheap compared to the others.

camrachi-mishima
04-04-2006, 03:30 PM
Originally posted by Paradoxxx@Apr 4 2006, 12:00 PM
Nice SS there veg I likin that mod but I don't think i'll try it until i need to.

The BT is a real bess cooler and when you swap that fan for something more gosu it just PWNS, the real adv of the BT over the others is the price. Its very cheap compared to the others.

I've grown tired of the fan coolers on the whole. I wanna liquid cool every component in my system.
CPU
GPU
HDDs
RAM
Chipset.

But it grows in price very fast, and simply does not make it worthwhile. the heat off my HDDs alone will kill any effect that the radiator will have. Unless i can get some refridgeration going on, it really won't be worthwhile. Look out for that on my next mod. ;)

04-04-2006, 06:43 PM
yea i saw that,up to $1000USD for all the water coolers (no case or anything yet eh)

04-04-2006, 06:44 PM
u might need a car radiator to cool that water

air is cheaper and good enough now, and everyting now comes gives off less heat because of small manufactoring processes.

other than hard drives NB and PWMICs need better cooling and dey could take good amount of heat well except for the NB

camrachi-mishima
04-04-2006, 06:52 PM
on the opty system, I dropped one of the rads in a bowl of about 60 iceblocks, poured some salt on it, and let it run, the radiator melted the ice in about 8 mins, this is just the heat from the stock clocked cpu on idle, far less too cool all those components. That's definitely gonna take some sort of refrigeration. I was thinking of doing a stack of 3x 120mm dual pass rads, but the heat simply won't dissapate fast enough. If only :rolleyes: I had some liquid nitrogen

04-05-2006, 03:37 AM
Yea veg I saw those pics lol
The best chipset cooler for the DFI mobos is the Evercool VC-RE cooler. I got one on the way. Will take some pics an thing ;)
Im not sure when I will install it though.

Cam... good luck with yo crazy sh!t :P

04-05-2006, 12:09 PM
I considered water cooling at one point, i decided against it because of the cost, risk and weight issue. My cooler isn't a light cooler but its lighter than a total water cooling kit and I dont have to worry about leaks esp when transporting and its alot cheaper.

doomtack
04-05-2006, 02:38 PM
Ey crazy, dat Zalman VF700-Cu LED could work on 6600gt (agp) ent?
i was thinkin bout gettin one, how it workin an ting?

BTW all dat freakin case modin lookin real dred... but i too broke to try T_T

camrachi-mishima
04-05-2006, 02:39 PM
Originally posted by Paradoxxx@Apr 5 2006, 11:09 AM
I considered water cooling at one point, i decided against it because of the cost, risk and weight issue. My cooler isn't a light cooler but its lighter than a total water cooling kit and I dont have to worry about leaks esp when transporting and its alot cheaper.

Leaks ain't an issue as long as everything is tightened properly, complete with washers. Coolant is non-conductive now as well. The qpack I made is fully portable. Weight is an issue. sort of. The entire system weighs like 12lbs, all together thats like the weight of a full ATX system. Water cooling Rawkz http://i23.photobucket.com/albums/b398/rewris1/urinecooled.jpg

04-05-2006, 03:07 PM
Originally posted by CRaZYMoFo@Apr 5 2006, 02:37 AM
Yea veg I saw those pics lol
The best chipset cooler for the DFI mobos is the Evercool VC-RE cooler. I got one on the way. Will take some pics an thing ;)
Im not sure when I will install it though.

Cam... good luck with yo crazy sh!t :P

yeah i feel i go try the zalman mod in the 1st pic yes, call down one and mod it just like the one in the pic :)

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?...N82E16835118117 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16835118117)

04-10-2006, 02:32 AM
Yea hoss you bigup urself. I go lime with a chipset cooler on my chipset ;) Be careful with the capacitors this time eh
My Evercool VC-RE cooler is here too but I haven't done anything with it.Haven't gotten around to installing the new gpu cooler yet either. Life is busy (no, im busy besides playing WoW, not just becuz of WoW)