View Full Version : What Processors Do In Terms Of Performance?
doomtack
12-05-2005, 03:18 PM
I wanna get better performance in gameplay, but i don't have much cash (like most ppl dese days).
so i was thinkin of upgradin my processor (amd sempron 2200+ 1.5g)
and MoBo (can't remember but is crap).
-what i wanted to know is, what is the processor responsible for in terms of gameplay and otherwise pc performance stuff.
also,
-Would it be better to upgrade my processor or upgrade my graphics card (Geforce FX5200).
I am getting an offer for an AMD Athlon xp2200 and a Biostar K7 ...sumting... the processor would be overclocked to 3.0ghz.
i gettin these two at $725.
-is this a good deal?
12-05-2005, 06:30 PM
i suggest u keep what u have now and just buy a better video card and maybe get more ram
from what i seeing on dat path of upgrade it doh make sence
12-05-2005, 06:44 PM
How much RAM you got now , and what type is it.
richjob
12-05-2005, 08:00 PM
Originally posted by dinesh@Dec 5 2005, 06:44 PM
How much RAM you got now , and what type is it.
Hmmm.
It all depends on what type of games you play.
If you're hardcore 1ee7 gamer d00d, then you do need more power. Sempron 2200 is actually a Athlon XP 1800 T-bird chip equivalent in speed - and that was fast - about four years ago. I had one up to a couple of months ago (sad story with burst caps) . You could do UT 2004, Doom 3 (with a push - 640*480) and maybe HL 2.
I'd band my belly and save my shekels and upgrade my whole beast (CPU, motherboard, RAM, video card)
THe good news is that even the cheapest CPU (DON'T BUY SOCKET A FOR ANYTHING OTHER THAN OFFICE WORK) is more than good enough for gaming.
Your biggest improvement will be in video card upgrades and in RAM.
Memory: DDR 400. 512 go conduct yuh, 1024 go conduct yuh right.
Video: 6200 AGP at absolute minimum, though if you get a 5900 plus cheap, don't turn it down. If yuh doing PCIe, Geforce 6200 (NOT Turbocache) or Geforce 6600.
CPU: 2600+ Sempron Socket 754. Kinda overclockable.
Mobo. : Anything with nforce 4 chipset, even if it is with the socket 754 chip.
12-05-2005, 08:04 PM
lol, i doh think a 1337 gamer d00d would ask a question like this rich ;)
i would go with what Opi says boy doomtack,a FX5200 is a piece o crap, i mean, a lil 9600XT would be heaven to you if u workin with that, and RAM is always a good thing :) i would recommend you get a gig, 512 doh really cut it, i find when u go gig, u doh go back
the sempron 2200 is a very nice cpu, with lots of potential!
i have pushed a sempron 2200 over 200 fsb before. Can't remember exactly how high i went, but i remember over 2GHz and i didnt want to push very high, because the chip wasn't mine...
find out the model of your board and i can tell you whether it can oc the chip.
12-05-2005, 10:17 PM
upgrade your video card first ,the 5200 is a festering POS , my 3 year old radeon 8500 LE 128mb beats it left right and center in every game i played , it can't conduct WARCRAFT smooth @ 1024x768 in a big DOTA , much less for any new game.
I say at least 512mb of RAM and a 9600 pro/6200 AGP at least before you upgrade the processor . That should put you out around 1000tt max .
Processor speed doesn't impact gaming performance much till your video card and RAM are too fast to offer a bottleneck , a sempron 2200 won't be a problem to a gaming system till you get a 9800 pro or 6600gt class card.... until then don't bother to upgrade.... Overclock!
12-05-2005, 11:16 PM
sigh@ 6200 recommendations
Nothing less than a 6600gt i say, honestly. Look at where we heading. Try to save for a 6600gt or so.
If you can find out what mobo you are running maybe we can overlock the sempron a bit for some more performance.
12-06-2005, 08:53 AM
That deal for OC Xp2200 to 3GHz is nonsense, dat man trying to rip yuh off. That aside, depending on what you want to play, or what type of game u prefer to play (Doom3 based games, Farcry, etc). Then you will need alot more power than a 6600 (vanilla). Some pplz thing even a 6600GT is enough... well my opinion may be skewed with a X800XT and A64. But here's what, what kinda cash do you have to play with? give us a figure and if yuh ABSOLUTELY want to upgrade we'll give you the best advice on bang for buck we can. For instance if yuh have say 2G to use, and yuh doh wanna wait anymore, then yuh could prolly get a 3000+ A64 512MB ram and a 6600GT. Maybe more, maybe less. Give us a figure and we'll see what we can advise you on.
12-06-2005, 09:45 AM
yep buy a good video card and get more ram
cpu is not yuh limiting factor here
alot of games still run in de 1.5ghz range and dat is with intel speeds
only time when cpu will come in to play is because of gpu power
richjob
12-06-2005, 09:15 PM
Originally posted by CRaZYMoFo@Dec 5 2005, 11:16 PM
sigh@ 6200 recommendations
Nothing less than a 6600gt i say, honestly. Look at where we heading. Try to save for a 6600gt or so.
If you can find out what mobo you are running maybe we can overlock the sempron a bit for some more performance.
I only recommended the 6200 because the guy had limited funds.
Sure, 6600 minimum, if he can afford it. If not, a 6200 will give him Radeon 9600+ levelperformance for a cheapish price. Still much better than the Geforce FX 5200.
doomtack
12-08-2005, 05:35 PM
well i got about $700-$900.
i think i'll hold out on the cpu for now then, as for my present MoBo, i'll get bak to ya'll on dat.
ya'll think i could get ah decent gfx card for around dat cash price?
by d way tnx ppl! ^_^
12-08-2005, 06:36 PM
u might be able to get a normal 6600 for that price but locally u can atleast get a 6200
i could probably get you a 256mb 6200 for around $700, but my schedule is tight with exams and sh!t. The brand is XFX so pm me if you interested.
12-08-2005, 11:14 PM
For that price , you can get a good used card and some ram :)
doomtack
12-09-2005, 11:48 AM
so about how much for the 6600gt?
i mite try savin for dat...
also i wanna know wat is d best gfx card i could get wit dat price... an i if ya'll have connections to order it for cheaper from d states... it'll be much appreciated... ^_^
12-09-2005, 11:51 AM
TT$1150 from a friend of mine.
doomtack
12-09-2005, 12:15 PM
ok dis is wat i got from Everest....
see if ya'll can get anything from dat...
MSI KM3M-V (MS-7061) - (MoBo)
Front Side Bus Properties
Bus Type DEC Alpha EV6
Bus Width 64-bit
Real Clock 167 MHz (DDR)
Effective Clock 333 MHz
Bandwidth 2667 MB/s
Memory Bus Properties
Bus Type DDR SDRAM
Bus Width 64-bit
Real Clock 167 MHz (DDR)
Effective Clock 333 MHz
Bandwidth 2667 MB/s
Chipset Bus Properties
Bus Type VIA V-Link
Bus Width 8-bit
Real Clock 67 MHz (ODR)
Effective Clock 533 MHz
Bandwidth 533 MB/s
Motherboard Physical Info
CPU Sockets/Slots 1 Socket 462
Expansion Slots 3 PCI, 1 AGP
RAM Slots 2 DDR DIMM
Integrated Devices Audio, Video, LAN
Form Factor Micro ATX
Motherboard Size 190 mm x 240 mm
Motherboard Chipset KM266Pro
Motherboard Manufacturer
Company Name Micro-Star International
doomtack
12-12-2005, 09:50 AM
ppl... do ya'll think a 6600gt would work wit my MoBo?
cus i read bout some compatibility issues some ppl were having with it... random freezes and all...
also is d 66oogt d best choice for dat price?
Crixx_Creww
12-13-2005, 02:56 PM
if you can get a 6600 gt within the 700 to 900 price range that you have then by all means go for it! a solid card.
If you lucky and could get a 5950 xt for dat price, or cheaper, then even better for you!! ( i real like that card, i know he not gonna get one for that price buh i still real like it ^_^)
And as winny said, you reallllllll not gonna oc that sempron 2200 to 3ghz, that man goin an take yur money an fry your board!! And iam being very very serious, do not attempt such a nonsensical feat.
More ram is always good.
2 mem slots is ghay though.
Weak amd board, bleh.
If you had more ram, then a 6200 would actually make some kinda sense for a poor man... buh if you dont... then just save to get the 6600 gt.
I got my 6800 for 1200 :) so i happy, but alas, not everyone lucky like me.
eat some crixx an milk or suppligen for a month or two and use dem savings to get you de card.
12-13-2005, 06:02 PM
6600 gt is worth it :P , I think the guy meant he would over clock the sempron 2200 to Sempron 3000 ie. 2.1 GHZ , 3ghz on a socket 462 chip is IMPOSSIBLE without liquid nitrogen .
Though i won't pay to let SOMEONE ELSE overclock... you can do it yourself for free....
If all else fails at least get a 6200 or radeon 9600 pro , FX is a can of B@llz stay you should stay away from...
and at least 512 RAM ...
doomtack
12-28-2005, 04:53 PM
as far as i see my MoBo is d real problem...
d 6600gt i was gettin is PCIe.
so i waitin on ah good AGP card...
one question though...
i sold my freind my fx5200, and apparently it workin real good for him... so i guessin dat is either processer (since his is better), or that since my MoBo only at 166mhz, it could be holdin back d card...?!?!?
AN STILLL!!!!! Nobody answer my question...
What does the Processor do for gameplay improvement, and performance...?
Help me out here...
doomtack
01-11-2006, 06:14 PM
i lookin to buy Mojo 's 'MSI-K7N2 Delta 2 Platinum'
i wanna know if it would work wit my Sempron 2200+
and 6600gt (gettin it soon)
good news and bad news...
good news:
the board will work the stuff u posted!
bad news:
the board is no longer mine...
doomtack
01-18-2006, 06:14 PM
i gettin d 6600gt 2moro (hopefully)
my next step is dat i wanna upgrade d MoBo and cpu, in time to come,
thing is... which to buy first?
i wanna know if my current MoBo (MSI KM3M-V (MS-7061) ) would work with an Athlon 64 2800+
or if i should buy a new MoBo first, then buy d Athlon 64 2800+ ?
see i can't buy dem both at d same time... there'll be like a few months in between buying dem.
well first of all, the athlon 64 will not fit on a socket ! mainboard....
secondly, i'm not too impressed with the performance of that CPU. look for a sempron 64 bit solution they have plenty of bang for your buck. u will need to buy the board and cpu at the same time since socket A and socket 754 not compatible with each oher.
There is however a board available with a 754 and 939 socket which also has both AGP and PCI-E X16 slots.
01-18-2006, 10:24 PM
refering to the ULi based boards?
no... i am referring to the nf4 MCP north bridge. The board is fdrom jetway. I did make a mistake though there is no AGP slot
link (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813153035)
doomtack
01-19-2006, 06:22 PM
so wat u think is a decent combo to go with?
wit AGP, and a price range(s)
i'll save from there on...
01-19-2006, 08:47 PM
I still say stay away from AGP, however if you want an in between I'll recommend a baord based on the ULi chipset. Asus has an AS ROCK based on it... I'll post a link for it later.
01-20-2006, 03:15 AM
Link to mobo
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?...N82E16813157081 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813157081)
01-20-2006, 08:04 AM
thx crazy, the price is rather low as expected of that line from asus.
doomtack
01-23-2006, 10:36 AM
PPL! i get d eVGA geForce 6600GT!!! an it Sweet!
it workin real good, only one problem... after about 1hr of playin, there is a visible slow down... what causin dat?
oh, my board could only run at AGP4X... if dat could be d cause
-also i wanna get a better Power Supply. A 400W or 550W,
i know dem generic ones not good, but where can i get a decent one and at what price?
i Gettin a Sempron 64 2600 & a Biostar KM8M 800 for $900
what i really lookin for is a small upgrade on MoBo and Processor... is dat a good deal?
i think d board looks decent.
THNX ppl ^_^
I approve of your budget upgrade. The price is not so bad either :kakashi4:. Plenty of overclocking to do there when u become a techie.
With respect to a new power supply I would consider entry level to be 450W, and 500W to be a reasonable power rating.
doomtack
01-24-2006, 03:17 PM
i gonna get d power supply first...
but i still wa know wa is a pretty decent MoBo & Processor combo i could go for...and what d approximate price would be?
doomtack
01-25-2006, 09:42 AM
i heard that i can OC my sempron 2200+ if i raise d FSB from 166 to 200mhz.
problem is when i go on th menu to raise it...d only 2 fsb settings i see are 133mhz & 166mhz.
but i see on th specs online that the board i have has a max FSB of 300mhz...
*i confused*
do i need new bios or sometin?
01-25-2006, 10:41 AM
yea you probably need to update ur bios :)
err what fsb is it currently set at? 133 or 166?
doomtack
01-26-2006, 05:16 PM
It's set at 166.
so how do i go about getin an appropriate, and installin a new bios?
/me thinks 166 is max fsb for that mobo
doomtack
01-28-2006, 03:43 PM
well online i seein on d specs dat d max bus speed is 333mhz!?