View Full Version : Intels 'auto Ocing Yonah'

12-19-2005, 12:13 PM
INTEL HAS A naming problem again, and it is not one that is easy to pigeonhole. The problem is that if you buy a chip, it theoretically runs at a distinct clock rate, and that is that. If you want to save power, you can run it slower also, but that is an option. What happens when a chip automatically runs faster, briefly? How do you market it?

Lets take the auto-overclocking in Yonah for example. If you buy a CPU at 2.16GHz, you expect it to act like the rest of the 2.16GHz CPUs. If that CPU can ramp up to 2.33 when circumstances permit with the laptop equivalent of Foxton, how fast is it? 2.16 or 2.33? Before you write to say it is a model T243-7aR//763T243-7aR//763, please choke on something before you put your fingers on the keyboard.

Now, to make matters worse, what do you do if production variances mean that CPU1 will spend 10 per cent of its life OC'd, and CPU2 will be there 20% of the time? Is CPU 1 binned at a higher spec than 2? Is it marketed as faster? What about when you add in a laptop with a more efficient cooling system, are the CPUs in each one still the 'same' since the environment affects the cores in a measurable way?

This one gets ugly quickly, and if Intel doesn't deem its sales people smart enough to trust them with GHz figures, how are they going to explain this? The funky sales card that doesn't exist decoding model numbers won't help here. Yup, this one degrades into a royal mess in no time at all.

There are a few things that Intel is doing differently this time. It is changing the way it bins CPUs. Instead of sheer clock rate, it is moving to clock rate and power. If a CPU can hit 2GHz on the tester, it is then subjected to power use tests. The next phase of the binning is one where average power usages get taken into account as well. If you have a 2GHz 1W average chip, and another that is 2W, they will be in different lots. The 2W part will probably be downbinned to a 1.8GHz model, and it will definitely be a lesser part in the real world.

Rumour has it that the top two speed bins of Yonah will be notably lesser in real world power draw than their lower brethren, leading to 'faster' chips with real world longer battery life. This may explain why Yonah went from a planned 2.5GHz +/- a bin to 2.16GHz, the extra clock was sacrificed on the altar of power efficiency.

This is actually a really good thing for the consumer, and we hope it catches on, it will extend battery life, for a price. The problem is, how do you tell the proles? Do you tell them it is a set speed, and put 12 little footnotes after every use of a model name, between the numbers and the ™ symbol? Do you just give up and dangle a shiny thing in their faces?

Whatever it ends up doing, there is real science behind it, and due to the current US war on anything intellectual, that message will most assuredly be lost. µ

Nothing new, just interesting reading.

12-19-2005, 01:00 PM
I read this, this morning... damn para for beating me to it... ah well. This in the least seems interesting as it will prolly bring the competition between AMD and Intel back to a much closer and level playign field. But then we doh know hot AM2 gonna perform yet so we'll see.

12-19-2005, 01:45 PM
Can't count AMD out of the running damn right.

12-20-2005, 11:38 AM
This is an extremely good Preview:
Yonah Preview (http://anandtech.com/cpuchipsets/showdoc.aspx?i=2627&p=1)
Defintely worth a read.

12-20-2005, 09:44 PM
errr... nice link. Try fixing it.

12-21-2005, 03:30 PM
I jes click on it and it work fine... I doh know what u talking about. But for arguments sake, go to http://anandtech.com/ its on their homepage for now (note as of today 21st Dec 2005) the link is on the page.

12-21-2005, 04:50 PM
Originally posted by w1ntry@Dec 21 2005, 03:30 PM
I jes click on it and it work fine... I doh know what u talking about. But for arguments sake, go to http://anandtech.com/ its on their homepage for now (note as of today 21st Dec 2005) the link is on the page.

It works for me as well. Mustbe a chineee thing (damn mojo)

12-21-2005, 05:17 PM
http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets/showdoc.aspx?i=2648
Final Words

With updated benchmarks and a more level playing field comparison to the Pentium M and Athlon 64 X2, we're truly able to see the potential of Intel's Core Duo processor. Our initial analysis still holds true, that for a notebook processor, the Core Duo will be nothing short of amazing for professionals. Looking at the performance improvements offered everywhere from media encoding to 3D rendering, you're going to be able to do a lot more on your notebook than you originally thought possible (without resorting to a 12-pound desktop replacement). In the past, power users on the go had to sacrifice mobility for CPU power, but with the Core Duo, that is no longer the case. You will still most likely have to resort to something larger if you need better GPU performance, but at least your CPU needs will be covered. The one thing that Intel's Core Duo seems to be able to do very well is to truly bridge the gap between mobile and desktop performance, at least in thin and light packages.

But what about the bigger picture? What does our most recent look at the performance of Intel's Core Duo tell us about future Intel desktop performance? We continue to see that the Core Duo can offer, clock for clock, overall performance identical to that of AMD's Athlon 64 X2 - without the use of an on-die memory controller. The only remaining exception at this point appears to be 3D games, where the Athlon 64 X2 continues to do quite well, most likely due to its on-die memory controller.

The problem with the Core Duo is that its clock speeds aren't going to be quite high enough to be competitive, on the very high end, with AMD. Luckily for Intel, Conroe should be able to offer higher clock speeds without much of a performance penalty, thanks to its 4-issue core. It is always interesting to note that Intel's marketing focus is moving away from focusing on ILP (Instruction Level Parallelism), yet one of its biggest features of their next-generation microarchitecture is a significant increase in ILP.

Honestly, as it stands today, if Intel can get clock speeds up, the only area that they will need to improve on is gaming performance to be competitive with AMD. We wouldn't be too surprised if the comparisons that we have shown today end up being very similar to what we encounter at Conroe's launch: with AMD and Intel performing very similarly at the same clock speeds, but with AMD's on-die memory controller giving it the advantage in gaming.

Intel's Core Duo launches in January at CES, so if you've been thinking about buying a new laptop, we'd suggest waiting at least another month or so. You won't be disappointed.