View Full Version : How Much Ram Is Enough?
12-14-2005, 01:26 AM
I remember in a previous thread we were discussing latency of 2x1gb sticks of ram vs 2x512mb. An arguement made by myself was that there would be no real performance gain by switching to 2x1gb sticks atm, a counter argument was that many of the newer games require it (bf2/fear).
Toms hardware did a comparison of 512 Vs 1gb Vs 2gb
http://www.tomshardware.com/2005/12/13/how...need/index.html (http://www.tomshardware.com/2005/12/13/how_much_ram_do_you_really_need/index.html)
Its interesting to note that the need for 2gb really shows when you are doing extra stuff in the background/heavily multitasking OR if you hit that mc windows key. For me I think i'm sticking with 1gb for a while longer, i'll make sure that no one gets to my shares when im gaming. Of course i'll get me a gosu kboard that can diable the windows key heh
12-14-2005, 02:08 AM
2 gb will help alittle. occasionally a game mite spike ober 1gb but no real need to have more than 1gb
12-14-2005, 11:49 AM
2 GBS!!!!
Yea seriously its lovely to encode,download,upload, copy,paste,delete and sweat at the same time. The extra 1gb does make a significant diff in performance, its not only the x2.
12-14-2005, 01:19 PM
BF2 needs it... i've experienced this with meh own eyes... and well there was that review with the 2x7800GTX SLI MAXXXXXXXED OUT.... it needed 2GB to NOT stutter.
i think u need to look at the review where 2GB only got 1fps higher with BF2 over 1GB.
I agree with para here. There is no noticable increase in performance using 2GB of memory as opposed to 1Gb when u sweat, unless u leeching, being leeched, torrenting, or downloading fierce.
However, there are some instances where 2GB performs worse than 1GB revealed in this test, and even more which this test did not even cover. what about limited latencies of 1GB sticks when being overclocked?
12-14-2005, 05:57 PM
bf2 only benefits from 2gbs of ram cause bad coding
Originally posted by cereal_killer@Dec 14 2005, 05:57 PM
bf2 only benefits from 2gbs of ram cause bad coding
1 fps more is still nothing worth mentioning IMO.
12-14-2005, 10:44 PM
who knows...maybe you would NEED the one unnoticeable frame and have to make a big fuss in a tournament trying to sound very gosu saying "i cah play on dat framerate"....den getting pwned after!! :P
when yuh come with bullshit in tech talk, yuh hadda sound techy..
1fps different... on average desired framerate is 60 fps.
1/60 is 0.017 seconds of lag per second (as opposed to other machine with 2GB of memory).
this gives u actually 1/60/60 seconds of lag per frame.
0.00027 s lag per frame.
Even though your latency on gigabit LAN is nowhere as low as this, you have to be extremely "gosu" to say the lag make me miss dat headshot hoss.
12-15-2005, 11:09 AM
mojo, though u may be correct in your calculations, what "MIGHT" be the issues is the "FPS lowest point" during a game
i.e. u have 1 gb, get 60 fps ... add a gig, obviously you wont improve your frames, but say for istance you run into a big battle, 12 men on the screen and mad sh!t flyin all overm frames my drop considerably, and possibly, drop even more if you dont have your 2gb
my point, addin ram wont improve your frames per second, but it may help when the big battles start and the extra memory would be needed
:s
12-15-2005, 02:31 PM
dis ram argument is basically "to each his own" oui
Crixx_Creww
12-15-2005, 04:21 PM
this ram arguament....
made me check the price of ram for the first time in like almost 8 months....
So thanks para ^_^ DDR IS ridiculously cheap now.
I see on pricewatch it have ah nice crucial 1 gig dual channell kit that will go nicely in my 1337 D377 for $127, thas awesome.
12-16-2005, 08:22 AM
Again I will say it, the review was of 2x7800GTX maxxed out... we talking 1600x1200 (or hgher) with 8XAA and 16xAN. They used a FX-55 I think, but the game was STUTTERING... last I checked 1fps is not enough to stop a game from stuttering. Once they added the 2GB it ran smoothly at decent frames (i.e.>30-60fps) I can't rem who did they review but it would have been either Techreport, sharkyextreme, toms hardware and the ilk. If I can find it i'll hit a link.