View Full Version : Star Trek: The Next Generation On G4...
12-28-2005, 03:19 PM
And other news...
They cancelling G4TV.com and Filter.
They changing Icons into a Best Week Ever rip-off. (http://www.entertainmentcareers.net/id/?id=46115)
And they even considering changing their name. (http://hollywoodreporter.com/thr/television/brief_display.jsp?vnu_content_id=1001700360)
I feel they trying to become SpikeTV jr.
Interesting times lie ahead.
Cyar go wrong with some Star Trek though.
(something wrong with this post's formatting...)
12-28-2005, 04:07 PM
ah i saw the promo, 2 eps every mc weeknight... they really rushing down the series. Luck i got em on divx ;)
12-29-2005, 11:34 AM
Heh, Trekkies, I think they tryin to make this channel TV for techies who dream about hot girls in the back of their heads, instead of spiketv jr.
yeah... not to mention they also airing the man show....
12-29-2005, 02:24 PM
For the most techies are interested in more things that just tech. I think they are trying to exploit the things that techies like to make their channel more appealing.
12-29-2005, 07:58 PM
they r getting tacky... they took a good channel (ZDTV)
made it into techtv and started showing sh!t like robot wars and old bbc productions.
then they made it ALL about gaming...here we got G4...and they really started to suck from here..not that the gaming is bad. its jus that the constant reruns of yesterday's episode gets kinda annoying after a while
then they brought the low quality anime, they started back the bbc stuff...and then the man show...its jus getting sickening.
01-10-2006, 12:46 PM
they really are trying to rush this series.
the idea to cancel to of their better shows is kinda weird to me though, i do hope Laura and Tina can get jobs elsewhere. Chinee gurl could come over here and work for me ;)
01-10-2006, 01:09 PM
I watched it last night, good stuff.
First time I saw it showing...I was in shock for a while.
01-18-2006, 11:23 PM
Originally posted by Paradoxxx@Dec 28 2005, 04:07 PM
ah i saw the promo, 2 eps every mc weeknight... they really rushing down the series. Luck i got em on divx ;)
Para, all kinda how I hailin yuh on MSN fuh this...how many DVDs I hadda bring to get copies of that?
01-19-2006, 12:06 AM
i found out that Diane Mizota got a new job working with kevin Rose and company, i hope they manage to pull something good off.
and i noticed that for the first time in over a year i actually switch to channel 25 as soon as i get home and just before bed, alwasy with the hope of seeing a bit of Trek.
reaper2051
02-08-2006, 10:38 PM
I prefer to watch The Next Generation and Action Blast on G4
WHOO HOO BEAST WARS IN ON G4 not to mention Kaiju Big Battel
gambitt
02-09-2006, 11:15 AM
Like Xecutiona said, they suck. Took a good channel, with a very select target audience (ie us, geeks) and programming content to match, and ruined it. I didnt so much mind the Tech TV because they had some interesting stuff that, while not totally captivating, was either a good break in the constant computers or gave me time to look at something else on TV.
Now they trying to make it for gamers, but are sucking totally at it. They picking girls to host shows on gaming, and the stupid twits dont know what the hell they talking about. Nothing wrong with girls hosting gaming shows, but get ones who know what they talking about dammit! You doh see me trying to do a show about interior decorating, do you?
They have shows about cars, ok great, cars. But instead of showing us anything worthwhile about the cars, all they have is some idiot holding a microphone up to the car-girl's bottom like he's hoping she'll fart for the cameras or something. Nothing wrong with car-girls, we all love car-girls right, but for crap's sake get the wannabe player away from the car-girls.
Now they gone and lost so much of the geek market, they desperate to pull them back and it's like they said "hey what do geeks like... star trek right? lets show star trek and the geeks will all come back". Thing is we done seen all those episodes already, and we done seen them twice! Hell we done seen all of TOS twice too. And no, we not looking at the other one with scott bakula because it was gay. So was most of voyager.
Uh... sorry just had to rant. As I was saying, yeah, Xecutiona's right, they pwn suckage. All your suck are belong to them. Bleh.
02-09-2006, 11:28 AM
well TNG is one of the most poplular TV series of the 90's and was loved by all, not just 'geeks' bringing that show to G4 had nothing to do with those who feel abondoned by that channel, it simply had to do with advertising, never notice what type of ads run during that show as opposed to the rest of the programming? TNG is one of the better things that has happened to that channel in a long time.
gambitt
02-10-2006, 12:09 PM
Originally posted by LARUTO@Feb 9 2006, 11:28 AM
well TNG is one of the most poplular TV series of the 90's and was loved by all, not just 'geeks' bringing that show to G4 had nothing to do with those who feel abondoned by that channel, it simply had to do with advertising, never notice what type of ads run during that show as opposed to the rest of the programming? TNG is one of the better things that has happened to that channel in a long time.
It was one of the more popular, with lots of people but especially with geeks. There's a whole range of geeks who will call up the cable companies in the states and ask for G4 if they dont have it already just because of Star Trek. (And come on even Trekkies agree that they are geeks.)
Yes it has to do with advertising, just as all of the other changes had to do with advertising. They brought in stuff like the man show and the car shows and the crap game shows because they were hoping to attract a larger viewing audience and therefore make more money. But a lot of people I've spoken to agree that the channel has become utter ta-ta over the years.
It may be one of the better things to have happened to the channel over the years, but by comparison it's still not going to make it any better, because to put it simply ST-TNG has very little to do with us as computer users. It's just like MTV is no longer about music, hasnt been for years and the programming on both channels is just becoming more and more banal.
It's like if Cartoon network started playing classical music at odd times of the day, because they are trying to attract an older crowd. That would defeat the whole purpose of the channel, not by attracting an older audience, but by drifting away from what's made it worthwhile in the first place, the cartoons.
02-12-2006, 08:29 PM
TNG could at least claim to be about technology, unlike the vast majority of other nonsense G4 has introduced over the past few years.
Fast Lane? Man mc Show? And now they bringin Triumph de Comic Insult Dog?
Tata.
riskbreaker
02-20-2006, 03:17 PM
Star Trek, Fast Lane and The Man Show is real poop. I never really like g4TV.com (I hated it actually), but filter was good...
03-04-2006, 05:24 PM
i have spike and they show tng and deep space 9........i like ds9 better for some reason....i dont have g4.....thats sad.
03-06-2006, 09:45 AM
Street Fury dread!!
yeah and that gameshow that used to be on spike commin soon....
wait for it....
wait for it.....
wait for it....
BANZAI!!!
03-06-2006, 09:03 PM
Between Fast Lane, Banzai, Triumph and Barbwire Biscuit, G4 very close to them days when TechTV used to show one setta BBC bullsh*t.
03-06-2006, 09:18 PM
well u have to understand this
when tech tv got sold one of there best show "fresh gear" gone missing faster than geeks trying to jerk off on Sumi Das..... oh i miss her
and now that call for help is back on with leo, i tink
g4 have some rating help
if u ever saw G4 pre techtv+G4, G4 was a dying channel, they only revamped because of tech tv
technology is getting old and being held back like chuck norris guarding his son from MJ
i want back the ole techtv from 2000 where it was actually good to watch techtv for hours and even forget about cinemax and showtime
i would truly want back my geek station where game reviews(good ones) tech talk tech news what is cool and stuff.
now its all stupid cool guys trying to be geeks and idiots who dont know what asdw means