View Full Version : What Is Going On With Java?

01-09-2006, 06:50 PM
For the past month and more, java has been playing DOTA!!
what happen to all the FPS? where did the source and cod go? what happen to good ole fassion battlefield?

allya men makin d place boring! too much dota is not good for you. Please change this habit. A know plenty of people who stop comming java because of this dota thing.

YOU ALL DON'T FIND THAT THE DONA MUST STOP??(for a little while at least)

01-09-2006, 07:13 PM
THANK YOU!!! THANK YOU!!!!

that has been the reason ive not frequented java recently to play game...all d damn dota runnin makes me sick

01-09-2006, 07:18 PM
well i dunno i guess the dota is just ah phase like everything else i mean next ting we become like sns and SOF SOF SOF ALL DAY

DUM DUM DUM!!!! lol that wud be gay :(

01-09-2006, 07:26 PM
no...pheonix it already gay with the dota dota dota all day

01-09-2006, 08:08 PM
uhhhhh bless u just draged uneccesary attention towards yrself

good luck wit all d cussin up from all d dota men when dey c dis post :)

01-10-2006, 07:52 AM
i give bless all d props eh ....

FIYAH for DOTA!!!

and start playing cs a bit more serious, all d willie bouncing and d killing of teammates getting annoying thats why i dont play cs in java nemore.

01-10-2006, 08:07 AM
exactly loki
honestly i dont have to play dota in java..i get my fill of it at home on the local server ..where the men are better and the games are more entertaining..
but i not going n play no so urce n thing in java when men playing d ass 24/7 in d game..no thx
i not fortunate like loki though to have a good pc and could run source onlline..so all i have is dota right now until men get serious

01-11-2006, 09:18 AM
Same here.Honestly I play DotA everyday all day only because java men do a bunch of crap everytime we play source.It does kill d game.When I play source or any other fps i play it seriously and thats the only way I enjoy a game.Team killin and laughing after isnt funny at all.Unless yuh grenade a man by mistake of course :P I wish I could play source more often but noobs forever jumping in and then even the good men do crap and piss me off and I leave.So it's back to Dota.Lucky for Lokes he has net access round d clock.I doubt I'll ever get net where i live with gay tstt still runnin d show.

01-11-2006, 04:46 PM
so you encourage the dota then....i real fedup

01-11-2006, 05:53 PM
Alyuh quarreling about how is DOTA nonstop right? Wha about the days when it was CS non-stop?

01-11-2006, 09:20 PM
xec..u always complainig bout how men is noobs and alalala..i real not up for d stress..does have days when men does be annoying me in java 24/7 and then to go and play source and dey fing up? madness...so we muss encourage the dota..is only sense

01-11-2006, 11:43 PM
play guilty gear beetches , tg still needs 2 ggxx players.

01-12-2006, 10:45 AM
Yea fig raise a valid point there oui,days when it was CSS right thru,nobody complained. CSS all day,everyday.Np really,is only the excessive n00b name calling i does cant stand.A man make a lil sh!t play and is "OMG! U NOOB!" etc

Dizz
01-12-2006, 12:35 PM
dah name callin doe cause frustration i waiting for a day a frusrtated gamer get called a noob and start to scrap like he goin mad
A GOOD EXAMPLE OF A MAN WHO DOES REAL CALL MEN NOOBS HE IS THE ONLY NON NOOB IN D WORLD

LT. JINX LOL I LIME WITH DAH MAN FOR ARENA AN EVERYBODY PASS HE CALL DEM A NOOB

01-12-2006, 01:41 PM
um...das cuz 7/8ths of the people in arena were noobs dizz

01-12-2006, 03:41 PM
since when trinis cant handle a lil picong?
ah man call yuh ah noob in game, dont bitch...
If you arent a noob prove it in the game and not in words cuz in the end that is all that matters.

But source 24/7 is fun :P

01-12-2006, 05:11 PM
Java can not tell its customers what to play, while I personally feel that you can put 1hr to better use than playing DotA I can not expect other gamers to feel the same way I do.

I have been working full time for almost a year now and I can say during my 'DotA' period I experienced many late arrivals and tired days at work. As a programmer I need to be mentally fit for those days when all goes wrong and dota wasn't helping. So... if you have the time and like the game play it.

As I don't have much time to train other games as I once did in my 'younger years' I now train CS Source as my primary FPS and hope to get back into normal FT soon as well as resume physical training.

That being said I have to AGREE!!! with some of the posters when they say that they get annoyed when someone screws over your game by attacking you purposely. YES I am speaking about COLD.

Directed to Chunks>
I am usually put on a side with not so experienced players to 'balance the sides' and end up facing a tough squad. Thats no problem by me I get to face some of javas best outside eX and it helps me see what works and what doesn't.

On the other side of the story it does hurt when you expect certain things of your teammates but they don't live up to it and sometimes when you are put in a position that you are not 'supposed to cover' according to your team strats.. but say what we are flexible, i don't quit.

It does suck when ppl think they beat para/eX when Im on these sides however they are always reminded of thier misconception when they get the pwn.

Back to cold>
Cold frags, flashes, shoots and sometimes kills his allies. I think he tries to 'kill the game' for the rest of us so we can play DotA as he doesn't play CSS.

01-12-2006, 09:54 PM
hmmmmmm i hate source and dota
and sweating each one 24/7 is disgusted by me
any game actually sweating 24/7 is disgusted by me
its gets boring after awhile jesus
whut bless tryin to say is PLAY MORE GAMES
it have other games in java that are quite good that people dun even wana check out (ignoranceeeeeeeee)

eg. if u go in some tournament thats each side is playing at least 5 games

source
wc3
cod
ut2k4
swat

if a side wins only source and looses the rest they wud say "U GUYS SUCK" they dun care if yall godly in w/e game and espeically only 1 game they will own u all in the rest..cuz they are better weel rounded .naturally becuz yall put all yr skill points towards 1 game and not evening it out properly...

im i making any sense at all????

01-12-2006, 09:58 PM
Its because ppl like those games...
There are jsut some games that get ppls attention and some that don't, maybe pushing DOD might be a strategic move. YOu like dod ent?

01-12-2006, 10:02 PM
yeah but it if sweat 24/7 i go get fedup

01-12-2006, 10:29 PM
i real like DOD but the dota men who were the former source men doh want to play

i could play cod2 to an extent and i enjoy when a good game is running in that too

its jus this dota ting jed...serrriously man jah!

and anyone ever tried americas army?

01-12-2006, 10:55 PM
Originally posted by loki@Jan 12 2006, 03:41 PM
since when trinis cant handle a lil picong?
ah man call yuh ah noob in game, dont bitch...
If you arent a noob prove it in the game and not in words cuz in the end that is all that matters.

But source 24/7 is fun :P

i not talkin about me,but it is quite annoying to be hearing 'OMG U NOOB! OMG THESE NOOBS!' and noob this and that every minute.

01-12-2006, 11:08 PM
to the dod now
dem men doh like dod at all
just i suspected before the game evn reached java
loki and pink remebers hearign me saying that so im not surprised

juz cuz of the recoil d game is sh!t ... like wtf

01-12-2006, 11:40 PM
men sayin dat cuz they accusomed to source guns...and not the real recoil of the DOD WW2 guns..i think that it takes a real gosu man to play DOD well

showtime
01-14-2006, 11:05 AM
The problem with other games is the fun factor conception.

Sure the game might be fun to play, but as a gamer, you compare it to the games you currently play now, ie Dota and Source. If someone puts an fps in front of me and it doesn't look like it stands up to CS, then most likely i wont play it. I'll play what i like. Its a little close minded, but i can admit that about myself.

Dota, although a lil annoying b/c of who might be in d game or whatnot, has a high fun factor. That's why alot of people who dont play warcraft will play Dota. Cause it's easy to learn and it's fun. Dozens of different heroes with dozens of different strats. Compared to a new fps, that's an expected run and shoot, the expected fun factor for dota will be higher.

PS. CoD..............is cool, but......hoss. let it go...

01-14-2006, 07:17 PM
were u directing the cod thing to me?????

i doh play cod much
and ill neva run it 24/7

so dat line was outa timing

01-14-2006, 08:52 PM
Good statement there showtime,its true that dota is alot easier and alot more fun for a noob and for a gosu it doesnt matter its just plain fun.Its a gaming cafe and you cant sway the mind of millions that easily.What can I tell yuh Nazi and Xec? Play what allyuh comefortable with...its not like ppl have abandoned all games and stuck to one alltogether anyways.

01-17-2006, 01:56 PM
this shoud be named
why we not playin css all the time rather than why we playin Dota all the time.
i think that the ONLY game played in java was source for almost a year, and css is the only game hyped/ advertised by this organization.
for example,
summer tournaments....
there was a game that started an enormous thread concerning a tournament, and this never happened....
i fail to understand why only 2 games (wc3 ft & CS:S) are the only games played in an organization...
.i even fail to realise why noone plays CS:CZ & 1.6 in this self proclamed "best gaming org" in trinidad.
even tho G@tt is comprised of n00bs i sincerely believe that they are a bettr gaming organization

01-17-2006, 02:45 PM
Ent kayru
Warcraft 2v2, Dota, Fifa, CSS, 3rdStrike, Tekken
GAMERS definately needs to expand to meet up the gatt standard of 0 tourneys. Kayru i can't believe you read this thread and came up with that stupid summary "why we playing dota and not source". Are you jsut trying to make a scene and draw attention to yourself or is this genuine concern?

Support games in which there is interest and by this I am not refering to the ones you like but the ones in which we will get good attendance and those that meet an intl std.

Signs ups for VXG have started, the games they wish to host on the PC end are Warcraft and CSS, they have decided to go with CSS only to save on time. Tell me kayru arn't you happy that we stuck to high international standards when choosing our primary games? While gatt is sending their top tekken player ie bryanmaster we are sending our top CSS clans.

Yes there are other great games that we don't play as often but who is to say we can't play it just as good or better than the 'best' in the nation. Look at how much COD was played to prepare for the arena tourney!!!

Right now men just wanna sweat what they like and what they like is dota, I rather not play dota so i just salt during this phase.

01-18-2006, 12:43 PM
aite....
i understand CAL as the reason for hyping 2 games....
BUT
i still say gamers only plays css and wc3
even in house tournaments....

"Yes there are other great games that we don't play as often but who is to say we can't play it just as good or better than the 'best' in the nation. Look at how much COD was played to prepare for the arena tourney!!!"

was there a CoD tourney?
did gamers hype CoD before arena?
and mind you, only the two teams played CoD....
that is FIA, lokes and akira........
as a mod & coowner of java, you should research what you are saying a little more before posting....

i did like css, and i do like wc3, but there i life after source...
there are a myriad of pc games out there, and i genuinely think that gamers is wasting talent by only playing 2 games.....

gatt, even tho i still consider them a pack of noobs, are a diverse pack of n00bs...
i know this will eventually turn into a quality vs quantity argument, but i still think that css is boring, dota is stupid, and java is a two game cafe.

example.....
where is halo?
where is ut 2k4

if u really want to argue these points, bring up the game usage statistics and post it on the forum...
THAT will end the argument.
i only wish the best for this organization.
BUT WE HAVE TO BE DIVERSE!

sincerely speaking, after this i doubt i will ever post on the forum again, after being flamed upon for expressing my wiews.....
so.....
bye bye :kakashi4:

01-18-2006, 02:06 PM
Why should we have a CoD tourney, because karyu want a cod tourney? How often is CoD sweated in Java? Should we tell ppl doh play dota/source time to play CoD?

I am no arguing about the statistics however thats not by the choice of java/gamers but by the choice of the customers and you are being ignorant of that.

and mind you, only the two teams played CoD....
that is FIA, lokes and akira........

And were those not the 2 teams going up for the tourney? With mere weeks to train we had to train up in so many games it made no sense to focus on 1 game when we had chances of winning all. We hyed the 'event' ie arena.

Now I am confused here what is your arguement?

i still say gamers only plays css and wc3 <-1
java is a two game cafe<-2

I agree that java is only playing 2 games mostly AT THE MOMENT. Of course you are neglecting to say that there was a time when every night there was big general matches. You neglected to bring up the few weeks we ran bf2 before getting bored, the sweats we had with splintercell 2v2 and the ravenshield era.

I disagree that the GAMERS is a 2 game org, I think that if we are challenged in any PC game COD, HALO, NFSU, FIFA etc we can hold our own and put down a decent challenge if not win.

Kayru I think what you are really trying to say is the follow
"I want when I go to java, people are playing the games I like and not CSS/Dota. I blame TG for not having tourneys in the games I like because as a result ppl not playing it"

There is no pleasing everyone, the best we can do is please the majority. Everyone wants their game to be in the lime light and Its easy to blame TG because its not.

I'll end by quoting someone
CoD..............is cool, but......hoss. let it go...

01-18-2006, 11:55 PM
hmmm well in light of Karyu's posts i have few things i would like to add to this thread.

the very backbone of Tg is made of equal parts of WC and CSS and this is not necessarily a bad thing. i was there when a few other games: (splintecell, BF2, Ravenshield...) did get their share of the limelight, in fact i never got a chance to play splintercell spy vs merc anywhere else, however i must admit that 'to me' the shift is quickly returned to the backbone games, not only as a result of the masses getting 'bored' but also as a result of the masses not being encouraged.

think in terms of some sort of product sales and distribution, you have a product that is flying off your shelves, of course you find ways to keep cutomers buying that product, but at the same time you need to pay attention to the products that are not moving. is it that these products do not move because they are of a sub standard quality; or is it that the product is not moving because the customer base is not aware of the product? and how do you act, do you cut your losses and move on with the one that is going well, or do you try to salvage something by making an actual effort to promote the equally good product that isn't as appreciated?

i think that this org seems almost satisfied with the fact that the other games are not appreciated as much, because nothing is done (at least not visably) to have gamers push foward in games other than the staples. again i stress that nothing is wrong with having a solid backbone, but diversity is important.

yeah on the console section as well, much work is needed, but that has been discussed at lengths already.

i for one am looking foward to when UT 2k7 is released, no doubt it will get some limelight for at least a week when it comes out and i plan on taking that whole week off from work to spend it in Java with the new team steam rolling all adversaries, who knows, that might be a positive kick in the pants for this org, a shame it's so far away though.

01-19-2006, 12:07 PM
Very well put laruto can't say that anything you have said is wrong. I remember when BF2 was due and we just finished our 3rd season of CSS we agreed that CSS taking a backseat and we gonna sweat some BF2 so we could show off our skillz vs BF ppl and expand our horizons. We played BF2 for about 2 maybe 3 weeks and then I think we went to dota or something (not source). After a while source came back into the picture...

I was hoping Day of Defeat Source would have been the game to ease ppl off CSS and move them to COD or maybe even stick with DOD its based on the Source engine and has a WW2 feel (liked by many of the cod guys). Alas ppl got bored/didn't like the way the guns worked and went back to source.

Upon reading the BF2 thread Menace contacted me and expressed disappointment that we are moving away from CS and putting the country behind by making the switch. He believes that CS is the way and although he prefers version 1.6 he rather play CSS than BF2.

Laruto makes a good point with his 2nd paragraph
think in terms of some sort of product sales and distribution, you have a product that is flying off your shelves, of course you find ways to keep cutomers buying that product, but at the same time you need to pay attention to the products that are not moving. is it that these products do not move because they are of a sub standard quality; or is it that the product is not moving because the customer base is not aware of the product? and how do you act, do you cut your losses and move on with the one that is going well, or do you try to salvage something by making an actual effort to promote the equally good product that isn't as appreciated?

I would like to use Unreal2k4 as an example, Unreal is a 'bess game' and everyone was sweating it, heck i was even sweating the demo b4 the release. Big unreal tourneys by GATT, the introduction of gosu bacoup and then everyone went back to sof2... This was a case where it was promoted but just didn't have the staying power vs sof2. (sad)

You will find that most of the 'GOSU' gamers take on 1 game maybe 2 games and most clans focus on 1/2 games as well.

A concept that may solve this problem is seasonal tourneys, fixed date periods in which there is going to be a UT/SOF2/COD/CSS?FT toureny so ppl can train accordingly and each group have their own?

I really want to touch more on larutos post but I am very busy at work..

k=]
01-20-2006, 02:41 AM
i really think that defined seasons is a good remady to what i percieve as a problem (even tho many seem to be indifferenent towards this)
well fellas.....
at least compromise is better than nothing........

01-20-2006, 11:30 AM
The seasonal tourneys is a very good idea actually. And it makes alot of sense. It has my support, that's for sure. But, i wanna hear what u guys are proposing first..

01-20-2006, 01:24 PM
How do you think we should go about it?

01-20-2006, 09:24 PM
my suggestion:
have once a month tourneys,like one from a different genre each month,rotate them every month. so for e.g:
Jan:FPS:COD2
Feb:Racing:NFSU2
March:RTS:generals or wc3
etc
pick a genre and randomize which game to be played from a list of other games in that genre

01-20-2006, 09:58 PM
Should the games be voted upon what to be played in the genre? Or would the mods/organizers just announce it?

01-21-2006, 01:06 PM
Get a poll on most popular games in a genre,then do a random draw of a game (pieces of paper in a hat or sumting)

01-21-2006, 03:16 PM
Don't make games a seasonal thing, please. I seriously doubt that we would only want to have tournaments at certain times of the year, let alone dedicate a certain time frame for specific games to be played. Neither should y'all designate specific months to have tournaments, unless you know when gamers have the time to train for and participate in tourneys. People work on different schedules. Yes, you can't please everyone, but you must make it as convenient as possible to attract numbers.

I am also upset with the fact that we mostly play CS:Source and DotA. It mainly stems from the reality that there are stubborn and/or ignorant people who preach that "this game sucks and that game not realistic"(you get the idea). Once a game is not to someone's liking, their interest in it is shot down very quickly, as well as other peoples' general interests. Pretty much a domino effect. However, I really don't know why general interest when we find something new or different to play. CoD(2), DoD, C&C:Generals, NFSU2, BF2, UT2K4 are all great games that I love to/would love to play whenever possible and I wish there were tournaments for all of these games.

There are handful of people in Java who still play most of these games. We call some of them n00bs. Some have honestly earned that title. However, I applaud this handful of people who take the time to play the games that we are guilty of neglecting. They keep the interest alive. One day, one of them will be playing the game, and, because of that, an entire group of people will want to play it. It will happen, because just watching it reminds them of the fun they had while playing it.

At the end of the day, we must become diversified in the field of gaming. At this point in time, most of us are way too specialised for our own good and I fear that we are allowing precious talent to go to waste.

01-21-2006, 08:57 PM
once a month will not give people the chance to develop in the game, will end up like how some of the 1 shot tourneys in gatt used to go, people need to get familiar with the games.

01-21-2006, 11:19 PM
yes but im talking about games that people already play laruto,one month to sharpen ur skills and then is go time

01-22-2006, 05:05 PM
if that is the case, then maybe it might work, i just keep remembering the tourneys that used to take place before anyone knew the games were out, that alone wasn't too bad, but there were never 2nd tourneys when the game got more popular.

01-25-2006, 08:59 PM
right not i hah nuttin 2 say but wtf
cod 2 get shot in dee ass ( damn i love dat game)
bf2 was murdered (omg this gurl is sweet)
dod barely even got attention (shame on u guys )

men jus to ignorant and some points made are true but hoss expand d gaming to a higher lvl . (and i have been to several other cafe's mayby not the size of java but dey doh worship jus 1 or 2 games )

must try and organize some kinda promotion or sumtin cuz i real gettin bored and i does play source and dota so doh gimme no ole talk.i doh like dem at all but i not ignorant towards them....loyality *sigh* can be quite negative sometimes...

p.s i only want men to play cod and bf2 etc jus so i cud pwn them and showw off :) :) :) :) PEACE OUT

but still doh be ignorant

01-25-2006, 10:12 PM
btw i hear a rumour some men wah resurrect ravenshield...

and please play DOD...learn the guns and stop NOOBING around

COD is solid...nice kix sweat...not really serious bout this one but its nice to have on the roster as gosu gamers

01-26-2006, 12:20 AM
yea even though i dont like what they did to the multiplayer i still play it,cuz i realised the potential for tourneys etc. if men could start thinking like that,the whole of TT gaming will reach a higher level

wildness in DOD=take a MG42,sneak up on a man,aim at he foot and hold down the trigger til u facing upwards :)

steupse@rat

01-27-2006, 02:35 PM
btw,
i still think that the focus is only on css, and that other games are merely fads, played a couple times then discarded like reebok pump shoes and nokia n-gages....
i still think CoD, DoD, BF2, even sh!t games like SoF(sof lol) and quake 4(yea i real hate that game) should have their own time in the limelight, as in, more than two weeks..
like u said yourself, the WEEKS that BF2 was played, was not enough

01-27-2006, 06:45 PM
karyu...what was ur purpouse in that post? you just said the same thing you said earlier...

the games like bf2 died out because its not fit to play in java...its only good really with HUGE servers

01-31-2006, 09:44 PM
u cant get men who rell loyal to do dem ting , is thier money let them spend it how they feel , post done i give up ..