View Full Version : Hardware Firewall..the Best?

01-13-2006, 10:45 PM
Can you really get any better than a Hardware firewal?
I got one here, did a bunch of online security tests..nothing at all coming through.
(thanks pweff ;) ).

But , how exactly do they work? Know any good sites to test security? Any programs @ home I can use for that?

01-13-2006, 11:07 PM
I have been backing properly configured hardware firewalls for ages, im sure pweff can testify to that as well. The router setup works as such, your computer is totally locked out cept information going thru the router, you open ports when necessary thus keeping your pcs ports locked down.

Other router config ie unsafe, using DMZ which means you put your PC on the outside more or less (ie if you odn't know the ports to fwd), fwding large port ranges. Enabling some of the lower ports used for system operations (shares, naming etc)

How can the 'safe' method be compromised?
1) someone hacks the router, giving them control of the router remotely
2) exploits enabling the router to be bypassed when sending information

You are never safe, however using 2/3 firewalls just makes things more complicated esp when you are a gamer/administrator.

01-16-2006, 01:27 AM
routers are very good nat systems and does give some protection not full because shitty hackers wont get in just like dat

if u buy the a Nvidia nf4 mobo u get active armour and that sh!t is some serious hardware firewall, fairly easy to config and good. only beef is nvidia has bad software for it

behind a router and with some sort of firewall like active armour ZA or even windows firewall u are very safe

hacker that will break those hi security systems wont want to hack a nobody so dont worry too much about it

forget to add BT is a very bad ting, that is already doing someting hackers like to do bomb firewalls, because BT keeps soo much ports linked it somes times bring routers to there knees and pushing it even more it will leak security

01-16-2006, 05:49 AM
So use a software firewall and hardware?
oops...
Sygate idmc then.

01-16-2006, 04:19 PM
yep, keeps everyting even ting nice and secure

01-16-2006, 04:33 PM
When dealing with networking troubles and you have all these firewalls it just makes things troublesome but if you think you have the need for it hardware is the best way to go less strain on your CPU as well.

01-17-2006, 11:10 AM
with the extra cpu power these days its not that bad

and i have 2 networks

1 gb for data transfer and a 100mbit for internet the gb is always open to 4 computers

01-17-2006, 02:50 PM
Well hardware firewalls are the best bar none. And I not talking a PC with MS ISA on it either. I talking Symantec and ISS. I deal with Symantec devices such as 320s, 5420s and M30s. That is higher level jutsu and ways above what this thread is prolly about. But i'll say this to you, if you get a relatively cheap gateway appliance like the Symantec 320, yuh get the firewall, VPN capability, Antivirus and a few more perks. It DOH come cheap and no router can match up. Those things start at 300USD and work well up to over 50000TT. Those devices go past being a firewall and are considered Intrusion detection and prevention devices. But again thats corporate level no jutsu. On the home scale just what these guys have said, port control and network traffic monitoring are effective ways to keep safe. I would even go as far as saying have a software firewall as well as it's a extra step, esp if port blocking is a problem (it can get very tedious). Also always keep ur antivirus and antispam up to date. Nothing is 100% foolproof but there are ways to keep urself safer. Just 1 more note Port blocking will help but not solve as alot of hackers now use good old http to hack ur box. Things like the correctly sized javascript window that will allow a buffer overflow error yada yada yada, ur machine is a zombie.

I forgot to mention good software firewalls:
Zonealarm supposedly rated (2nd to)
Symantec personal firewall (rated #1)
Sygate (was free but is now pwned by Symantec and they discontinued it as a free product)
BlackIce (ISS and also ranked pretty high)

In case you wondering Symantec is Norton DADDY.

06-14-2006, 08:39 AM
So...which firewall do you guys use?
I am STILL not using any software firewall...oops

06-14-2006, 08:51 AM
I must recomment Agnitum Outpost Pro firewall. I highly recommend it..

Kukka
06-14-2006, 10:34 AM
I would recommend Sygate. Even though discontinued.

06-14-2006, 03:29 PM
/me deletes and laughs

06-14-2006, 04:08 PM
wham dinesh? like somebody post norton or wha?

06-14-2006, 04:09 PM
OMG . Mojo! The N word. NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

/ME banishes mojo to the shadow realm

How dare you speak such blashphemy!

Kukka
06-14-2006, 07:18 PM
mc dinesh, I had two posts grrr

06-15-2006, 05:48 PM
use windows firewall if u behind a router

if not then get a better protection from a better firewall, anyone will do

the most important ting is that it close all ports that are not being used

06-15-2006, 06:06 PM
windows firewall?;oooo

06-15-2006, 09:47 PM
yea windows firewall works good, in my experience...one of the few things by ms that work properly 0_0

06-16-2006, 12:20 AM
actually, a firewall is not a very extensive piece of software, and microsoft might just have enough brainpower in there to maybe get this right..

06-16-2006, 11:25 AM
Hak.5 Ep

"We recommend a hardware firewall over the windows firewall"

Hardware firewalls come built in most modern day routers.

richjob
06-23-2006, 08:29 PM
I use Guarddog on the 'ol Mepis box.

If I wanted to be really anal, Smoothwall or IPCOP.