View Full Version : Virtualization For Internet Cafe's

12-13-2005, 06:04 PM
Theoretically virtualization allows one machine to install and run multiple OSe's at the same time....
This would be interesting to use in an internet cafe.. .well for the surfing only section at least..

One system with dual core cpu.. 1 gb of ram.. running virtualization .... Run 3 WinXP at the same time .. hook up to 3 monitors.. 3 usb keyboard.. 3 usb mouse..... You just saved yourself buying 3 different Systems !
That alone would make internet cafe's much more affordable to upkeep if you get a 3 users to one machine ratio ..... It will only be applicable for surfing , word processing etc. i won't want to try and play BF2 over LAN splitting the resources between a man playing Sof2 and someone watching nrop....
Though multiple use gaming on one rig would be possible in a lower end game eg. Warcraft III , and if several people playing the same game i don't think the RAM penalty will be that high as they accesing alot of the same data .

Also in a home situation when mumz want to check her mail... sis want to burn cd... just get a seperate monitor , keyboard and mouse .. and you in business..
If Virtualization ever gets off the ground as they say it should we could be looking at a nice new way to save money... have cheap sweats etc.

12-13-2005, 07:07 PM
It would have to get really around if you want to have cheap sweats :)

12-14-2005, 12:53 PM
Umm Trini... its doesn't quite work that way. And btw yuh don't need virtualization... terminal services works in much the same way. Its interesting we're moving back towards a central server with terminals to log into.. HP has a setup like that for educational setups. Imagine a server farm in 1 location and 1 server/receiver at a school using a fibre link and having 20-30 monitors, keyboards, mice without a machine for each one, running remotely to the server farm. Vitualisation say like VMware runs on 1 machine, but its useful for simulating labs or if you have a peice of software that runs on another OS and yuh doh want to dual/multi boot. To do what u're reffering to would take a very powerful machine with multiple graphics cards cause streaming the level of detail we have now in games over a network would kill it DEAD. Plus you'd need proprietry software to have different machines running, it'd be like runnign games on multiple Virtual machine in VMware... you'd kill the machine. Its a nice idea and for NON gaming it is already in application in schools in the US. However as far as ur idea goes... I doh think we ready for that yet.

12-14-2005, 02:14 PM
yeah i remember my first field trip to IBM in form 4. Everybody was asking where the tower? Then our tour guide took us into a conference room and told us about the server having 1..n "dumb terminals" and that this system is quite popular in libraries and such.

I would be really interested in seeing this technology ported to average desktop PC though.

richjob
12-14-2005, 08:09 PM
Originally posted by mojo@Dec 14 2005, 02:14 PM
yeah i remember my first field trip to IBM in form 4. Everybody was asking where the tower? Then our tour guide took us into a conference room and told us about the server having 1..n "dumb terminals" and that this system is quite popular in libraries and such.

I would be really interested in seeing this technology ported to average desktop PC though.

K12 LTSP or Edubuntu gives you a decent terminal server by default.

12-14-2005, 08:38 PM
sigh, windows... Reinventing the wheel over and over again and trying to give it a new 'look'.