View Full Version : W900i 3g Phone Review

02-25-2006, 03:00 AM
Well this is my latest toy since my 2005fpw whihc i commented on as well few weeks ago.

http://www.mobile-review.com/review/image/sonyeric/w900/pic1.jpg

Yesterday i bought a w900i sonyericsson Walkman cell phone.

Here is some basic info.

Purchased @: ShelTech Electronics in port of spain.
Cost: $ 4500TT - a 100 dollar certificate they give u whihc u can spend at their store like cash.

Now lets see wta i got for my 4500TT
Package:

Handset
Battery
Stereo headset HPM-80 with built in radio and board
Manual
USB-cable
Software
Charger
MS Duo 64 MB ( SOME HOW I DIDNT RECIEVE THIS HMMMM )
Strap for hand

Specs
- UTMS/GSM900/GSM1800/GSM1900
- Black And White Versions, White Limited Edition
- Wap 2.0 xHTML (Netfront)
- 470MB built in memory shared.
- Phonebook holds up to 500x20 fields
- Memory Stick Duo Pro slot up to 4gb
- USB Connection to PC, Bluetooth, 3G, GPRS& Infared
- SMS, EMS, MMS, Email & Instant Messaging
- Vibration, Ringtones Polyphonic or MP3
- Sync with pc
- Alarm Clock
- Wallpapers, screensavers
- Converter
- Handsfree
- SyncML
- Voice Memo
- Organiser (Calendar)
- Picture, Video, And Music Editor
- FM radio with RDS
- Java
- Possible Flash
- MP3 player up to 30hours in walkman mode
- Video player, image viewer 2megapixel camera 1632x1280 pixels, autofocus, video(QVGA), flash; second video call camera(QCIF)
- Standby – 370 hours
- Talktime - 8 hours 40 mins

PROS
Well this phone is packed wiyh options so its hard to know where to start but overall every function on the phone is of the bets quality if not better.

HARDWARE:
I love the size of this phone. its not to big and not to small its perfect. The keybad swings out and feel really nice and stable so does the keys themselves. The keys are of a good size and nicley spaced apart with a nice lite white glow on them.

Screen of screen where do i start. This screen is just amazing. Ive never seen such a crisp looking screen in my life. Movie playback is so flawless and colourfull its astounding.

My phone was suppoed to come with a included 64MB duo pro card but didnt and im gonna find out why. But so far the memory that is onboard ( 470MB) seems to be sufficent for now and soon i will be investing in a 2gb duo pro card, which is the phones max memory it supports.

One thing i love as well about the phone is the walkman activation button on the side. With on touch of ths button it will bring up the mp3 player or close it, so no more pesky going into menu and selecting it =).

SOFTWARE:
The w900i is extremly easy to use and navigate. Apparently they took a few pages out of the book of those good people at apple and made it very user friendl. Their is a nice easy to round controller on the top face of the phone so u can do anything from switch track, pause, rewind, flip through emails, lists, icons, and play games with just your thumb.

The mp3 player is exactly like that of a ipod where it allows u to play mp3's in many ways. You can select to scroll through all the songs at once or do it by artist tracks album and a few others. BAD SONY BAD :nono:

Their isnt much i can say more about software just that its all their, all those bells and whistles u here ya padner say he have this phone has + others that u didnt even know existed and apparently TSTT dosent know is around either.

CONS:

Fopr some reason the gifs on this phone lagg.
Im not sure why but your moving wallpaper shows signs of lagg eveyr few seconds and while the lagg is 100% only on certain animations like wallpaper moving and other astetic stuff its sorta annoying but very tolerable considering how nice this phone is.

I can proberly go on and on about how good alot of the otehr options are but i think u guys will generally get the picture.

Id safley give this phone a 9 outta 10 great buy and worth eveyr penny :coolthumb:

http://www.mobile-review.com/review/image/sonyeric/w900/pic1-2.jpg

02-25-2006, 07:52 AM
470MB built in memory shared. >>I seeing that right?

02-25-2006, 11:46 AM
This phone wicked sick, Its one of my options when I decide to move on from the p800

02-25-2006, 12:02 PM
man u wont regret it. and i think i got it at a good price considering its 4k tt if u buy it from away + thne u pay shipping + cuastoms would have been around 400

02-26-2006, 01:47 AM
sweet, is all i have to say, maybe i'll get one when the old T610 stops workin ?

lol, btw bush, i have an extra 1 GB Memory Stick Pro Duo lying around if you want it, the 2 GB isn't a good investment imo, wayyy overpriced (cheaper to buy 2 1 gigs)

02-26-2006, 11:20 AM
way 4500tt O_O

i payed less than 3000 for mines and it has almost the same features some even better and this is get it wth a 512mb mini sd card too

and still it comes out cheaper with with a extra 1gb card

wow bush u have real money

02-27-2006, 12:32 AM
I waiting for meh e70

DBigBadSmurf
02-27-2006, 03:33 AM
Whats the battery life like? and how loud is the loud speaker when playing MP3s? :blink:

02-27-2006, 12:59 PM
The battery life is good if your playing around ith it alot it will last around 9 hours.
and ill take the 1 gb stick itachi when i get paid just now how much u callin

opium wat phone u have.

also i have to rport yesterday the phone crashed 2 times never had a phone crash on me

DBigBadSmurf
02-28-2006, 12:55 AM
Does ShelTech have any branches outside of POS? particularly along the EMR? Or do you know anywhere in st augustine an environs that has this phone in stock? i really wanna see this upclose. Never seen one in real b4 :blush:

02-28-2006, 02:28 AM
i think they have a stoire in south

DBigBadSmurf
02-28-2006, 04:40 PM
I talkin st. agustine an EMR....man bawl south :sad2:

03-01-2006, 01:23 AM
I wanna check it out as well, just for checking sake.

03-05-2006, 07:58 PM
for some reason this phone has a few bugs that are annoying me while its a great phone im thinking of selling it.

The headbuds and built in equalizer of phone an are the best ive ever heard even better than the 4gb ipod nano i have in my household. but the way the am/fm headset connects to the phone it slips out easily.

For such a expencive phone i should not have to go update the phones firmware to one that dosent lagg and dosent crash and freeze up during normal operation and 50% of the time after transfering mp3 or any files from my pc via usb cable.

the phone has only crashed once since i bought it during normal operation. and messed up like 3 times since during cable transfers. normally this wouldnt annoy the average user, they would just restart phone and move on but me its bugging the sh!t outta me.

any 1 want a phone for 4500 tt ?

03-06-2006, 09:22 AM
Can you return for a cash refund (minus restocking fee) at the store you purchased it from?

03-06-2006, 09:23 AM
*mojo puts on chinese accent.

me give joo 50 dolla!!!

03-06-2006, 11:57 AM
nah i dont think they move like that especially in tnt. most u mite get is a store credit

03-06-2006, 12:40 PM
Originally posted by bushman@Mar 6 2006, 11:57 AM
nah i dont think they move like that especially in tnt. most u mite get is a store credit

Doesn't hurt to try, explain to them that the phone is crashing often and its becoming a bit irritating.

On a flip side, my p800 used to crash ever so often as well. I returned it on warrenty after it refused to power on. Turns out it was just my luck that I got a bad phone, my next issue (the one i have now) is working fine with maybe 1 or 2 crashes in the year or 2 since i got it back.

I am looking for a new phone something with a better display, camera and newer features than my p800. When i purchased my p800 the features were better than normal phones, now the normal phones have the same or BETTER features than my p800 minus some of the pda features. I have my eye out for some business/executive type handhelds

03-06-2006, 11:05 PM
take mine its very allround. alot of business oriented features as well. read up on it youll see. u can transfer emaisl beteen your pc open all types of files on the phone it has video conferencing.

virusone
03-20-2006, 03:00 PM
Bush if you still got the cell you should Sony Ericsson website they apperently have "software upgrades" for the w900i handset, works sumtin like a bios update...

Maybe if you're willing to keep the handset you could try the available upgrades