Price ~$240USD ~$240USD
CPU Socket 939 939
Manufact proc 90nm 90nm
What's the difference?
If u have an input reply please.
12-05-2005, 11:04 PM
Opty is more stable and has a higher prob of OCing like a bitch than the SD
Like all other optys, it depends on steppings but as far as ic ould see, ALL oc well.
Optys also run cooler in general :)
Also Opteron sounds better than Athlon :D
what about the low latency on die dual channel memory controller?
Which is better? the opteron or the athlon 64 version?
12-06-2005, 08:32 AM
Are they not using the same mem controller?
Since they are not using ECC mem again I think it would be wize to use the same controller save some $$ on manufacturing.
12-06-2005, 08:59 AM
Two things to note about Opteron's:
1. They have higher memory bandwidth that A64's by default.
2. The 1XX series Opteron uses NON-ECC/registered memory just like a A64.
As I recall, Opterons have the extra HT lane enabled ondie. Thus more memory bandwidth. Look at ANY Opteron review and see how ridiculously HIGH the memory performance is. For instance, memory performance on the EE line of intel processors even though its an FSB is pretty damn high with DDR2. Whereas the A64 is high as well due to low latency on die controller. But their memory performance of say a X2 4800+ and a Pentium 3.4GHz EE (dual core) is comparable (in synthetic bench's). But when u bring Opteron or Xeon in... well that's a whole other ball game. So Opteron all the way, I mean hey its the SAME PRICE, so GO FOR IT.
12-06-2005, 09:18 AM
and opterons tend to oc at lower voltages which means lower temps
12-06-2005, 09:39 AM
even though i have ah sd 3700
i say the opty will be a better choice
12-06-2005, 10:31 AM
I think i'll do some reading up on these opterons, I was of the opinion that they were SDs.
12-06-2005, 10:48 AM
:( thank god i read this thread cause i was goin for a san diego 3700 and that opteron was about the same price 235 us here though
wow @ 100% votes for de opty!!!
I find it hard to believe that everybody vote for one of 2 identical CPUs without anyone posting a single link where becnhmarks showed one to be outperforming the other.....
P.S. I didn't vote yet... :bleh:
12-07-2005, 07:26 PM
*CRaZYMoFo sighs@ mojo
they dont outperform, they OC better, are more stable at stock and run cooler.
they are the SAME cores except that the optys have the cores that pass all the more stressful stress tests so that they are proven uber stable.
wat else yuh want????? i running one of dem atm, wat more proof u want?
oh one more thing, the optys really became popular becus they WERE cheap, now they running similar prices so the price issue is not that much of a big deal anymore