View Full Version : Need Some Audio Advice...
11-21-2005, 01:15 AM
I recently had to throw away my faulty NForce and replace it with a Biostar motherboard. Not seeing much of a graphical difference with my games so far, but there's significant reduction in audio power (not quality). The maximum volume just isn't as high as it used to be.
I once d/loaded some sort of driver or app that let me raise my maximum volume...does anyone have any info on that?
11-21-2005, 01:25 AM
I dont know if it have software amplification,i know once u max everything out in windows thats about it. Thats one of the disadvantages with audio chips on motherboards, especially the cheaper mobos they use cheaper quality audio chips. If you really need audio you could get an audigy2 value card, decent price and better performance/quality.
11-21-2005, 10:09 AM
Get an aud2 card if possible
The prices have really dropped since the release of X-fi and im sure you would be able to find one at a decent price.
11-21-2005, 10:58 AM
i had similar problems @ work, you don't realize how good your system is until you use a shittier one :D
Anyways I got a cheap soundcard some BS $40 one (not 5.1) and its noticably louder.
richjob
11-21-2005, 06:52 PM
Originally posted by Paradoxxx@Nov 21 2005, 10:58 AM
i had similar problems @ work, you don't realize how good your system is until you use a shittier one :D
Anyways I got a cheap soundcard some BS $40 one (not 5.1) and its noticably louder.
It actually depends on the quality of your speakers/headphones. And the type of audio quality you want. If yuh rocking a good set of Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers, spend the money on a decent card. At minimum, the SB Live! 24-bit for about $250, depending on where you buy it. A Soundblaster Live 24-bit (actually based on a cut-down Soundblaster Audigy 2 chipset) will pwn 99% of onboard audio both in clarity and volume. You will notice the difference.
A 5.1 PCI soundcard based on the CMI 8738 chipset (not great, but decent - good for Linux) will run you a lot less than $100. I saw one for $53 or so in Kong Ting's in Curepe (the unlikeliest place for decent computing gear you ever saw) Yuh could pass by me, I have some surplus. :P One still in the box with the plastic.
Even the crappiest PCI soundcard tends to sound better than most onboard audio.
And yeah, the Nforce onboard audio on your motherboard was special. :)
richjob
11-21-2005, 07:16 PM
Originally posted by kayode@Nov 21 2005, 01:15 AM
I recently had to throw away my faulty NForce and replace it with a Biostar motherboard. Not seeing much of a graphical difference with my games so far, but there's significant reduction in audio power (not quality). The maximum volume just isn't as high as it used to be.
I once d/loaded some sort of driver or app that let me raise my maximum volume...does anyone have any info on that?
No info on any app here.
If you need more volume, you could always run run your sound card through your stereo system.
11-21-2005, 07:21 PM
I was just about to ask about the Headset. I find my headset is actually giving me too low sound..
hmm maybe it's all the time the cord got caught underneath the chair wheels...
richjob
11-21-2005, 08:00 PM
Originally posted by dinesh@Nov 21 2005, 07:21 PM
I was just about to ask about the Headset. I find my headset is actually giving me too low sound..
hmm maybe it's all the time the cord got caught underneath the chair wheels...
Sennheiser 555s, if you can afford them. Sennheiser PX100's are damn good, otherwise.
http://www.dansdata.com/3senns.htm
If not, the $100-125 Nippon America/Coby digital earphones give you OK sound. Much better than the $50 crapola.
richjob
11-21-2005, 08:28 PM
Originally posted by kayode@Nov 21 2005, 01:15 AM
Headphone volume amplifier? Like the link below?
http://www.proporta.com/F02/PPF02P05.php?t...1194&t_mode=des (http://www.proporta.com/F02/PPF02P05.php?t_id=1194&t_mode=des)
11-21-2005, 08:46 PM
nah dat is just volume control it doh amplify
a new sound card looking like the best option
Crixx_Creww
11-24-2005, 04:17 PM
try installing the ac3 audio codec and fiddling with the amplyfying options there.
Ive had cases where the audio on anime was just miserable and ive used ac3 to give me enough of a boost so i could hear what is going on.
THats the only option i have other than buying a sound card like everyone is saying.