View Full Version : Christmas Came Early

12-06-2005, 09:39 PM
Ok well santa Droped off my 2005FPW at a cost of 4k TT.

THIS MONITOR is 20.1" Wide screen LCD for those of you who dont know and is supposed to have a 12MS responce time. ( dunno how its possible since the apple use same screen from samsung and rates it at 16ms )

Before purchasing this monitor ive read endless reviews and forums and all have given it a really good rating. with pros and cons.

General views on monitor
Pro's: Low responce time no ghosting. veyr bright vivid colour and extremly clear text.
Excellent for fast pased FPS. above average for watching wide screen dvd's. Sweet design, PIP and easy to use.

Cons: 60% of the monitors suffer from backlight bleeding ( including mine but almost none existant )

Now keep inmind their dosent exist a LCD monitor that dosent show ghosting.

My thoughts.
Im not sure if i hyped my self up too much but im dissapointed in some areas.
First of all the base of the stand that is ment to hold up this monitor seems to be some type of hard plastic, which to be honest has me worried a tad.
As well i ran it through a few hours of source test after numerous configurations and guess what, I SEE GHOSTING.
During normal movment its clear and crisp, but when in a fire fight and i begin to really push my movments and spin and jump out of windows, it begin to see a slight blurry effect.

I was told by a few owners that they never have seen this, so im assuming its one of those things where im more sensitive to than others ( come to think of it i also hear stuff people dont hmmm. )
So now ive gotten my frustration out about the ghosting what does Bushman have good to say about this monitor ? ITS HUGEEEEEEE OMG and wide screen is quite addictive. When you really take the time to look at text and pictures you can really appreciate this really nice samsung screen dell used. Text has never looked so good and rich and life like.

Performance wise Playing source with my x800PRO is no problem.
With Full settings hdr lighting im abel to play at around 60 to 100 FPS

So over all do i regret spending 4k TT on this monitor ? id have to say no. Dell has put together a A class product and backed by their 5 year warranty im set for a long relationship with this new toy of mine.

Here is my new desktop

http://img393.imageshack.us/img393/9194/desktop6zz.jpg

12-06-2005, 09:46 PM
CHECK AT MOLES!!!!

12-06-2005, 10:55 PM
yea i luv how she looks at high res

12-06-2005, 11:11 PM
For serious fast paced gaming, CRT ftw.
LCD is probly better in every regard except this, i would use my tried and trusty CRT monitor.

12-06-2005, 11:26 PM
monitor ownz
mine runs great :D
i go give allyuh a preview in java soon
I have no problems with the stand, its a sturdy heavy base and works quite well.
I kno u loving the usb ports an ting too :)

4k is pricey too, well for me lol. where did you buy it from? ebay or dell or otherwise?

12-07-2005, 02:53 AM
you have 1 crazy ? how much did u pay for it

12-07-2005, 05:38 AM
santa rell love you boy :( de pr0n mussbe does look nice on that LCD eh bush ? ;)

12-07-2005, 10:54 AM
$465us shipped :D
Thought everybody knew I had one, it was in my thread. ah well who cares.

Best bet to get one for nice price is ebay dese days. dell sticking with the coupons recently. something about trying to move more into the higher end market or something. its wat i heard i might be wrong but ebay aint going no where :D

Mostly sweating nfs:mw recently, I dont see much ghosting if any at all. vsync ownz :D

when 2005fpw say jump, gtx hadda jump :)

12-07-2005, 11:46 AM
you paid 500 usd in america I live where Caribbean

12-07-2005, 11:49 AM
I live in the caribbean as well, im visiting in america :D

and $465 is a long way from $500

on a lighter note, the pwnage continues
the 3007fpw 30" version is on its way ;)

12-07-2005, 12:20 PM
on lighter note i just ordered ah viewsonic 19" mon

yes its de one with 3ms

i eh need all dat space to see

12-07-2005, 01:07 PM
nice opi :D
price?

12-14-2005, 03:05 AM
wat monitor it is you buying in truth with 3ms mite buy 1 and do a dual monitor setup and also use the 19" for lans. studying to build a carrying case for the dell

12-14-2005, 03:31 AM
must agree with pinkie LCDs rock cept that ghosting ting (mc ghosting). I hope in time its resolved, I could really use the desk space.

12-14-2005, 11:25 AM
well buy 1 like mine im well over the ghosting and mc headshots never seemed easier

12-14-2005, 11:50 AM
I know a guy who makes cases for them. $50us plus shipping. Im buying one next month. Will take pics etc.

12-14-2005, 07:57 PM
veiwsonic vx924

for $300 usd and 3ms to craw

u cant go wrong, infact this is de only gaming lcd out there

i love it, its de best

12-14-2005, 09:53 PM
Hmm from toms specs its 4ms, nice LCD though.
http://www.tomshardware.com/2005/06/02/vie...x924/index.html (http://www.tomshardware.com/2005/06/02/viewsonic_vx924/index.html)