View Full Version : Setting Up Laptop - Tv Display?
I just got a laptop here for my dad, which has an Intel G915 (or something like that) video chipset, with a VGA-out as well as a S-Video out port. I have a cable which came with my 9600 Pro video card that had one end being an S-video connector, and the other end split with an S-video connector, as well as an RCA Video connector.
When connecting the S-video cable in the appropraiate port on the laptop, and the RCA connector on the TV, upon entering the display settings for the laptop, the 2nd display doesn't work for the S-video port, it only recognizes the VGA port as being the port for the 2nd display.
Any ideas as to what to do to get the laptop to see the S-video port as the port to be used for the 2nd display option, or if it is even possible? Or is there something I'm forgetting?
If nothing comes up, no scene, the laptop will only be here for another week, but this should be good knowledge if something like this comes up again.
12-30-2005, 03:13 PM
i thought that was only available if tv out cards are enabled...u cud probaly bypss the lptop screen and put it to tv usig the s video...but the dual screen thing i doh kno
12-30-2005, 03:41 PM
I can't say Im very experienced with this but I'll explain how i think it works.
The S-Video port is a TV-Out port, it doesnt' work as a 2nd display but rather displays exactly whats on the laptop. If you want to utilize a 2nd monitor (like i use at work), you can either use the DVI output or use a 2nd videocard.
If you did get 2 displays up but wish to switch the 2nd display as your primary, rightclick on the monitor in display properties and check primary.
Well I'm not experienced in this either, hence why I'm asking.
The thing is, I have the cable hooked up to the TV, and nothing shows at all (it's going to RCA Video Input 2 on the TV).
I learned a lot about it already via other forums etc in the past hour or two, but still no info as to how to get the TV to show the image from the laptop. Hence why I'm wondering what I'm doing (or not doing) as a result.
12-30-2005, 05:40 PM
I'm confused.
Just today I managed to my my laptop to show on a big screen...felt cool.
what we have here is failure to communicate....
SPK: say exactly what u did (with respect to configuring the display settings)
Also I sense a bit of laziness in these posts we should see more things like this:
right click on desktop--->properties--->advanced---> etc.
most display adapters with svideo out allow you to either show what is displayed on the secondary output or the option of overlayed video can be displayed. The user has to choose which of these is displayed.
Okay, put simply, I'm not seeing anywhere as to how to set up a display for the TV-Out port.
The converter cable was connected from the S-video port to the RCA Video port, and the TV channel was set to the appropriate channel (Input 2).
Upon checking the settings to see if TV-Out has been enabled:
[Click Start >> Control Panel (or Settings >> Control Panel) >> Display >> Settings >> Advanced >> (Mobile) Intel® Extreme Graphics or Intel® Graphics Media Accelerator Driver >> Graphics Properties, and then select TV as the Display Device and click OK]
When going through that procedure, there is no choice for a TV as a display device, only the laptop screen itself. Do you all think that it could be due to older drivers? The drivers themselves were released around March or so I believe.
12-31-2005, 01:11 PM
i remember on a hp laptop it was automatic...when the svideo cable was plugged in it was automatic...but then again the tv had a svideo port...
i know that on those ATI converters (AIW right?) it has all the connectors...
i thnk the problem could be the conversion to the rca jacks.... try it on a tv with svideo in and see if it works
01-01-2006, 01:28 PM
try usin d function key on the laptop and the display button
but i doubt it can show simultaneously on both screens (i've never seen it done)
Hmm...if i had a TV w/ S-Video, I would have tried it, cuz I also have a cable that has S-Video connectors @ both ends only.
Well in a while I gonna put new video drivers on it, see if it'll help.
*edit: still nothing going, it seems as though it's not seeing there is any connection in the 1st place...*